Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Pueblo West, CO
Students enrolled: 1,340
 

3 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Pueblo West High School 1

Posted August 15, 2012
- a community member
I am a college professor and related to two PWHS students. After watching the involvement of my niece and nephew with the faculty and athletic coaches it is obvious that this is the most overated school I have ever seen. The word honor does not apply to ANY of the coaches for boys or girls and the faculty is lazy. PWHS is another example of why the US K-12 education system is in failure! The students grade each others papers in class. The coaches promote the students with out talent or character. I would classify the Administration as mid level, faculty as low level and the athletic coaches as remedial.

Pueblo West High School 4

Posted May 31, 2010
- a parent
As a parent of a freshman in the pre-IB/ pre AP program, I am pleased with the quality of rigor and opportunity that the school offers. Reading the classics such as Romeo and Juliet, The Good Earth, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, The Grapes of Wrath, Night, present a great repertoire for discussion, debate, Socratic Seminar- beyond the textbook. Academic competitions at the University of Denver, Colorado State University-Pueblo, and the University of Colorado at Denver, allow students to compete against the best in the state in history, world affairs, research, performance, web design. With 22 sports to choose from, plus numerous clubs such as Speech and Debate, Chess, Key Club, Mock Trial Team, Knowledge Bowl, Science Club, Fishing Club, our family has been pleased with both the curricular and extra curricular offerings.


Pueblo West High School
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
My granddaughter attends Pueblo West and is doing great! She is in the band and loves it. I enjoyed watching a football game. Go Cyclones!

Pueblo West High School
no rating

Posted September 21, 2009
- a community member
From academics to extracurricular activities, this school sets the standard for the entire nation.

Pueblo West High School
no rating

Posted September 20, 2009
- a community member
They have a great education system great kids and WE ROCK


Pueblo West High School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a community member
The students and staff are great. Academics are challenging.

Pueblo West High School
no rating

Posted August 05, 2009
- a student
This school shouldn't even be close to being rated a '7' its horrible if I was a parent I would never send my child here. I went here for about 6 months and it was the WORST 6 months of my life the teachers were rude and worried more about their rules then actually teaching us anything and the students there were all bullies. They claim they have no bullying problems if I were them I would check again...

Pueblo West High School 1

Posted June 15, 2009
- a student
They need to learn that the students learning is more important that their shirt being tucked in.


Pueblo West High School 5

Posted April 03, 2009
- a student
High rating, state football/softball champs, and its only been around 10 years.....GREAT SCHOOL. They are not as strict as they once were when it comes to the dress code

Pueblo West High School 5

Posted August 25, 2008
- a student
This school gives 110% of its energy into its students and faculty. I have been here for three years and im very excited to graduate this year

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Pueblo West High School
661 Capistrano Dr, Pueblo West, CO  81007
(719) 547-8050
Last modified Pueblo West High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Pueblo West High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top