Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Rocky Top Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
The students respect one another and genuinely care about each other. My son broke his arm in football and they believed him and looked out for him.

Rocky Top Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
The students are totally responsible and the teachers are so organized that it works perfectly.


Rocky Top Middle School 5

Posted November 06, 2015
- a parent
Amazing school and staff! I have a 7th and 8th grader new to Rocky Top - both are doing excellent academically and socially. Great teachers and the school seems to respect the students like young adults. We couldn't be happier!

Rocky Top Middle School 2

Posted May 26, 2015
- a community member
In general this school is considered by most as average to good within the city of Thornton. But keep in mind that this is within an city whose median middle school rating is a 4 out of 10. Anyone considering this a good school does so only by comparing it to the abysmal middle schools in the rest of the city. This school has several issues, many of which are outside the school's control, that must be addressed. The population of the school and the individual class sizes are too large. Bullying is ignored for the most part by the administration and staff, and inappropriate behavior is rampant. The academic expectations are low and it doesn't take much to get a decent grade in a class. Very few teachers are motivated enough to be effective at their job. The administration seems to be more concerned about keeping their job than about making real and significant changes that would provide a better environment and educational experience for the students.

Rocky Top Middle School 1

Posted May 11, 2015
- a parent
This school is going downhill fast. The problems at this school start at the top. Complacent staff and many consider their work as just a job instead of being educators. My son was bullied by one of the teacher's son and the couselor asked me to address the teacher directly. Big mistake. The teacher got with the assistant principal to gang up on us and make me the bad guy! Then they took their anger out on my wife when she went in to talk to them. The assistant principal had the nerve to counsel my wife on how married people should act. So, we were bullied by the staff reporting a bully incident. Go figure? They fail to understand that they exist because of our children and they are accountable to us. This school had a lot of potential but they can't even figure out how to fix the potholes in the parking lot. When we first started we told the school that our son was tested (IQ test), categorized as gifted and was awaiting entrance into Stargate Academy. They said it didn't matter and that they had to meet their criteria and put him in remedial classes. The school year is over and we just now got a letter from the school saying he's gifted!


Rocky Top Middle School 5

Posted March 19, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school! My son has for the first time been excited to go to school each day. He joined a great Science club and is starting to really want to achieve. The teachers are very good and don't fall for his creative excuses for not turning in work. He seems to really be thriving. Thanks Rocky Top!

Rocky Top Middle School 1

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
Awful place. Staff yells at kids all day. Very stressed. AVOID! Do your kids a favor and find an alternative.

Rocky Top Middle School 5

Posted August 29, 2013
- a parent
When I purchased my house in the area. I wanted my kids to attend at the Rocky Top Middle School. This is one of the best public school in Adams 12 five stars. The teachers and staffs are wonderful and very helpful. Thank you Rock Top Middle School. I have 2 more kids and will be attended at the RTMS


Rocky Top Middle School 3

Posted May 15, 2013
- a parent
It's incredible to that we have a week of hot weather out hear in the Denver area this spring and suddenly all the Adams 12 school's air conditioning units are 'broken'. So let me see if I understand this correctly, while the students are preparing for finals, the Adams 12 administrators are too cheap to turn on air conditioning so the kids can actually study and learn in class? Are you kidding me? The kids tell me the classrooms hit 85 degrees today. Where is this extra money saved going? Teachers? Admin salaries? Since I own and manage some commercial properties in the area I really doubt that both middle and high schools in the district all have the same problems at the same time and they don't have HVAC maintenance contracts. I don't know of any sizable commercial or public buildings that don't have these contracts. This is simply pathetic lying behavior from this district!

Rocky Top Middle School 5

Posted May 01, 2013
- a parent
We were able to choice our daughter into Rocky Top and we feel truly blessed. She has been challenged and has excelled. The teachers are amazing!! They truly care and go way above and beyond for the kids. Rocky Top has a wonderful staff that kids feel safe, comfortable and loved! THANK YOU Rocky Top for a great education and middle school experience!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rocky Top Middle School
14150 York Street, Thornton, CO  80602
(720) 972-2200
Last modified Rocky Top Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Rocky Top Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top