Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Semper Elementary School

Public | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 28, 2014

This is a wonderful, nurturing environment for my children. The teachers have been excellent with their teaching methods and staying in touch with parents. I am so happy my children are attending such an amazing public school. Bravo!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2012

This school has been amazing! They've worked with my son's Aspergers and my daughter has been so happy here! It's a fun, nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2011

I'm very pleased with the new principal and the level of communication he has with all of the parents. He's very involved with the students and is making an enormous effort to know each and every one of them. The kindergarten teacher is assertive and fair and after just 3 days my daughter has learned a new song and the rules of her classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2010

My child just started at Semper and I am just hoping it gets better. I am very disappointed with the extreme punishment from the principal and not allowing a child to be a child. I am hoping it gets better or I will be looking elsewhere for a school that actually allows children to be children, while providing them a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

the teachers and helpful staff. the interest taken to ensure that my granddaughter gets a good education. she was behind in reading and is now doing very well, thanks to a very special 1st grade teacher and wonderful aide!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2009

The teachers are warm and caring. My kids love the school. The only real concern is with the current administration. It seems that some of the teachers are not as valued as others which is creating a hostile place to be. We will continue to send our children to Semper because of the teachers , not because of the current leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

My daughters joined this school after a bumpy experience at their last schools. Semper was everything we could have hoped for. The teaching staff was very open to allowing parents to volunteer in the school. Having home schooled in the past, I can easily attest that the care and concern that the teaching staff at this school doles out on it's students is at a remarkably high level. My oldest had decided she hated school after her last teacher. With steady communication and a kind, considerate approach the teaching staff at Semper ignited her thirst for education once more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2009

I am a parent of two young children who live outside the Westminster area. We researched at a multitude of schools within several school districts before chosing Semper as the school we wanted to send our children to. After 6 years, we are extremely satisified with the school, its Teachers and staff, the criteria, and the facilities. My wife and I continually recommend Semper to our freinds with small children looking for a premier learning institution and praise the faculty and parents on helping to make this institution a great place for learning and growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

I have just recently moved away from this school. I had all three of my children attend and all have had an amazing experiance. The teachers are awsome and the staff is kind. My kids learned a lot and and took all of the important knowledge with them thru middle school and high school. You will be very happy with this school. I am sad to have to leave and will miss it all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

My son just started kindergarten at Semper this year and loves it. The teachers and staff are very friendly and caring. We choice enrolled from another district and are so happy we found this school - would highly recommend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2008

The teachers are very harsh to the kids and don't teach very well
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2007

Semper is an awesome school! Our two children are in their first year at the school after transferring from another district. The teachers have been so welcoming to our kids and have shown great attention towards their well-being and success. I have been very impressed with how well the school is run and the level of interaction I get from my children's teachers and the staff as a whole. I would definitely recommend this school to others and feel very fortunate that my children attend such an amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2007

I loved my five years at Semper. The teachers were caring. Sixth grade was great with our week at Outdoor Lab.The teachers even sang to us at night. The school really prepared me for middle school
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 17, 2006

We have been very happy with the first grade program and teachers at Semper.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

Semper is a wonderful school. They encourage parent envolvement and participation, inside and outside the classroom. I know my child loves everyone who teaches and works there. I feel that it is a safe environment and that the staff truly cares about the children and their well being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2005

Semper Elementary has consistently delivered excellent education to my two children for the past three years. Their focus on the basics and strong PTA provides a supportive learning environment within the school. Each of the teachers that my children have had have focused on improving their weak areas while enhancing their strong areas. The teachers have been approachable and are open to working with parents who are concerned about their childs education. The school also provides additional activities such as science club, chess club, and usally some type of foreign language learning cirriculum. The relationship that the school has with various colleges in the area enhances the classroom and learning environment and infuses the class with a new perspective with new teaching ideas from the University. The staff at Semper has always been helpful in coordinating various appointments with my children etc. Last year the PTA sponsered new playground equipment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female68%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Reading

All Students73%
Female74%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%

Writing

All Students61%
Female68%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female68%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Reading

All Students84%
Female76%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Writing

All Students56%
Female60%
Male53%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female71%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%

Reading

All Students89%
Female89%
Male89%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%

Science

All Students74%
Female69%
Male78%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%

Writing

All Students68%
Female69%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female70%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Reading

All Students83%
Female84%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Writing

All Students65%
Female70%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 56%
Hispanic 24% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7575 West 96th Ave
Westminster, CO 80021
Phone: (303) 982-6460

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Adams Elementary School
Westminster, CO



Zerger Elementary School
Westminster, CO


Lukas Elementary School
Westminster, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT