Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Usaf Academy, CO

4 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Air Academy High School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a teacher
Air Academy High School is a grades 9-12 high school located in the northwest of Colorado Springs, on the grounds of the Air Force Academy and at the base of the Colorado Rocky Mountains. Rated the top Colorado public high school by Colorado Great Schools. It offers a wide variety of unique programs, including an Engineering Pathways program, the only ROTC program in District 20, AP and Honors classes, the top 4A band program in Colorado, and vocational training programs through the AVP/Pikes Peak Community College program. Air Academy High School has a long tradition of academic and athletic excellence, having won a myriad of state championships over the past decade. With a wide variety of clubs, organizations and volunteer opportunities, Air Academy High School offers students the chance to explore many avenues of career and personal growth.

Air Academy High School 3

Posted March 12, 2014
- a community member
Definitely not an awful school, but could be better. Whether or not you have good classes just depends on the teachers you get. I don't really like how they've changed the schedule, and I wish they had more places for students to go during academy or a partial that they could study quietly if they want. However, I do think it's pretty cool that band is more of a big deal at this school than others and is actually appreciated.


Air Academy High School 5

Posted February 23, 2014
- a community member
AAHS is a great platform for any student whether college bound or entering the workforce. As a 1978 graduate, I can attest to the excellence of this school. Academics, Sports, Music, etc. "It's a matter of pride" is one of their mottos and was true then as it is now. Go Kadets!!

Air Academy High School 1

Posted December 01, 2013
- a community member
I hate this school. I regret coming here. Some of the teachers aren't too bad, and some are worse, but I certainly did not feel welcomed by the other students when I was new here. I have had bad experiences ever since. This just isn't a good school for me.

Air Academy High School 1

Posted November 11, 2013
- a student
Tons of sub-par to terrible teachers makes one bad school. Avoid at all costs or you'll be sorry.


Air Academy High School 5

Posted July 05, 2013
- a student
Air Academy is definitely an amazing school to attend. It has great academics, offering many high-level honors and Advanced Placement classes that are taught by very knowledgeable and dedicated teachers. A wide variety of extra-curricular class can also be found at Air Academy. Additionally, many of the extra-curricular activities and sports at Air Academy are the best in the state. The marching band has been 1st in state 5 out of the last 6 years, cheerleading has almost consistently been 1st in state since 2001, and the swimming, soccer, and lacrosse teams are all also doing very well. Air Academy also has a beautiful campus, which is located on the United States Air Force Academy. Overall, Air Academy has a friendly and welcoming environment, top-notch teachers, great music/art and sports programs, challenging classes, and is just a great place to spend your high school years!

Air Academy High School 5

Posted June 05, 2012
- a student
Air Academy is the top of its class in every aspect; the teachers, academics, students, and extracurricular activites. For those interested in sports; this year, we have clinched five sports titles. In one year! Boy's swimming, Girl's lacrosse, Girl's soccer, Girl's basketball, and wrestling. Our Boy's baseball also got into the finals but lost against the defending champions. The marching band also won state and the supernationals in Texas The teachers are truly of the best quality any student can receive. Their academic requirements are strict yet a student can always askk for help and will receive great care and attention as well as wonderful guidance and much more knowledge. The building is very clean and though it is old, very stylish and updated to the top of technology. Art and music are very top-notched and education is very important. There are many different ethnicities and it is a very friendly and welcoming environment! Our schoool spirit is contagious and we will most definitely welcome you with open arms! Make sure to choose Air Academy as your high school!

Air Academy High School 5

Posted October 23, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Air Academy High School 3

Posted July 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Air Academy High School 3

Posted October 07, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Air Academy High School
551 North Frontage Rd West, Usaf Academy, CO  80840
(719) 234-2400
Last modified Air Academy High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Air Academy High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top