Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cherry Drive Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 476 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

My children have attended Cherry Drive for the past 13 years. I have enjoyed each and every teacher there. Each year has brought about change and with that new and fresh ideas are born. I am saddened to read some of the comments posted on this site and wish that people would be more appreciative of the hard work that goes on in our school. Communication has never been better. I can't understand anyone having problems with that. I receive numerous emails, check the website, read signs posted in the building, read the IPADS that are hanging on the bulletin boards!!! (What other school has IPADs hanging on their bulletin boards?) I am so glad we don't get the amount of papers we used to get, I would simply empty their folders in the trash after pulling out my child's work that I wanted to save. Throughout the years I have always been disgusted at the nonsense that happens at recess. My children didn't like recess because of the amount of drama that would go on. I was intrigued by the Playworks idea so I observed the process and the kids seemed happy! Kids learning games and rules from staff and volunteers! Awesome! I have NEVER felt an ICY ATTITUDE from anyone! NEVER!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Tuesday, October 21, 2014

The icy attitude and underwheming experience at Cherry Drive leaves a lot to be wanted. Communication is lacking and unless it is one of many fundraisers no paper communication exists, it leaves a lot to be desired. Being involved as a parent is getting harder and harder. If you ask questions a firm answer is given and that's the end of the story, your concerns mean nothing. Organized recess and quiet lunches confuse the kids and discipline mimics the military. Our kiddos come home so confused by what is going on, like having to walk in circles as punishment. This school has no appreciation for its community. The 1:1 iPad experience may look awesome, but the reality is much different.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2014

The Principal has to recognize the damage done by summer school failure. No white wash double talk. They sold us the benefits of summer school and only 1 or 2 teachers presented a worthy summer school lesson plan. Those that participated in summer school gave up because their ipads did not function as advertised. The Principal is great and has a clear vision and the parents and teachers need to support or leave. The kids deserve 100 percent from everyone, including District IT. Last year was such a disappointment with the ipad technology use (with the exception of Specials,) and it is hard to understand because the faculty are outstanding individuals. When no lesson plans that utilized the ipads came home for most and no emails over the summer, most parent were really upset. What now? Principal Hepp cares deeply for the kids and the community and needs to address what will change this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2014

Cherry Drive has been a really good school to all of my children. I really like the 1 on 1 iPad use available to the students. Great extra resource tool to expand on their learning. Each teacher that my kiddos have had have been wonderful. Would like to see a better playground, but the school says they are working hard to be getting it upgraded. Overall, we have been very happy with Cherry Drive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2014

My daughter is now a 5th grade student and has been lucky enough to have been at Cherry Drive since Kindergarten.Over the years I have seen Cherry Drive go from a good school to an excellent school! The principal and staff here are always willing to try new things and stay ahead of the fast changing world of education.Student's needs are always put first and the teachers genuinely care about each student as individuals.Several teachers have attended my daughter's events outside of school.Mrs. Hepp is always willing to talk to me about my concerns and is constantly walking around the building making sure students and teachers are okay!The office staff is so helpful and friendly!I feel so welcome every time I walk through the door.There are many different clubs after school that cater to student's needs and interests.The teachers, staff and Mrs. Hepp work so hard to make sure that each child's needs are meet. The Specials teachers go above and beyond to make their short time with students the best it can be. I was so happy when the school became a 1:1 iPad school. That shows that staff here knows what students need to be successful!! I will miss Cherry Drive so incredibly much!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

Mrs.Hepp is one of the best principal that Cherry Drive has ever had.. She always puts the community first and I adore what she has done with our school. Technology at Cherry Drive rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

Where is the principal? She is rarely available to chat and when she is, it's a very brushed off chat. She really could care less about your opinion and is off in her own world. Teachers are rude and use their volunteers. Staff has no pride in their school, I never see them at school functions. Kids get left behind and just pushed through the system. Talent isn't capitalized upon. The office staff barely acknowledges visitors. My daughter just draws on printer paper stapled together for art and the art teacher is ALWAYS hanging around the office manager for no reason. Staff have open inappropriate conversations in front of students and parent helpers. Everything is outdated except for the iPad program, which is pushed and pushed, leaving behind other necessities. Website is outdated and fundamentally lacking. We would really like to see major changes done to our boundry school and not have to worry about getting choiced in somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2013

My son hated this school and I dont blame him. The principal doesnt handle kids well AT ALL. Morale seems low and teachers seem like theyve always got a cloud over their head.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

There are good teachers here, but overall this school could use a lot of improvement. One of my children has special needs and the principal and special education team were in over their head with him and did not call upon district resources when it was sorely needed. BASE is awful. They have impossible expectations and will discipline a child for normal kid behavior. If you need before and after school care, you would be wise to avoid this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2013

My kids have attended this school for 4 of the last 5 years. I am dissatisfied with a few things, but I do see improvements. I love that we are now a 1:1 iPad school. The Principal managed to do this at a very minimal cost to the families. I am very pleased with this. I do get frustrated with the lack of parents who are willing to volunteer to help with events and such. It always seems to be the same people who volunteer and those who don't still complain about not having enough events scheduled. The office staff is nice, but sometimes I feel they are left out of the loop. I love Mrs. Loeffler. She is a great teacher!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Principal Hepp has managed to bring parents, teachers and the students up to date with technology, making the entire school a 1:1 ipad environment. This is the only school in the District to offer this opportunity. At Cherry Drive, I feel the Principal and teachers work together, not against each other. While it may not be a wealthy school, their PTP provides field trips and many special events. There is s good feeling of community and test scores keep improving!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2013

My children have been at this school for 2 years now. There are a few select teachers who are in it for the right reasons but for the most part this is a terrible school. My children are way ahead of where the rest of the class is and so they are punished by being taught separately. There is very poor communication. My sister has picked my children up without questions and without being ID (what if she wasn't who she says she is?). And BASE.. forget it. The director talks down to the children and makes them feel like less of themselves. She should NOT work with children. And don't even try to get the district office on board for mediation. Completely worthless school and district! We will not be here next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2010

I am new to the area. I feel that there is a true effort for top notch kids & grades at this school. My child has Mrs. Dent & wow is she wonderful! Truly cares!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
25%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female74%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligible69%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Reading

All Students67%
Female74%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%

Writing

All Students39%
Female55%
Male19%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)43%
Free lunch eligible26%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities45%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English37%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female60%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%

Reading

All Students47%
Female48%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)45%
Free lunch eligible35%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities48%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English48%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant47%

Writing

All Students41%
Female55%
Male30%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Free lunch eligible26%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities43%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English43%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female54%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Free lunch eligible43%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities68%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%

Reading

All Students52%
Female51%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Free lunch eligible46%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch54%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English53%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%

Science

All Students34%
Female32%
Male35%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic16%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)34%
Free lunch eligible32%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch35%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities37%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English33%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant34%

Writing

All Students52%
Female49%
Male54%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Free lunch eligible43%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English52%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 56%
Hispanic 32% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11500 Cherry Dr
Thornton, CO 80233
Phone: (720) 972-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT