Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Skyview Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Sullivan did a great job helping our daughter transition into a new school and has been a joy to work with this year. Thank you!

Skyview Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2016
- a parent
We moved our daughter from a Catholic School last year to Skyview due to us purchasing a new home and we could not be happier with the way our daughter has excelled at Skyview! She has grown in so many areas and loves going to school! The school offers a variety of clubs and activities and our daughter has taken advantage of so many of them. I especially like the positive office referrals as it is a great way to have the principle and other staff reach out to parents and recognize their children for doing a great job.


Skyview Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted January 16, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Auday has made so many improvements in the time she has been with Skyview. Her personality really reflects the care she has for the students. Her temperament has really set a tone within the school to create an environment full of fun learning. She has taken time to get to know students names and family members. I have really been impressed by her leadership and compassion.

Skyview Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 16, 2016
- a parent
Each of my children is in a different place in their learning. We have a gifted student, a student who excels and a student needing special education services. Each child has homework geared for maximizing their learning, without being overwhelming. Their teachers and other educators are careful in choosing homework that is just the right amount.

Skyview Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 16, 2016
- a parent
There are several programs being utilized to help students step outside of themselves to see the world around them. Each program involves practicing compassion and caring for others.


Skyview Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 16, 2016
- a parent
Each month the staff has a theme they implement throughout the school. It has been anywhere from self control to effectively communicating. They really do try to grow the child as a whole. Both academically and socially.

Skyview Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2016
- a parent
We have three children currently attending Skyview. We have been so pleased with our experience thus far. Every teacher that my children have had, has done an excellent job in their instruction and enrichment. There are several clubs and activities offered to the students, all of which my children have thoroughly enjoyed! The staff is encouraging and genuinely cares for the children who attend here. We are so very thankful for the community here and are blessed for having had such a great experience here.

Skyview Elementary School 2

Posted December 10, 2013
- a parent
I was cautioned by my neighbors when my moved to the area that this school was sub-par and they have been right. I emailed the principal about concerns and never get so much as a response. Misspellings are rampant on documents sent home with kids. If I hadn't inquired to see how my daughter was doing I would have never known she is "falling behind" in kindergarten. I have been responsible for trying to get her caught up, rather than the teacher giving her extra help. I do not like that my 5 year olds academic levels are judged based on a standardized computer test administered to them. What kindergartener knows how to take a test online? Their test scores have not accurately reflected my child s abilities. I am trying to choice her into a different school next year. The kindergarten teachers are either lackadaisical or very rigid. This school is not a good fit my child whatsoever.


Skyview Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2009
- a parent
My McKenzie is attending a public school for the first time.... I volenteer alot the schools funds have been cut and the K teachers are having to work two classes and stay late to just get the basics finished.... what the volenteers do seems should be a paid position and the teachers should be able to consintrate on one full day class not two classes a day that cram a full day of learning into 2- 3 hours only.... The teachers do the best with what is given but we need to do more to raise funnds and recognize the importance that the public schools do for the next generation. I can't thank them enough for making my child feel special even if it is only for a few hours a day.

Skyview Elementary School 4

Posted March 19, 2006
- a parent
Skyview is a very well maintianed school, which offers a lot of promise. In my limited experience, (only kindergarten) the teachers are willing to work with parents and students to maximize learning. While I disagree with some teaching methods, such as punishment for the entire class when just a few students are misbehaving, I think over all it is a good school with caring and competent staff.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Skyview Elementary School
5021 East 123rd Avenue, Thornton, CO  80241
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (720) 972-5620
Last modified Skyview Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top