Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Peyton, CO
Students enrolled: 1,239

3 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Falcon High School 2

Posted November 23, 2014
- a community member
I absolutely hate this school. The grading system makes your life a living hell. The teachers in the math department don't care about the kids. Some of the security officers are more of friends then security officers. Don't enroll your child here!

Falcon High School 5

Posted November 15, 2013
- a community member
i love that school it help me though my rough teens years and i know that all of the other teacher that i know either retired from there they are a very good school i am the alumin for their i was graduate from there in 1992 and i learn alot from there so people need to learn alot from this school like i did


Falcon High School 2

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
I am giving it a 2 stars just because of the grading system before it was changed it was a 5 star.Falcon High has great teachers. My concerned for the last 2 years is that with the Standard Base Grading they will be burned out. With this new way of grading students can retake test to raise them " to master the topic". To do this teachers stay before and after school to reteach what was already taught in class. I don't see how this will help with getting them ready for college since the students are not motivated to do H.W. or stay on task since is not required, " study at tour own pase" I think that in the real world you do things on time correctlly or you get fired from your job. In college you have due dates and if you can't keep up with your class you fail. It is sad to overwork the teachers and have the students not being taught that responsability and time management is important.

Falcon High School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
Falcon High School cares about their students. My daughter was ill last Spring and when she returned this year every teacher that had her in their class took her aside to ask her how she was doing.

Falcon High School 5

Posted January 04, 2012
- a parent
Quoting the Falcon Flier doesn't really make a point or offer feedback that is helpful to anyone. It is not the fault of the school personel that they have so many students- they cannot control how the state funds education or whether or not the community is willing to support education by passing bonds and/or mill levys. For years I have watched teachers in this school district rise to the challenge of lack of funding, a historically pathetic and hostile board and a central office that is constantly in turmoil because of said board. They put kids first. Period. And that deserves a 10 star rating in my book.


Falcon High School 1

Posted September 01, 2011
- a parent
My son enrolled in a German language class and after 1 week, the German teacher was "let go" and they had a Spanish sub for the past 3 weeks who taught no German and had the students watch Cinderella and then take a quiz on it. The Cinderella she remarked was from Brothers Grim, who were German, but the version was from Disney... what there are not qualified or unqualified German speaking people who can run this class..?? Find someone and make them a long term sub, come on now.. at least teach them about Germany, something!

Falcon High School 1

Posted August 30, 2011
- a community member
Verbatim from the D49 official Falcon Flyer received 8/30/2011: "Overcrowding has been a hot topic in District 49. Falcon continues to be one of the fastest growing districts in the state. We currently serve about 14,000 students. This is perhaps the first year that our overall student population has not increased, but that does not change the fact that overcrowding continues to plague our district. Eight schools in District 49 are currently over-capacity. They include Woodmen Hills Elementary, Falcon Middle School,Falcon High School, Evans International Elementary, Springs Ranch Elementary, Odyssey Elementary, Ridgeview Elementary, and Skyview Middle School. Of the remaining schools, not a single one of them is less than 75% full..."

Falcon High School 5

Posted February 12, 2009
- a student
FHS is the best school ever! theres alot of school sports to do (like tennis). the teachers are always there for you when you need help. the school is huge since its been moved to a bigger building. theres even a program set up by my friend called student 2 student where the club helps out with new students & even get other people to meet with each other. theres no problems with fights,only happens once every 5 months because of disagreements. theres alot of college based classes including an ap economics class (coming next year) theres even a health based academy for students who want to be in a medical career. so other than that,my teacher are awesome,the counselors are extremely helpful,i have alot of friends for only a year of living in colorado,sports are fun,theres alot of after school activity & this all concludes to FHS is the best!


Falcon High School 5

Posted November 07, 2008
- a parent
I currently have 3 children attending FHS. 3 other children of mine have graduated. All have loved the hospitallity the staff gives. Its like your staying at a 5 star hotel. Great options for classes and the sport teams are nothing but the best. I recemend this school to all parents and students who want great oppertunities now and in the future. FHS rocks!!

Falcon High School 4

Posted September 13, 2008
- a student
I've been a student for a little over a month now. while the teachers are great. the school is way overcrouded. For some kids, getting going as soon as the bell rings and completeing tasks quickly before the onslaught of kids come down the halls is natural. other then the overcrouding and lack of afterschool groups there is not much wrong witht the school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Falcon High School
10255 Lambert Rd, Peyton, CO  80831
(719) 495-2261
Last modified Falcon High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Falcon High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top