Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eagleview Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 549 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2013

LOVE this school! While my daughter participates in the GT Program, she still gets to be with her classmates on a regular basis; she has a sense of belonging rather than sticking out amongst her peers. Emotional development is very important in these foundational, elementary school years and I'm thankful for the recognition and support from Eagleview as it relates to my daughter's gifts & talents. There is also TREMENDOUS support and knowledge regarding food allergies at this school. Safety is of the utmost concern to me while my daughter is outside of my direct care. She has severe, life-threatening food allergies and this school is on top of having an Action Plan in place and the staff is always available to discuss any concerns or questions you might have. Last, but not least, the teachers and staff are FABULOUS! Of course, they're professional and courteous; but what I really admire most is that they all have a genuineness about them. They really do care about your children. There is a No Bully policy that is made aware to all the children right from the beginning of the school year. This proactive approach is one if the reasons why I believe we haven't had any problems!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

We have had two children at Eagleview and will be leaving for the 2011-2012 year. I will say the staff are all nice, helpful, and most teachers were very good. One extremely poor experience with a teacher this year made the decision to transfer to private schools a reality. The principal is very nice and will validate your concerns verbally. However, none of the issues were ever resolved and the bad situation was allowed to spiral downward for the rest of the year. I found the PTO was very welcoming of your money and your "slave labor" but had no interest in opinions at the meetings. It felt like a middle school clique. Other concerns I believe are probably district-wide now with all the budget cuts. Class sizes are too large, not enough para-pros in the classrooms, no ability to differentiate the classroom experience for different learning types. The "gifted" program consists of a club type after school experience and does not change the classroom environment at all. Probably a good school for average students, but not great if your child needs more in terms of acceleration or remediation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2011

Our daughter spent 1st-5th grade and Eagleview and we loved it! The principal is amazing and view committed to the children. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2011

Both my children attend here. I have been impressed with the staff and their attention to the children's abilities. My daughter well average has been challenged at every level. While my son, whom seams to be above average is also being challanged. The Principal loves all the children that go there and is extremely dedicated to the children and the staff. And his office is alway open for parents to come chat with him. I am extremley impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2010

I am very happy with the school as a whole but when the same children are allowed to do the 'special' things at the school, I feel that it is unfair to the rest of the children. You are thinking that this is just sour grapes, and that my child could have been one of the children that has not been 'picked' for these awards, but that is not true. What I have a problem with is that the children that cause trouble and need lots of attention tend to get picked month after month and year after year for the 'special' awards and the children that continue to always be good students are taken for granted. I understand that the troubled children need attention but I do not believe the other students should be penalized for being good either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

I have a 1st grader at Eagleview this year and I am very impressed with the administration and the teachers. My daughter's teachers have high expectations for her and challenge her daily. The principal seems to be very committed to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2008

My 2 kids have been attending EagleView for 2 years and we all love it! The office staff and teachers are wonderful! The principal is so involved in the school and participates in all events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

I love this school not only is it a very clean and user friendly school the staff is wonderful!!! My sons love comming here and the teacher takes the individule time to help them with there needs. Im impressed with the office staff they are always helpful and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2008

Both of my boys have gone to Eagleview since kindergarden. We even stayed at this school on 'choice' after we moved a few blocks out of the area. I am very happy with Eagleview. Most of the teachers are great, we have one dud this year, but have loved all the others. The principal is very active in the school and you do see him around before and after school. The classes are larger than I would have liked but overall this is a great school for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2006

My children have attended this since it opened in 1998. The school has gone through 3 administrative changes.Overall teacher quality is excellent, but as anywhere there are a few not so good. Several are outstanding. Extra curricular activities are abundant, some called FLIGHT classes require a small fee. They have a great variety of activities including sports, art, music, chess, languages, scrap booking, etc.. etc.. Most of these before and after school classes are run by staff and parent volunteers. Teachers welcome parents into their classrooms to volunteer or attend activities. Academics are very good for average children. However, they need to do some work on their gifted and special Ed. programs, This applies to the Adams 12 District as a whole.There are no programs for kids that are borderline. It is up to the classroom teacher to provide support for these kids which are behind but not special ed. qualified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2005

I have a 2nd grader and now a Kinder at Eagleview. My first year at Eagleview wasn't so great. My experience since then has been wonderful. The teachers really take the time with each student. They are very involved with the parents group. The principal makes a point to say Hi to all the children when passing them in the hall and is also very involved in the parent group. The extracurricular activities do not happen as often as I'd like, but that comes from low funds at the district level.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female82%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Reading

All Students70%
Female75%
Male66%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%

Writing

All Students54%
Female59%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female87%
Male89%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligible72%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Reading

All Students77%
Female81%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Writing

All Students59%
Female65%
Male53%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female64%
Male60%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Reading

All Students72%
Female73%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Science

All Students45%
Female43%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities47%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English46%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant45%

Writing

All Students53%
Female61%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)57%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities55%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 57%
Hispanic 23% 32%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 22%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4601 Summit Grove Parkway
Thornton, CO 80241
Phone: (720) 972-5760

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT