Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Belleview Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 291 students

Our school is best known for being a Christian School with rigorous academics.

 
 

Living in Westminster

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $179,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,130.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 10 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2008

Our six grandchildren have attended Belleview the past three years. They range in grade from kindergarten to high school. They enjoy both their classmates and teachers. What we appreciate most is the godly, warm and caring atmosphere. We also appreciate the many special classes they may attend including music, art, computer, PE, language and a proactive reading program. OUr high schooler is also in the Broadway production being performed this spring. Several of our children have participated in the sports program. Overall, the school is well-rounded and and exciting for our children. The academics are superior, yet there are considerations for our granddaughter who has some learning difficulties. We feel blessed to have our children here at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

The administration at this school is horrible. They don't bother to tell you when you enroll your child that they do not provide any meals, that you must bring in snack at least twice a month (for the entire class), and they are closed more than they are open (including the daycare). There is no reduction in rates for the full weeks that they are closed at Christmas and the last week of summer. Tuition is charged on a monthly basis, and good luck getting a refund should you try to withdraw your child before the month is up. I will say, however, that the teachers we dealt with in the Pre-Kindergarten classes were wonderful! I only wish that the administration would follow the example of these wonderful teachers and practice what they preach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

My daughter attended Belleview from K4-4th grade. With the new administration came catch phrases such as 'trouble maker' and unhealthy competition between students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

I am a current parent at Belleview Christian School. I have four children enrolled - all of whom have been through the Kindergarden program. Belleview has a wonderful art program for all elementary students. Homework has been a part of every student's education at Belleview. The time it takes depends upon the student's ability to manage time during the day. All four of my kids have averaged from 15 minutes to about an hour. This has varied from child to child and from day to day. Yes, Belleview did experience some difficult changes last year, but the grace and love that I have come to appreciate is still very much a part of Belleview.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

Two of our children attended Belleview during the 2006/2007 school year. As much as we have tried to communicate effectively with the administration, we will be dis-enrolling our children for the 2007/2008 year. Most of the teachers that have had an impact on the lives of our children have been wonderful.. especially the early-childhood-educators. But with the schizm between the church and the school, the change in leadership at the school and the administration that is in place, I would not recommend this educational environment to anyone that would ever ask the question, 'Is there an art program?' or 'Is it normal for a kindergarden student to have well over an hour of homework multiple nights per week?' The list goes on. If you ask, you will immediately be labeled as 'difficult.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

Although my children (K-5 and 3rd grade) have had wonderful teachers, experiences, and leadership, there was a major change in administration this past year which ushered in an avalanche of unfortunate changes. If you are looking for a Christian school which operates with grace and love, this is not the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2006

I am a former teacher at Belleview. My experience was that this school had a lot of loving people and students, but the administration was extremely tight fisted with their money so teachers' resources were very limited. I probably spent $300 per year on stuff for my own classroom. I never had an aid, I did recess/lunch for my class every day, and I graded all my class' papers as well as teach those children with learning problems. Like I said, the teachers, principal, and administration were very nice people with good intentions. It is a great community spirit and the student body was a positive group, I just think the teachers needed more resources to be more effective.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 23, 2004

My daughter was in public school through 9th grade. Hanging out with the wrong kids and having trouble with school I started searching for a new enviroment. Wow! what a difference private school has made. You have smaller classes and the teachers love the students. With Belleview and their Christian teachings the kids get a lot of support, encouragement, love and understanding. They do what is needed to help the kids succeed not fail. My daughter went from drinking, smoking cigerettes, smoking pot, getting into fights and poor grades to a completely changed young lady. She is on the honor roll and given up the life style of reckless living. She is a wonderful young women and has made me proud. The transition wasn't easy but the school saw that my daughter just needed some structure and guidence. Belleview is a positive and caring environment and the kids enjoy the attention they receive. Because it's small you know everyone and everyone know's you so you are held accountable for what you say and do. You don't fall between the cracks which seems to happen in public school if you are not an A student. I can't tell you how this school has not only changed my daughter's life but our lives together. We've become closer and communicate much better as a result of the changes and choices she's made. She is very happy and looking forward to college with great pride in herself for overcoming some difficult teen years in public school. We love Belleview and appreciate all the staff. I would highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Overall the school is really good. Full of great teachers and staff. The school is really good at teaching the average kid and helping the kids excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 56%
Hispanic 21% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Boarding school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (303) 427-5459

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Dual College Credits
  • Honors track
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • To sporting events, field trip
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
CCAP
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3455 W 83rd Ave
Westminster, CO 80031
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 427-5459

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Flynn Elementary School
Westminster, CO






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT