Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cherry Drive Elementary School 5

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
Students and teachers at Cherry Drive are very happy. My fifth grade student had the best year ever and it was because of the teamwork of the fifth grade team and Mrs. Hepp. Also, my 2nd grade student also had a fantastic year because of her teacher. I know a lot of teachers left, I don't care why, I'm glad that the teachers that are there truly care about the needs of all students. My child had some issues with bullying and it was taken care of swiftly. I would recommend this school to anyone who asks!

Cherry Drive Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
I would like to thank Mrs. Hepp, the fifth grade teachers (Mrs. Lecumbery, Mrs, Carreon, Mrs. Copper) and Mrs. Gonci for all of your support this year. I am also grateful for Ms. Gopstein who was new this year but treated my students like she had known them forever. Cherry Drive is an amazing school with an incredible staff.


Cherry Drive Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
The dedication I saw from the 5th grade teachers and my child's 2nd grade teacher was amazing. They were there to help in any way necessary. They created projects and assignments that were motivating for my children. The teachers and principal are compassionate, hard working and motivating.

Cherry Drive Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
The amount of homework was just fine for my children. The best part, if they needed help they emailed their teachers and got help right away!

Cherry Drive Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
My children worked so hard this year. The assignments they were given made them work hard, but they loved every second of it! My children were determined to work hard because they were interested and engaged in their project.


Cherry Drive Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
I think the teachers I have experienced work very hard to develop respect in its students. Mrs. Hepp also works very hard with parents who have concerns.

Cherry Drive Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 20, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Hepp works very hard to make sure each situation is dealt with fairly. She interviews everyone involved in the situation.

Cherry Drive Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
We are grateful to Kathleen Latislaw, 3rd Grade teacher and Gifted and Talented Coordinator. She engaged my son's love of science and math and helped my family complete the G/T school application process. My son loved participating in her Robotics club and learned to code for the first time with her encouragement and training. My 6 year old daughter lights up whenever she gets to talk to Mrs. Latislaw and talk about her future learning goals because she knows Mrs. Latislaw always takes the time to talk to her and listen to her. She also volunteered her time for their running club this year, while our P.E. teacher went on maternity leave. The kids were so excited to have extra time with her!


Cherry Drive Elementary School 1

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
The lack of communication at the school leads to frustration and anger. Most teachers do not keep parents updated or send emails. Their answer to questions is- check the website. The school has a bully problem, but sweeps it under the rug. The front desk staff is only nice to parents if they know and/or like you. Otherwise, they do not look up or acknowledge you. The District has to have noticed that our entire 1st Grade team of teachers, plus one 3rd grade teacher (with over 13 years teaching at the school) and another 4th grade teacher (also 10 + years teaching at the school) ALL left at the end of last year. There HAD to be a reason! Many families also choiced out. Why? Also take note- so many families have choiced out for next year, that nearby schools, such as Skyview, are now full, due to Cherry Drive students leaving Cherry Drive. Look at the scores and talk to community members before enrolling here. Principal Hepp is your friend until you need something or your child is bullied. Ask about the enrollment numbers. They are very low. Also, be aware this school is on an improvement plan. If your child has an I.E.P., be sure to talk to other parents here, Principal Hepp is NOT on your side, get an advocate!

Cherry Drive Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 22, 2016
- a parent
It depends on the educator. They have the best music teacher and P. E. teacher in the district. Their G/T Coordinator is very effective. The 1st Grade team is brand new to teaching and it would not be fair to evaluate them. So many new faces due to retention issues.

Nearby schools

Cherry Drive Elementary School
11500 Cherry Drive, Thornton, CO  80233
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. (720) 972-5300
Last modified Cherry Drive Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top