Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westgate Charter School

Charter | K-8 | 213 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 26 ratings
2013:
Based on 24 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

66 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, April 15, 2014

We have been at Westgate for several years and my child has had an outstanding experience. He is a gifted student who was an underachiever his other school and his scores on both the state assessments and MAP tests have improved every year. He is surrounded by students and teachers who care about him as a person and know who he is. From administration to the front office, the adults model kindness and compassion. I've spent many hours volunteering over the years and so I know what goes on inside the building. I have never met a more dedicated or hardworking staff. A few of the negative comments are specific enough to identify the authors; I know a few things about some of the situations and I wish the school, teachers, and administration could tell you their side of the story. Schools that do things differently are a blessing to their communities. We plan to be at Westgate for many years to come and know that no school is perfect. We still believe in the vision, we believe in the staff, and we watch our child receive the same support from the school. I wish the negatives (parents and staff alike) would be and let be. Talk to the happy people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I was very disappointed with the application process. Once we received a seat offer the administration were very standoffish and unpleasant. I tried for over a month to visit the school, but the school visits were never scheduled on the site and the administration refused unscheduled visits. I tried to schedule a day visit for my child to shadow a student, frst they didn't allow visits above a certain grade, then they didn't allow visits below a certain grade. This was after my child was told that she could have a visit. I pressed the issue and the administrator finally set up a visit. Then I wanted to discuss my daughters medical situation with the teacher prior to the start of the school day. The administrator ushered me out of the building, was very short with me, and refused to listen to me talk about her medical needs. Then I received a very curt e-mail from the administrator scolding me for talking to a teacher during school hours. I was never told that this was a rule. Why don't they want me to visit the building? What are they hiding? Why are parents kept at the front door and never allowed past the front desk? My children will not be attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

We love this school! Our youngest has been here for 5 years, eldest joined the school 2 years ago. We knew that we wanted to find a place that would allow our youngest child to be able to learn to love school. He's a divergent learner and gifted. Perfect place for him and his older brother loves it as well. Older brother did seven years in another gifted school and decided that he wanted more diversity in the student body. Older child is a more traditional gifted child and says that this school has provided him a different way of learning that has rounded out the other more curriculum-based and rubric based style. Has taught him to think outside of the box and creative approaches to problem solving that weren't presented in his other gifted school. We love that encourages children to develop their own time management skills and gives them power over project management. Could be scary for parents who are used to a more linear and rubric based education. We feel this educational environment is definitely preparing our children for young adulthood more effectively than traditional schools, the bonus being that they are learning a lot and having fun along the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2014

My husband and I are huge supporters of Westgate. We have two gifted children enrolled. The teaching staff are truly the best at what they do. Our children come out to the car each day bursting to share what they did in their classes. It's wonderful to hear their excitement and see their love of learning grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2014

I love teaching at Westgate. It is my dream job. The kids are so smart. They amaze me every single day. My fellow teachers are dedicated and hard working. We get to be creative and plan together which never happened in the schools I used to teach in. It feeds our spirits to work cooperatively which makes for great learning in the classrooms. The administration is always there for us. Any time you have a question, they stop whatever they are doing and listen. I couldn't ask for more. Westgate is a happy place to be for teachers and students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 21, 2014

This is a great school that understands what creatively gifted kids need. Our child is allowed to investigate her passions and learn topics in a meaningful way. I have never noticed a dirty building - and I volunteer every week. All progress reports are available to us online and we had our 3rd round of conferences this week. We know exactly how our child is doing and we couldn't be more pleased with our child's growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

Our family has been at Westgate for 4 years and every year it gets better. Our oldest couldn't find his place in a big school. Westgate's small classes were perfect for him. Our middle child would have been fine anywhere and it's been a great match for her too. They both have great friends who think like they do. It's great to see them grow in a community of gifted peers. (And, the no homework policy is a blessing for our home - no arguing at the dinner table.) We can't wait for our little one to start kindergarten next year. We believe 100% in the mission of Westgate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

Our kids love school! Thank you Westgate! We transferred in after out 1st grader started to hate school and wanted to quit. There are no more tears after school. 2nd grade has been a new awakening for us. This is what a school should be for gifted kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2014

The school is unorganized and the classrooms are chaotic. The teachers are not treated well and do not have the resources they need. The building is old and not kept clean. Depending on the teachers, students and parent volunteers to clean it is just not working. A janitor needs to be hired. Testing results and progress reports are not available in a timely manner. We moved our child to another school in February and had not received any progress reports at all this school year. Unbelievable considering school started in early August. Do your research before enrolling your child at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2014

I had concerns and problems at Westgate that they would never addressed so I had to move my children mid year. I was concerned about all the same things that other parents have posted. Do the classrooms have supplies and the resources they needed, where was my money going that I had given the school, are the teachers being supported, and why were so many teachers leaving? I was unhappy with the way they handled people leaving. Not acknowledging it, no warnings, and no goodbyes. I was concerned how this constant instability and change was effecting my children. I tried to address my concerns with Westgate, I sent emails that were never returned, I attended meeting, asked questions, tried to be heard but all I ever got was shut down or no answers at all. I had no voice as a parent at Westgate. Now that I am at our local school I have come to realize the magnitude of the lack of resources Westgate gave my children. I have spent an enormous amount of time and money getting these resources outside of school because they were not getting them consistently at Westgate. I do love the teachers at this school but I do not think they are getting the extra support they need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2014

Couldn't be happier with a school. It's the right place for our child. The teachers are great. My child has grown leaps and bounds this year. He loves his school. I don't see any of the problems others have expressed. We have had nothing but positive interactions with everyone from the front desk lady to the Executive Director. Thank you, Westgate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2014

We took our son out of this school mid-year. We were so hopeful that our TAG/ADHD son would thrive there, but the experience was so different than what was initially represented. Our son needs at least some structure, and and teachers that stick around. I think with a different director, this school has a chance. The way it stands, I don't see it surviving very long. Before you consider this school, talk to other parents (and make sure they're not employed by the school).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2014

This school started off with a great concept but the Executive Director, while a good visionary, is a terrible leader of her staff and is completely unwilling to have meaninful dialogue with parents about their concerns. We are just one of many families that will be leaving at the end of this year. This school will likely not be in existence in another year or two due to families and staff leaving in droves which will lead to cuts in funding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2014

My child is in their third year at Westgate and has grown each year. We love the teaching and creative work that he does in classes. We have seen better communication this year and we are behind the school 100%. We are not going anywhere! We can't wait for him to be able to go to high school here so he can attend college, as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2014

So happy we came to Westgate! It was the right choice for our child. We have been nothing but impressed with the teachers and staff. Our child loves school and who can argue with that?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2014

I'm a grandparent and volunteer at Westgate every month. This is an amazing school - nothing like anything I've seen before. It's a great community and the kids are so smart! So happy they welcome me in.


Posted March 11, 2014

I love this school! We couldn't be happier to be a member of this community! Happy kids. Great Teachers. Wonderful friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2014

This is my son's second year at Westgate. He was stifled at other schools frequently getting into trouble for talking or making others laugh because he was bored with the curriculum. He had been to 3 schools previously and they wouldn't/couldn't differentiate for him. However, at Westgate, my son has grown leaps and bounds in his work performance. He has the opportunity to participate in higher level thinking in science, social studies, language arts, and math! He does meaningful and relevant work at school and loves it. The teachers have done a wonderful job in developing my son academically, socially, and emotionally. He has grown as a learner and human being. The teachers and administration have always treated my son with fairness, compassion, and with his best interests at heart. My son hated school, but now he looks forward to go back every day. I am sad for the parents (students?) who have not had a good experience at Westgate. I am not sure what happened. All I know is that my son is thriving, and we couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

If I could give this school "0" stars, I would. First and foremost, my son's TCAP's fell in every category by over 100 points in the two years he was at Westgate - he was often miserable and isolated. Leadership is punitive and mean spirited, and their communication with parents is non-existent (ask other parents if you must). Teacher/student turnover is enormous, and special education services are kept to a minimum and/or non-existent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2014

I wish that I never heard about this school. My child has lost learning across the board. There is a lack of information shared with parents: lack of timely report cards and testing results along with mixed messages from the administration (if any at all). The administration throws their own teachers under the bus. Children aren't learning basic skills and there is so little support staff for the many children who need help. This school claims to cater to kids who are gifted and alternative learners, yet the staff doesn't seem to know how to meet the needs of these types of children. I will be sending my child to another school in the fall.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

37 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female75%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%

Reading

All Students73%
Female88%
Male64%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Writing

All Students36%
Female56%
Male25%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)33%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch37%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities43%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English38%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female74%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Reading

All Students73%
Female74%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Writing

All Students45%
Female47%
Male43%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch46%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English46%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female69%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Reading

All Students79%
Female75%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Science

All Students67%
Female56%
Male74%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%

Writing

All Students49%
Female63%
Male41%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch46%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities49%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English47%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female50%
Male89%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Reading

All Students6%
Female0%
Male11%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)7%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch6%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities7%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English6%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant6%

Writing

All Students0%
Female0%
Male0%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)0%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch0%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities0%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English0%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Female50%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Reading

All Students84%
Female81%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Writing

All Students81%
Female75%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Femalen/a
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%

Reading

All Students92%
Femalen/a
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Science

All Students89%
Femalen/a
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%

Writing

All Students77%
Femalen/a
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 57%
Hispanic 9% 32%
Asian 2% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 1%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12500 Washington
Thornton, CO 80241
Phone: (303) 452-0967

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

STEM Magnet Lab School
Northglenn, CO





Community Christian
Northglenn, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT