Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Iron Horse Elementary School 5

Posted November 26, 2015
- a parent
We moved to Parker a year ago and chose our neighborhood, in part, on proximity to Iron Horse. The principal, Mr. Getchel, insisted on taking time to show us around the school and we saw first-hand his attention and caring for the students. We were concerned, at first, that there wouldn't be enough specialized instruction to accommodate students performing at different levels than the bulk of the pupils, but the staff has been very helpful and communicative in this regard. Our son is now in his second year at the school and loves it.

Iron Horse Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 26, 2015
- a parent
Good specialized instruction and attention from teachers to meet unique instructional needs and keep students engaged.


Iron Horse Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
Yet, the teachers should include the parents in the plan. They seem to hide the agenda and then lable children incorrectly.

Iron Horse Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
Nope, they do just the opposite. Some of the teachers try hard to do a great job, yet the problem is the Administration and help staff. They need a better principal at Iron Horse Elementary in Parker CO.

Iron Horse Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
NOPE!, Yet it isn't the schools responsibility to do this. This is a parent's job. The school should stay out of this territory.


Iron Horse Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
The students seem to be an imposition to the help staff. They really need to get rid of the cafeteria help staff, they are horrible.

Iron Horse Elementary School 1

Posted September 15, 2015
- a parent
They need a new principal. They also need Adversity training. We have had our girls in other schools areound the coundtry, yet this one is the worst. The teachers are not trained to actually teach/coach. Yet they test all the time. If you are a parent that coaches and educate your child or have educational advanced children, you will do well. Otherwise, you are in trouble and WILL need to get a tutor for your children.

Iron Horse Elementary School 1

Posted May 07, 2015
- a parent
I have 3 children at this school. One is going to middle school this year, and I am seriously considering sending the other 2 to another school instead. NO communication between school and parents, and the ancillary staff at the school are rude and disrespectful. Love my son's IEP teacher, and the classroom teachers have been fair - some great - some not, but I've had enough of the overall indifference. I will not be sending my youngest child here at all, which is a shame because I used to love this school but it has tanked in the last year or so.


Iron Horse Elementary School 1

Posted December 03, 2014
- a parent
Poor administration at this school. It's no wonder so many have withdrawn their children to attend another school. Poor behavior amongst students is tolerated. Bully behavior is tolerated. In the classroom expect the teacher to teach to the lowest student. If your children are average to low then you probably won't notice the lack of leadership and quality of education. The environment feels more like a daycare than a school.

Iron Horse Elementary School 5

Posted June 14, 2014
- a parent
I have three children at Iron Horse and absolutely love our school. We have phenomenal teachers, leadership and parent involvement, and my children thrive here. Our principal prioritizes learning opportunities, not test scores. I am an education policy expert and am quite discerning and observant--I have very high standards and know well what a good school should do and be. Despite our choice in DougCo, I choose my high quality neighborhood school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Iron Horse Elementary School
20151 Tallman Drive, Parker, CO  80138
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (303) 387-8525
Last modified Iron Horse Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top