Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
62 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 92 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Woodrow Wilson Charter Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
Mrs Albert was such a wonderful person and teacher for my child this last year. We feel blessed as a family to have had her!

Woodrow Wilson Charter Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
Wonderful teachers! The pore so much into the students. Mrs Albert in Kindergarten is amazing!


Woodrow Wilson Charter Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
There is way too much homework sent home with students. It makes sense if student did not finish all the work during class. Studies have shown that only reading is beneficial for homework.

Woodrow Wilson Charter Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
This school expects more out of the students. More of a grade ahead of traditional schools. Woodrow helps student achieve this.

Woodrow Wilson Charter Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
The principle knows all the kids names and takes the time to be involved with the students and see what they are involved in.


Woodrow Wilson Charter Academy
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
This school has a character education awards along with virtues that praise these positive traits and skills in children.

Woodrow Wilson Charter Academy 5

Posted June 09, 2016
- a parent
WWA is a wonderful school. We switched here from a local school and couldn't be happier with the difficult decision of choosing a school. We feel like we won the lottery when we choice enrolled to several schools and got accepted at Woodrow. The Kindergarten is fantastic and Mrs Albert is one of the best teachers out there. She really cares and goes above and beyond in not only teaching but making learning a joy for each child. Children at this school get Spanish, music, Art, and PE, Technology. This is not the norm at the regular public school. All the staff is fantastic. Would recommend others go here!

Woodrow Wilson Charter Academy 5

Posted February 20, 2016
- a parent
Woodrow Wilson Academy is a fantastic charter school in Jefferson County. Charter schools are public schools, and they are held to a very strict standard. Their teachers are required to be High Qualified, and 100% of Woodrow Wilson Academy’s teachers have their teaching licenses. Our experience at this school has been wonderful. The Administration, staff, teachers, and Board of Directors are top notch. Because WWA is a charter school, the Board of Directors oversees the running of the school. These individuals are dedicated parent volunteers, and they work really well together as a Board. They always have the interest of the students, teachers, and staff as a top priority. We highly recommend this school!


Woodrow Wilson Charter Academy 5

Posted February 16, 2016
- a parent
Again, this is school of choice- we are lucky to have choice in Jefferson County, Colorado. So, if you are having issues (like clearly some of the parents who felt the need to air grievances here did), then you go to your neighborhood school and be happy, or just be unhappy no matter where you go - the CHOICE is yours. For us, WWA was a school of choice even though our neighborhood school is pretty darn fantastic too. We loved our K teacher - she is one amazing lady and both kids had her. I can't speak to the middle school... yet, but I can speak to elementary and we have not had a bad experience with teachers. THEY ARE AMAZING! They are great... caring, and kind, and yes, tons of homework and projects, but the teachers are great communicators, and we have had great luck. Now that one of ours is facing pre-tween and some issues with girl/boy drama, the teachers are even addressing all that with us and the kids. It is amazing how much the teachers care for our kids. Also, as a dual working parent household, I love the schedule WWA keeps and no half days, and random days off in the middle of the week. If we had sent our kids to our neighborhood school, we would have faced scheduling woes. We love the after care program on-site- it is run so well, and while the turn over in after care is high, not one issue has gone un-addressed, ever. The communication is key to me and this school does it great! I only wish the school to change one thing for K-4, and that is to relax and let the kids just have fun and not put so much emphasis on "labels' in math or core teaching- kids learn through play and fun too! :A good balance and mix is awesome to have and no school can achieve this easily. Re: The PTO well, it's the PTO - there has been some drama each year, but the Board has been awesome and communicates well, and the calendar and all the decisions made are open to the public so anyone can attend and voice issues there instead of complaining elsewhere. We love not selling cookie dough and gift wrapping so I guess PTO is doing something right and like I said, communication from the staff and Board has been great. we love the former and current principal immensely - AMAZING PEOPLE!

Woodrow Wilson Charter Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 16, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. A for Kindergarten --- thanks for the amazing foundation you laid for both my kids, and the list goes on but I'd run out of space.

Nearby schools

Woodrow Wilson Charter Academy
8300 West 94th Avenue, Westminster, CO  80021
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 92 reviews. (303) 431-3694
Last modified Woodrow Wilson Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top