Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arapahoe Ridge Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 635 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 27, 2014

Safety is a concern. Parking lot and traffic is horrible. Administration is biased and treats families unfairly. Many behavior issues in classes that are not being addressed and effecting my child's education and safe surroundings.


Posted February 21, 2014

I rate this school 2/5 because I learn a lot, which is good but there are many flaws at my school. SOME (not all) teachers do not respect kids. Their punishments are inapropriate like embarrassing the students or yelling at them. I understand that kids do need a punishment for their wrong actions, but these punishments lower self esteem, which in a way can be bullying. Another reason is the lunch time. The lunch time given at this school is 10 minutes - does ARE know that the state law says the minimum time for lunch period is 20 minutes?! The staff here are nice and the principal, and most teachers. But these issues are not suitable for kids 5-11.


Posted February 10, 2014

This has been a great school for our son, who has attended K-3 thus far. The teachers are fabulous (*especially* Mrs. Robbins and Mrs. Schoolmeester!) and really try to connect with their students and provide a nurturing learning environment for them. The principal, Mr. Gerzon, is wonderful -- very hands-on, approachable, and caring. The school also seems to be fiscally responsible and transparent with keeping parents informed of where budget money is allocated/spent. My small(ish) complaints about the school would be: limited gifted/talented program to keep my son challenged, long drop-off lines (especially for K-2 students), number of students per class has been in the "larger" range (28+ per class). But, all in all, a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

Arapahoe Ridge Elementary This school is located within a quiet respectable community that's not near any busy streets. It's tucked neatly away. The teachers have been great & respond quickly to our needs if any issues arise. I like the fact that they get the parents involved to help you respect what the children are learning. I am happy that if there is an issue in the community or surrounding cities that they inform the parents quickly by email or calls about Lockouts & when they are lifted. It makes me feel like my child is truly safe!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2012

This is an amazing public school. The teachers are incredibly committed and the principal is very involved. We have had an excellent experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

We have two students at Arapahoe Ridge and have been at the school for 3 years now. We are extremely pleased with the Principal and the Teachers. They are all very dedicated to the students and are always looking to enrich the learning environment at the school. Even with the huge budget cuts this year, the staff has done an excellent job of utilizing the resources wisely and effectively. We are so happy to be apart of our local, neighborhood school where our children are thriving and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

ARE staff works as a team towards the school vision of creating a community of learning. Outstanding Adams 12 school. I take exception to the negative reviews with very specific one-off issues thery are focusing on. Come see for yourself, go wolves!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

I have been involved with ARE for the past two years and couldn't feel better about our choice to send our children to this school. The teachers are passionate about teaching, the well-being of the children and are committed to making the elementary years a wonderful experience for the children. Every year we see more and more budget cuts and the administration and PSO Board at ARE are always coming up with creative ways to increase learning opportunities, help the struggling students, add technology and resources. Every decision is made in the best interest of the students. Thinking about sending your kids to ARE. Come for a visit, meet the teachers, talk with the principal, call some parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

I have been absolutely delighted with our experience at Arapahoe Ridge. The teachers have been excellent and completely adaptable with the material to keep my daughter challenged. I feel like they do a wonderful job of not only tailoring the material to her needs and level but on the days I volunteer, I can see it being tailored to the needs of those students who need additional help. The principal is involved, attentive and available whenever I have needed him. We receive constant and timely communication. I love the early release day on Wednesdays and the opportunity it provides to do outside activities without interfering with her schoolwork. I am so grateful that we have such a high-quality and positive school for our children to attend and would recommend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

Excellent school, I have had kids for the past 12 years straight. We have had some absolutely magnificent and innovative teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

Wish I could give this school 5 stars. Was going to give 3 stars but that is average and to many staff are more concerned with policy and procedure then the kids. And the principle will get upset if you tell the truth about the pathetic staff. They do have some great staff as well. But the principle would rather protect weak staff then try and make them improve. Arapahoe's inappropriate practices include but are not limited to Inappropriate meal time. Only 20 min for lunch? Is the school aware that employers are legally required to give employees 30 min? Are our kids second class citizens? Inappropriate end time prior to 2PM on Wednesdays. Kids should be taught to avoid sun exposure between 10AM and 2PM. They should not be put at risk of being put outside prior to 2PM. The school district should be on the financial hook for any skin cancer kids through the system develop in there life if this Inappropriate er very Inappropriate make that very very Inappropriate practice is continued!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

From a teaching perspective, I have nothing but great things to say about ARE. The faculty and staff go out of the way to ensure that my child is safe and is being challenge. My daughter tests above her grade level and the teaching staff continues to challenge her daily. I would give the school an excelent but I have issues in regards to the lunch room policies, how they try and maintain control, and the approach they take (control) of the kids before school starts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2009

We left after Kinder due to total overcrowding and lack of any kind of differenciation for various learning levels. Our child was bored and very sad at school and the teacher and administration were not helpful. Way too many kids in very cramped classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2009

I am very confident in the success of of the school's children, due to the high diligence and support provided by every one of the professional staff o board. All of the children feel individually special and respected. I truely believe that this school deserves a rating of '5'. This a elementary school that is difficult to compete with!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

The only reason I'm giving this school 2 stars is because of my sons teacher. She's awesome and always has a smile on her face. But there's just something about this school I can't pinpoint. It gives me the chills everytime I have to drop my son off. I also don't like the fact that they make the kids sit on the cold ground to keep them under control. There's nothing wrong w/telling the kids to stand in line and keep your hands to yourself. I'm hoping I can get my son into a different school for the next school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

Amazing school. Supportive teachers. Great Scores. Dedicated to getting it right!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female73%
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligible66%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant85%

Reading

All Students77%
Female71%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible60%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%

Writing

All Students47%
Female47%
Male48%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)51%
Free lunch eligible29%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English51%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female70%
Male79%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Reading

All Students78%
Female74%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Writing

All Students69%
Female70%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female72%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Reading

All Students73%
Female79%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligible54%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%

Science

All Students53%
Female55%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligible29%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%

Writing

All Students67%
Female79%
Male55%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 57%
Hispanic 22% 32%
Asian 2% 3%
Black 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 29%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

13095 Pecos St
Westminster, CO 80030
Phone: (720) 972-5740

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT