Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

10-12|Private
45 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Steamboat Mountain School 3

Posted September 13, 2015
- a community member
Nice faculty and staff, good facilities and programs available to students and some events open to community members as well.

Steamboat Mountain School 2

Posted August 17, 2015
- a community member
The school's philosophy and staff need to change with the times. The majority of the faculty have been with the school for many years; however, the facultys' teaching style or school's philosophy have not changed to meet the new demographics. Many schools are running similar, better programs in populated areas of the US.


Steamboat Mountain School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
As I write this review, I await the return of my 15-year old daughter from her month long trip to Peru (!!!). I cannot overstate the benefit of the foreign travel program. It is such an incredible opportunity and an invaluable experience for children in this time of incredible worldwide networking.

Steamboat Mountain School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
Great experiencial education - foreign travel and competitive skiing, with great Academics! Teacher/Student ratio very low, hnds on experience and teaching!

Steamboat Mountain School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
Whiteman is an incredibly unique high school experience. The teachers strive to have positive personal relationships with each student, which creates an engaging and supportive, while academically challenging, learning environment. Whiteman offers a one-of-a-kind experience outside of the classroom as well. With flexible scheduling that allows competitive winter athletics maximum daily training hours, a growing sustainable agriculture program, an outdoor adventure program (that includes 2 week-long camping/trekking trips each year) and the amazing Global Immersion Studies program (that takes them to places like Peru, Ecuador, Vietnam, India, Mongolia and Tanzania), LWS students are able to have challenging and rewarding experiences that very few teenagers are exposed to. Parents send children to this school and those children leave as confident, brave, and inspired adults, ready to take on the world!


Steamboat Mountain School 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a teacher
The Lowell Whiteman School is an academically strong school that holds high expectations for not only the a students grades, but also who they are in our world. The academics are college preparatory and students find it easy to transition to all different sorts of colleges. It is also the work outside of the classroom that provides the students with a very complete education. Learning about integrity, perseverance, responsibility, and collaboration in areas outside of the classroom, but with just as much rigor as the school's college preparatory classes, provides the student with a fantastic experience to help them become their best self. It is also an experience that stays with them through their life. The place where the school could improve is for more people to become aware of the experience the school provides.

Steamboat Mountain School 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a student
My school is truly amazing, it is a small and comfortable environment that has helped me get the best out of my education and my winter sport. I feel that when I leave for college next fall I will have all of the skills that i need to succeed in whatever I want to do. Lowell Whiteman has not only helped me develop skills in the classroom but it has also helped me develop strong and important values as a person. I could not imagine finishing High School anywhere but at LWS.

Steamboat Mountain School 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a community member
Whiteman encourages and motivates students to do their best with loving support. I highly would recommend whiteman to anyone interested in wanting to learn more about themselves and the amazing world around them.


Steamboat Mountain School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a parent
Having visited the Lowell Whiteman school, it is clear this environment is full of fun, loving, and intelligent students and faculty alike. The community made a tremendous effort to reach out to me and I am now aware of all of the wonderful things they are doing for our future leaders.

Steamboat Mountain School 5

Posted April 18, 2014
- a community member
The Lowell Whiteman School is such a fun and loving community. There is a strong sense of leadership and encouragement between student and faculty. It is a welcoming place that allows kids to break out of their shells and see what they are made of. This school is really a place to grow and flourish!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Steamboat Mountain School
42605 RCR 36, Steamboat Springs, CO  80487
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (970) 879-1350
Last modified Steamboat Mountain School is a Private school that serves grades 10-12
Top