Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
10-12
Private
Steamboat Springs, CO
Students enrolled: 45
Before care: No
After care: No

5 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lowell Whiteman School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
As I write this review, I await the return of my 15-year old daughter from her month long trip to Peru (!!!). I cannot overstate the benefit of the foreign travel program. It is such an incredible opportunity and an invaluable experience for children in this time of incredible worldwide networking.

Lowell Whiteman School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
Great experiencial education - foreign travel and competitive skiing, with great Academics! Teacher/Student ratio very low, hnds on experience and teaching!


Lowell Whiteman School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
Whiteman is an incredibly unique high school experience. The teachers strive to have positive personal relationships with each student, which creates an engaging and supportive, while academically challenging, learning environment. Whiteman offers a one-of-a-kind experience outside of the classroom as well. With flexible scheduling that allows competitive winter athletics maximum daily training hours, a growing sustainable agriculture program, an outdoor adventure program (that includes 2 week-long camping/trekking trips each year) and the amazing Global Immersion Studies program (that takes them to places like Peru, Ecuador, Vietnam, India, Mongolia and Tanzania), LWS students are able to have challenging and rewarding experiences that very few teenagers are exposed to. Parents send children to this school and those children leave as confident, brave, and inspired adults, ready to take on the world!

Lowell Whiteman School 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a teacher
The Lowell Whiteman School is an academically strong school that holds high expectations for not only the a students grades, but also who they are in our world. The academics are college preparatory and students find it easy to transition to all different sorts of colleges. It is also the work outside of the classroom that provides the students with a very complete education. Learning about integrity, perseverance, responsibility, and collaboration in areas outside of the classroom, but with just as much rigor as the school's college preparatory classes, provides the student with a fantastic experience to help them become their best self. It is also an experience that stays with them through their life. The place where the school could improve is for more people to become aware of the experience the school provides.

Lowell Whiteman School 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a student
My school is truly amazing, it is a small and comfortable environment that has helped me get the best out of my education and my winter sport. I feel that when I leave for college next fall I will have all of the skills that i need to succeed in whatever I want to do. Lowell Whiteman has not only helped me develop skills in the classroom but it has also helped me develop strong and important values as a person. I could not imagine finishing High School anywhere but at LWS.


Lowell Whiteman School 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a community member
Whiteman encourages and motivates students to do their best with loving support. I highly would recommend whiteman to anyone interested in wanting to learn more about themselves and the amazing world around them.

Lowell Whiteman School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
Having visited the Lowell Whiteman school, it is clear this environment is full of fun, loving, and intelligent students and faculty alike. The community made a tremendous effort to reach out to me and I am now aware of all of the wonderful things they are doing for our future leaders.

Lowell Whiteman School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a community member
The Lowell Whiteman School is such a fun and loving community. There is a strong sense of leadership and encouragement between student and faculty. It is a welcoming place that allows kids to break out of their shells and see what they are made of. This school is really a place to grow and flourish!


Lowell Whiteman School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a teacher
The Lowell Whiteman School provides opportunities for students to stretch themselves academically, athletically, and personally. Therefore, graduates of the school have a deeply ingrained sense of their ability to take on the challenges that life presents to them. Their confidence in their academic skills and their life skills gives them the flexibility to excel in college, find interesting careers, and contribute to their communities. The faculty engage the students through their passion for their subject matter and their blend of traditional methods and new pedagogy. In addition, the faculty take the students camping in the wilderness, ski and snowboard with them at the Steamboat resort, travel with the students in the Global Immersion Studies program, and work with the students in the dormitories. The close relationships that the students form with faculty members provide the students with strong role models.

Lowell Whiteman School 5

Posted April 07, 2014
- a teacher
LWS harbors an incredible environment for 9-12th graders. They incorporate a global immersion program into their college prep academic curriculum for a majority of their students. They also cater to competitive winter athletics for those alpine skiing or snowboarding, nordic skiing, freestyle moguls, and jumping. With an emphasis on experiential education within academia, they produce global thinkers enthused to take on the next step

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lowell Whiteman School
42605 RCR 36, Steamboat Springs, CO  80487
(970) 879-1350
Last modified Lowell Whiteman School is a Private school that serves grades 10-12
Lowell Whiteman School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top