Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
103 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (9 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (6 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 160 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Westgate Community School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 22, 2016
- a community member
Studies consistently show homework does not correlate to acedemic growth or retainment. Westgate's approach is in line with modern approaches.

Westgate Community School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 22, 2016
- a community member
You can see an anti bullying and pro empathy through visual messaging throughout the school.


Westgate Community School 5

Posted May 22, 2016
- a community member
We have not officially started yet, but the admin has been transparent from the original tour through enrollment. We were invited to their school fundraiser carnival and we were impressed at their parent community and their commitment to raising funds for Westgate. We are excited to join a school that does not shame children through discipline charts and instead involves children in problem solving.

Westgate Community School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
I'm so grateful for all the staff at Westgate, they care about my kids in every way!

Westgate Community School 5

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
We have attended Westgate for 5 years, and absolutely love it. My kids get what they need from educational support to emotional support. The admin and staff are amazing!! WE love Westgate. I would like to post about the comments below being false. There are not numerous people leaving Westgate. We had one teacher leave. (its not our business to know why!!) and the admin, they both left for personal reasons, not because of our principal. And by the way she is licensed!!You can find her license on the CDE website .


Westgate Community School 2

Posted February 28, 2016
- a parent
Members of the administration and teaching staff have been disappearing at an alarming rate and I think that it's because of the principal. The school is supposed to be for gifted students but there seem to be far too many that aren't even at grade level in many subjects. Recently I learned that our principal isn't even licensed. I have asked for information about what is going on with our school, but get nowhere.

Westgate Community School 5

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Westgate has been an excellent match for my children. I love that the school has needs based learning so that my children can learn and grow based on how they are performing. If they are exceeding grade level in a subject, there is no cap as to how far above grade level they can work. There are groups for all levels and skills. My children are challenged and I love that.

Westgate Community School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
There is no homework at this school unless something is not completed in class. This is done because studies consistently show homework does not increase learning--but does increase stress at home. Plus, since the work does not come home, there is no temptation from parents to overly interfere or take over.


Westgate Community School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Yes. The students are responsible for getting their work done and getting it done well.

Westgate Community School 5

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
My kids have done great at Westgate. They have improved so much each year they are there. I love the flexibility of the school and the willingness to teach to each kid's needs. I have loved it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westgate Community School
12500 Washington St., Thornton, CO  80241
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 160 reviews. (303) 452-0967
Last modified Westgate Community School is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top