Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wayne Carle Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 346 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 16, 2013

Overall, Wayne Carle has a supportive, encouraging learning environment with great teachers who seem to really care about their students (which can be hard to find in a middle school). Be careful reading older posts, as the current principal has only been there 3 or 4 years (?), and he is an excellent leader, well-respected by staff and students alike. As with most schools, WCMS has great teachers and some that aren't as terrific, but whatever problems arise, I feel that the staff as a whole honestly try to address them and make improvements (which you won't see in all schools). My biggest complaint is the class size, but I think it's pretty standard for a public middle school in this area. You do, as a parent, need to keep your finger on the pulse of your child's experience wherever they go to school, but if large class size is a problem, you might have to look outside the standard public middle school. My student is one of those kids that make their own success wherever they go, but I think WCMS gives students the best possible foundation to be successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

My child had a tough time at this school with bullying and/or kids acting out in classroom. He has the desire to do well, but needs a particular environment in which to do so. When the teacher does not take command of the classroom it disruptive to those who want to learn. My child hated going to school. Keep an eye out for your child here. Ask good questions and check their behavior. Don't assume everything is "ok."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2010

This school is probly the best middle school around. it has great teachers, students, and staff. the thing that can improve about this school is writing less PLEEs and having to do less homework.


Posted March 10, 2009

I am a student at Wayne Carle Middle School and I hate it here. My old teachers from my old school downtown can teach better than half of them here. They don't know how to do anything to me, they aren't good AT ALL! I HATE THIS SCHOOL! Mr.Bushey cannot run a school, Mr.Schu should have been principal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 30, 2008

This school is wonderful. I am a seventh grade student, and the staff is alays happy and hardworking. They might want to work a bit on handling ALPs, but other than that, GO EAGLES!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2008

I am a staff member at Wayne Carle and I have never worked with such a great staff. The community is very supportive and the very best part of working at Wayne Carle are the students. We have a great group of kids and I look forward to going to work everyday!


Posted May 17, 2008

It is the best school ever!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2008

I'm an alumni of Wayne Carle and thought it was a pretty good school. Most of the teachers are great...There's a few that I think could do better, but overall is a satisfactory school for students. I learned a lot and had a great last year of middle school.


Posted January 30, 2008

Im a studnt and I must say this school has the best teachers ever.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2008

I have a 7th grader at Wayne Carle and I could not be happier with the school. The teachers, principal, assistant principal, etc. are passionate about learning and about the needs of the adolescent learner. I have had several opportunities to talk with the administrators and every time they have impressed me with their knowledge and expertise in leading a middle school. I have a 5th grader in a nearby elementary school and my wife and I are very happy to know that he will soon be benefiting from the Wayne Carle experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

I am a parent of a student that goes to this school. This school is possibly the worst school in the state. The principal is a unreliable leader of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
77%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

201 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female73%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligible55%
Reduced lunch eligible52%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%

Reading

All Students84%
Female89%
Male79%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligible70%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)29%
Students without disabilities89%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Writing

All Students64%
Female71%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligible46%
Reduced lunch eligible35%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female67%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligible36%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%

Reading

All Students76%
Female82%
Male70%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities80%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Science

All Students70%
Female73%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligible28%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%

Writing

All Students65%
Female73%
Male57%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligible32%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 56%
Hispanic 16% 32%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10200 West 100th Ave
Westminster, CO 80021
Phone: (303) 982-9070

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT