Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mapleton Expeditionary School Of The Arts 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Awesome - they really work with the students. My child is happy for the first time in 3 years.

Mapleton Expeditionary School Of The Arts 4

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
My son has attended a few schools in Colorado and is a quiet kid. MESA has gone a long way in creating a inclusive atmosphere. He has always struggled getting motivated to do homework. MESA encourages him and holds him accountable. They encourage responsibility now it is his first priority. He doesn't feel like a failure and has a can do attitude. There is some bullying (every school) but they are attentive to this and act upon concerns quickly. They work with parents and encourages a non-threating environment. Parents play a large part in this. Kids can't learn if students are disruptive and it isn't the teachers job to teach kids to be well behaved. That should have started before Kindergarten. This school has an interesting teaching curriculum. The field/vol days helps kids to be well-rounded. Improvement - Although the school is quick to respond. Stricter guidelines for bullying, zero tolerance. That way my son can focus on his work and not worry about being attacked in his classroom. This is a parental issue and the parents should remain at home with them. We love this school! Kudos, hat's off, salute to all the teachers in the 8th grade and counselors.


Mapleton Expeditionary School Of The Arts 5

Posted December 18, 2013
- a community member
This school has had a great impact on my life and as a 2014 senior I have watched this community grow and transform in great ways. The community embraces individuality and provides strong support, academically and personally. If you want to have close connections with fantastic teachers who actually care about you, come to MESA.

Mapleton Expeditionary School Of The Arts 5

Posted January 18, 2012
- a community member
MESA is one of the best schools that ive been to. I live in California and regret moving school because it was such a wonderful school

Mapleton Expeditionary School Of The Arts 1

Posted November 10, 2011
- a parent
My son has been in this school for 2 years and that is 2 years too many. Be very careful in selecting this school. Teachers do not have control of their classroom and the rest of the administration is just as worse. We have pulled our child from this school because of too many gang or gang wannabe people made him feel very unsafe


Mapleton Expeditionary School Of The Arts 5

Posted February 24, 2010
- a parent
My son attends this school and we are VERY happy with MESA! He was always a quiet child when he attended the Charter School in Brighton. He struggled with getting good grades but his testing scores were always great. ??? Now that he attends MESA, he has come out of his shell and is getting great grades AND test scores. He is more social and he loves this school. The teachers really see each student as an individual and if the child is behind or ahead, they accomodate. My younger son BEGS to attend MESA. When he hits jr high, he will be going! I am not overall happy with Mapleton District- But this school and the students there should be put on a pedistal. I also must add that the ethnicity % is a perfect mix. When the time comes for college, my son will be ready. Kudos to MESA!!

Mapleton Expeditionary School Of The Arts 5

Posted February 14, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Mapleton Expeditionary School Of The Arts 5

Posted April 06, 2009
- a parent
My son is 'twice exceptional' and this school has made the difference between being 'left behind' and becoming a valuable player in today's society. MESA lives up to the inspirational quote below. 'Treat people as if they were what they ought to be and you help them become what they are capable of becoming.' -- Goethe


Mapleton Expeditionary School Of The Arts 5

Posted April 06, 2009
- a student
This school is great. the teachers help you with work if you dont get it. academic support is what helped me pass seventh grade. if you want to be sure that your child is being challenged enroll them here.

Mapleton Expeditionary School Of The Arts 4

Posted February 25, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mapleton Expeditionary School Of The Arts
8990 York St, Thornton, CO  80299
(303) 853-1270
Last modified Mapleton Expeditionary School Of The Arts is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mapleton Expeditionary School Of The Arts Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top