Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Lowell Whiteman School

Private | 10-12 | 51 students

We offer access to world class skiing/riding and Global Immersion

 
 

Living in Steamboat...

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $345,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 11 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 27, 2014

As I write this review, I await the return of my 15-year old daughter from her month long trip to Peru (!!!). I cannot overstate the benefit of the foreign travel program. It is such an incredible opportunity and an invaluable experience for children in this time of incredible worldwide networking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

Great experiencial education - foreign travel and competitive skiing, with great Academics! Teacher/Student ratio very low, hnds on experience and teaching!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2014

Whiteman is an incredibly unique high school experience. The teachers strive to have positive personal relationships with each student, which creates an engaging and supportive, while academically challenging, learning environment. Whiteman offers a one-of-a-kind experience outside of the classroom as well. With flexible scheduling that allows competitive winter athletics maximum daily training hours, a growing sustainable agriculture program, an outdoor adventure program (that includes 2 week-long camping/trekking trips each year) and the amazing Global Immersion Studies program (that takes them to places like Peru, Ecuador, Vietnam, India, Mongolia and Tanzania), LWS students are able to have challenging and rewarding experiences that very few teenagers are exposed to. Parents send children to this school and those children leave as confident, brave, and inspired adults, ready to take on the world!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

The Lowell Whiteman School is an academically strong school that holds high expectations for not only the a students grades, but also who they are in our world. The academics are college preparatory and students find it easy to transition to all different sorts of colleges. It is also the work outside of the classroom that provides the students with a very complete education. Learning about integrity, perseverance, responsibility, and collaboration in areas outside of the classroom, but with just as much rigor as the school's college preparatory classes, provides the student with a fantastic experience to help them become their best self. It is also an experience that stays with them through their life. The place where the school could improve is for more people to become aware of the experience the school provides.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 23, 2014

My school is truly amazing, it is a small and comfortable environment that has helped me get the best out of my education and my winter sport. I feel that when I leave for college next fall I will have all of the skills that i need to succeed in whatever I want to do. Lowell Whiteman has not only helped me develop skills in the classroom but it has also helped me develop strong and important values as a person. I could not imagine finishing High School anywhere but at LWS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2014

Whiteman encourages and motivates students to do their best with loving support. I highly would recommend whiteman to anyone interested in wanting to learn more about themselves and the amazing world around them.


Posted April 18, 2014

Having visited the Lowell Whiteman school, it is clear this environment is full of fun, loving, and intelligent students and faculty alike. The community made a tremendous effort to reach out to me and I am now aware of all of the wonderful things they are doing for our future leaders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

The Lowell Whiteman School is such a fun and loving community. There is a strong sense of leadership and encouragement between student and faculty. It is a welcoming place that allows kids to break out of their shells and see what they are made of. This school is really a place to grow and flourish!


Posted April 18, 2014

The Lowell Whiteman School provides opportunities for students to stretch themselves academically, athletically, and personally. Therefore, graduates of the school have a deeply ingrained sense of their ability to take on the challenges that life presents to them. Their confidence in their academic skills and their life skills gives them the flexibility to excel in college, find interesting careers, and contribute to their communities. The faculty engage the students through their passion for their subject matter and their blend of traditional methods and new pedagogy. In addition, the faculty take the students camping in the wilderness, ski and snowboard with them at the Steamboat resort, travel with the students in the Global Immersion Studies program, and work with the students in the dormitories. The close relationships that the students form with faculty members provide the students with strong role models.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 7, 2014

LWS harbors an incredible environment for 9-12th graders. They incorporate a global immersion program into their college prep academic curriculum for a majority of their students. They also cater to competitive winter athletics for those alpine skiing or snowboarding, nordic skiing, freestyle moguls, and jumping. With an emphasis on experiential education within academia, they produce global thinkers enthused to take on the next step
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 7, 2014

The Lowell Whiteman School in gorgeous Steamboat Springs, Colorado, provides its students with both a college preparatory education and an adventuresome global experiential program. The largest classes never exceed 14 students, and many classes have fewer than ten. The faculty is amazing, teaching classes, contributing to dorm life, leading trips around the world, camping and biking, and skiing like pros. The student body is curious, hardworking, kind, active, and fun-loving. The school is a 9th-12th boarding and day school that has challenging and rewarding college-prep academics at its heart. Along with the academics come opportunities to ski competitively and recreationally, to climb 14-ers, practice Leave No Trace ethics, teach monks English in Sikkim, build sustainable greenhouses in a Chilean village, climb Machu Pichu, visit a war memorial in Viet Nam, and walk the Great Wall of China. The relationships among students and faculty and staff are real: everyone learns, grows, works (and plays) together in a community with strong values of integrity, perseverance, responsibility, and collaboration. The Lowell Whiteman School is one-of-a-kind. It doesn't get any better.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 10, 2013

We've had two daughters graduate from the Lowell Whiteman School in the past 5 years. Their experience there was both stunning and outstanding. Our girls loved every aspect of the school, saw the world as a result of the Global Immersion Program (i.e., Peru, Bolivia, Tanzania, Vietnam, Cambodia, China, and Tibet), and skied in the finest powder the Rockies have to offer. College preparedness: we would say so. Our eldest is soon to be a second semester college senior with a 3.9 cumulative GPA at the University of Montana and our younger daughter received a Presidential Scholarship at Montana State University in Bozeman. The LWS offers small class size, an incredibly beautiful setting, and a wonder and caring faculty and staff. A shame my wife and I have only four thumbs up between us to give it. Seriously though, check it out. You'll be amazed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2013

I have two children at the Lowell Whiteman School in stunning Steamboat Springs. My son competes in Alpine skiing and my daughter is a freshman looking forward to her global emersion trip to India. The school offers challenging college prep academics and caters to my sons competition schedule. he trains with SSWSC, a top ranked ski club. We chose the Lowell Whiteman School because of its tremendous legacy, and the wonderful town of Steamboat Springs. As we do not live in the United States we had unlimited choices, The Lowell Whiteman School has been the right choice for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

This school is extraordinary! It has a challenging academic course load but also lots of outdoor adventure time to keep students physically active. Classes are small and taught by enthusiastic instructors. All are college preperatory courses and students are challenged. However, every teacher wants their students to succeed and goes out of their way to ensure success. Numerous camping/hiking/kayaking/horseback riding, etc. trips take place in the fall with all students participating according to their interests. In the winter students are skiing, either for fun or competitively. However, the foreign travel portion of the school year is by far the thing students look forward to. Four destinations are chosen each. Students get to rank their choices and then groups are made from there. The students spend time in remote villages, provide help and do community service projects for the villages they stay in and come home changed in numerous positive ways. We love Lowell Whiteman! What a great school with great opportunities for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

The best education in Steamboat; the best place in the world to spend four years!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 4, 2006

This is an awesome school. The teachers and the students build great relationships with their teachers, thus enabling them to learn the information more readily. The teachers here are great, and the students are all kind and polite. For the residential life,I enjoys it much. I am counting down the days until school starts, and can barely wait another minute!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 56%
Black 2% 5%
Hispanic 2% 32%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Dutch
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Dutch
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School Leader's name
  • Meg Morse
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Some boarding, some day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • ABS
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (970) 879-0506

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Independent Study
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Environmental
  • Global
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Dutch
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Outdoor learning lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Skiing
Girls sports
  • Skiing

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$25000 - $40000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

42605 RCR 36
Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
Website: Click here
Phone: (970) 879-1350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Yampa Valley School
Steamboat Springs, CO


Steamboat Springs High School
Steamboat Springs, CO


Christian Heritage School
Steamboat Springs, CO


Soroco High School
Oak Creek, CO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT