Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Ridge Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 887 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 19, 2013

We love West Ridge!!! We have a kindergartner whose teacher is amazing!! Our son is very bright, and she challenges him. The principal is very visible and friendly; she always has a smile on her face. Great "specials" including art, computers, pe, music, and library. Involved PTO and parents. Wonderful school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

I was initially hesitant about my son going to school here, but now he has gone to West Ridge for a year and half (K and 1st grade) and is reading at a fifth grade level. Instead of waiting for the other kids to catch up, the teacher has pushed the four highest readers into fifth grade books to continue to challenge them and keep them engaged. He is definitley being challenged and is succeeding! My son loves his teacher so much he elected to keep her as he moved from K to 1st. The school was overcrowded last year, but has since split into two schools, so that problem is solved. My son's teacher is not the type to "think inside the box" and other parents may be experiencing one teacher's method and rating the entire school based solely on that. My son does bring home math worksheets, but they seem appropriate and innovative and were certainly not the way I was taught math oh-so-long-ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2012

This school is a perfect example of how rating based on scores is NOT an indicator of a good school! My child attended WRE for one year and it was nothing but a huge disappointment. THEY TEACH TO THE TEST. There was nothing but repetitive worksheets coming home every week and same for homework. There was ABSOLUTELY no project-based learning.Our teacher had absolutely no personality for working with young children (even though in her 8th year of teaching elementary school, her first year at WRE), was not engaging/interactive. She did not want any parent volunteers in her classroom either, that should've been our first warning sign. The highlight of the science class was watching a bottle of water placed by the window evaporate and record the level of evaporation every week... Bottom line- if your child is an inquisitive mind who perfroms above the grade level, take her elsewhere where teachers care about children's LIFE LONG love for learning and NOT the test scores. It's not the test scores alone that count. Reevaluate your philosophy and start hiring teachers who are innovative and passionate about their profession!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2012

I am very disappointed in this school. I have tried to work with the staff but they do not listen to you about the needs of your children. Every child is not the same and they need to treat children as unique individuals on work on their needs. They teach by worksheets. This method went out in the 80's. If a student teacher did this they would be told by their college how in acceptable this is. They are not inventive and do not think out of the box. Project based learning is no where to be seen in this school. Again worksheets do not teach children what is needed in everyday life today. They need to keep up with the changes and the needs of this new century and what is needed to be good citizens and employable when they finish school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

We were very fortunate to be part of the West Ridge family for 3 years before moving out of state. I absolutely loved the school. The staff was fabulous and my children loved their teachers, they were always very positively encouraged and learned so much. I feel very blessed that my children had such amazing teachers that knew how to work with and push my children in a way that met their individual needs. WR welcomes volunteers which I really loved so I could be involved and get to know the school and the staff. I will always remember our time at WR with great fondness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2012

My child has been at West Ridge for two years and we have been extremely happy with the staff and with academics. We've been lucky to have two excellent teachers that have always been attentive to what my child needs. The parents are all friendly and many serve hours volunteering. I'm extremely happy with the principal, Mrs. Brock, this past year. She has continued to make West Ridge a fabulous school that I'm extremely proud to send now two of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2012

My son has attended WRE since kindergarden, he is now in third grade. We are absolutely happy with the experiences he has had at this school and could only hope to find a middle school that can compare. I have been able to volunteer every year. Through my volunteering I have been able to get to know teachers and support staff very well and think they are no less than fantastic. Every teacher he has had was excellent. Yes the school is over capacity, but this will be remedied with a new school opening this next school year. We love WRE and can not wait for our youngest to start kindergarten there next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2011

This is my child's second year at WRE. I have to agree with the previous reviewer, the school is absolutely overcrowded, teachers are overwhelmed...What disappoints the most is the lack of innovative teaching methods. A ton of worksheets and test prep, NO project/ based teaching and absolutely NO GT resources and NO science classes/projects in the1st grade level. I'm not sure how they keep the children excited about learning... The emphasis is on test scores and not on creativity and engaging/innovative ways of teaching. Teachers do not have their own web-pages that could be used to keep parents updated on what's going on in the class. Disappointing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2011

School is at 125% capacity. Services to children are very limited. Class sizes are too big. There is not enough funding. Maybe my expectations were too high but it has been a big disappointment sending my child to this school. My sons teacher is overwhelmed with disruptive students. He has lost skills that he had going into the school year. There is bullying on the playground. There is a lack of support from his teacher pertaining to concerns. I have tried to volunteer my time and have been sent away, and told there is nothing to help with. There is a major lack of support of the students in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

I like the fact that the teachers really seem to love and care about there students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

very caring teachers and upper staff. good focus on academics and social interactions and participation. highly recommend
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

2 years ago we were looking for a school to open enroll our daughter who would be entering Kindergarten. We were accepted and were prepared to attend a Thornton district school...until we met Will Pierce - the Principal at West Ridge. He is terrific, and we love the teachers/admin as well. Many teachers left their previous job just to work for Will Pierce - so that told me he had his pick of staff. It shows that we have some of the best teachers around!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

Our oldest son started 2nd grade the first year West Ridge opened. We were a bit nervous with the school being new, but we were greatly surprised with everything the school had to offer. From the teachers connections with the kids, to the principal remembering the names of every kid in the school we knew West Ridge was the right place to keep our kids. Our youngest son is in preschool this year at West Ridge and loves going to school. He's all excited about next year being about to spend a full day at the 'big boy' school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female78%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Reading

All Students80%
Female89%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%

Writing

All Students62%
Female69%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligible64%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female89%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Reading

All Students82%
Female82%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Writing

All Students58%
Female64%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female77%
Male79%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian71%
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%

Reading

All Students87%
Female94%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian77%
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant87%

Science

All Students60%
Female66%
Male55%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian53%
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligible28%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant60%

Writing

All Students76%
Female89%
Male66%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian77%
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 56%
Hispanic 24% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Two or more races 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13102 Monaco St
Thornton, CO 80602
Phone: (720) 685-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT