Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
35 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Swallows Charter Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 16, 2016
- a parent
Archuletta is awesome. She actually cares enough about the students' future to prepare lessons and then push them to think and acheive!!

Swallows Charter Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted July 16, 2016
- a parent
Only one great teacher for 8th graders. The other classes were filled with movies and did little to expand the brain of my student.


Swallows Charter Academy 3

Posted July 16, 2016
- a parent
Compared to the neighboring district, this school is better. But that is not saying a lot. I appreciated the staff listening to my concerns on a bullying issue. They responded immediately. Academic wise--the 8th grade set of teachers is nothing to brag on! My student spent most of the second semester watching movies. The math CLASS was pulling in low C's, the music class spent the ENTIRE semester watching movies, the science class did a total of 2 very simple experiments, the Language Arts seemed to be average, and the one great teacher taught First Aid and History. She was the kind of teacher that the kids hate at the beginning because she actually requires them to think and work. By the end she was the ONLY teacher my student had any respect for and actually ended up LOVING her classes. I felt like it was more babysitting than academics on the whole. If there was anything better near here I would not continue at this school but so far this is the best we've got.

Swallows Charter Academy 5

Posted January 21, 2015
- a parent
This school is amazing. I am very thankful to have 2 children attend the elementary school. Although no school is perfect SCA comes close. Just look at the ratings posted in the pueblo chieftain a few weeks ago!

Swallows Charter Academy 1

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
Went into get enrollment packet at the end of last year for the upcoming 2014-2015 school year. Listened to secretary belittle a child in the office in front of others then talk about the childs home life to other parents. Left the school and will not be placing my children there. They claim they are the best school in district 70...their GS score says otherwise. Glad to be at another local school.


Swallows Charter Academy 5

Posted June 24, 2013
- a community member
This is an AMAZING school with excellent staff! The administration is great! I have attended the school since 6th grade and next year I will be in 11th grade. Many changes have occured with staff and administrations and extra curricular activities, but it didn't detract from the great quality of this school. It is definitely more centered around academics rather than extra curricular activites, but they are availible. I played volleyball, basketball, and track this last year while in student council and I still maintained a 4.0. You have to be willing to work hard, but the knowledge obtained is well worth it. I would reccommened this school 100%! It's amazing! :)

Swallows Charter Academy 5

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
My kids have attended Swallows for five years now and I have been very pleased. The elementary teachers are amazing! My kids have LOVED every teacher that they have had the privilege of having at Swallows. My kids are reading at advanced levels and they both have a love for social studies and science because of the great curriculum and teachers. I am so glad that I put my son on the waiting list when he was only two years old. I can't say enough positive things about this school! If you look at the grammar on the April 9th posting you will obviously see that it was not written by a teacher that Swallows would hire. Swallows has "directors" instead of a principal so I am doubting that the review was even written by someone who attends the school.

Swallows Charter Academy 1

Posted April 09, 2013
- a teacher
I am a teacher here and there is way too much religion and politics. If you a teacher or principal and your kids go here, they get all the benifits. I hear trachers say that give kids a hard time because their parents are Democrats, or they believe different from them. This is the worst school in the Pueblo area.


Swallows Charter Academy 5

Posted April 09, 2013
- a parent
My children attend Swallows elementary. We have had a wonderful experience here. Be ready to help your children. It is a tough curriculum. Most elementary schools push reading and math. You will get more than that here. There is an amazing science and history curriculum. Great overall school!

Swallows Charter Academy 5

Posted January 31, 2013
- a parent
I just have to laugh when I read the negative comments. This school is the highest performing school in Southern Colorado. Just look at TCAP scores and compare. Or pick up Monday's newspaper and you will notice this school has the highest graduation rates and the highest ACT scores. This is a school of choice, and requires effort from the parents, which good parents don't mind. Your kid will fail if you are not actively involved. All the complaining on here are from parents that want the State to teach their children for them. The key word here is this is a school of "choice". No one forces you to take your kids there. You probably thought that you could bring your kid over (because it is such a high performing school) and they would fix your issues. It doesn't work that way. You have to be responsible and be involved in your child's education. You can always go back to the crap school you came from. Don't get on here and trash a great opportunity (which is what a school of choice is) if you can't be responsible enough to work with your child. I am tired of teachers and schools getting the blame when kids don't perform well. You are the parent, do your part before you complain.

Nearby schools

Swallows Charter Academy
278 South McCulloch Boulevard, Pueblo West, CO  81007
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. (719) 547-1627
Last modified Swallows Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top