Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Windsor Charter Academy

Charter | K-8 | 441 students

We are best known for Core Knowledge Curriculum.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 12 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2012

I can not say enough positive things about WCA. I have three children attending this school and the changes I've witnessed in them have been amazing! The teachers and staff are very involved in the progress of each child that attends. They have gone out of their way to help my children succeed and they do it with compassion and sterness. They are teaching my children to be accountable for their actions which is exactly what I feel is very important for kids to understand- escpecially these days! I truly believe in their motto, "Failure Leads to Success," and to always keep trying-never give up.Some parents may feel that the leadership is to strict here but I ask you, have seen the kids nowadays? Many of them are very disrespectful! I don't want my kids to be this way to the community. So I am very pleased with the way they correct my children when needed and they ALWAYS include me when there is an issue. They do what it takes to help my children achieve their goals. This has been proven to me in their grades and in their behavior. This school and its teachers and staff are a blessing to my family and I and for this I thank you WCA leadership and staff. Keep up the AWESOME work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2012

We have 2 children in the elementary school, who were both enrolled in Kindergarten. We are extremely pleased with their educational experiences. My husband and I both have advanced graduate degrees and our standards are therefore high. While no school will be perfect, we have found the school (both the teachers and the administration) to be partners in making our children's educational experience a positive one. I am puzzled by the negative comments here. However, like most things in life, you get out of it what you put into it. If you are expecting a school and it's administration to do ALL of the work for your child AND for you, then you will be disappointed wherever you go. However, if you become involved and engaged in your child's education, you will be more than pleased with WCA. We are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

This is my daughters second year attending. We were thrilled when she was admitted, but have been disappointed ever since. They spend more time testing than teaching and do not challenge the kids at all. My daughter came in mid kindergarten and has begged me all through first grade to put her back in a school like she previously attended. They treat the children like robots and teach to the tests which is probably why the test scores are as high as they are. My daughter is in first grade and is still doing preschool math. The reading curriculum isn't much better. The only math and reading she has learned this year is from what we teach her at home. The one positive thing I have to say is they have an excellent science program. I will be sad to leave that behind, but we will be looking for a new school for her to attend next year. They say they have a no bullying policy, but I have witnessed bullying first hand while volunteering and nothing was done about it. The kids are very clicky and my daughter has felt like an outsider the entire time she has attended even though she has made friends. Also, they give tons of candy and treats to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2011

Outstanding school and leadership, always willing to listen, great interaction with the students and adults, recently toured another charter school in the area, Windsor Charter is well ahead of this school with the same academic program. I love being involved in the school and assisting with the education of my child, Transistion to Singapore Math was rough, more so with the represtentative from the program, however the school has been very open and accommodating with my concerns
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2011

Our family has been at WCA for 3 years now and are very happy there! We have had great teachers and no problems with the school at all. I love being as active in my children's education as I want. My children have done very well and we are proud to be a part of the WCA family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

The teachers at WCA are fabulous. I have served on several hiring committees. While charter schools might not need to hire only licensed teachers, WCA does. I have multiple children in this school, and there has never been one single day when I didn't feel like they were in good hands. These teachers are some of the mose dedicated, professional, caring people you will find anywhere. They are highly-qualified, participate in on-going professional development and bring world-class education to our children. They care deeply about the success and well-being of each child in their care. Even the smalles issues are dealt with quickly and compassionately. The childrens' safety, security and emotional health are taken seriously here. It is unfortunate that in the era of school choice, it frequently degenerates into a competition among parents who want "bragging rights" about their child's school. We have many fine schools in Windsor, each with its own unique "personality." WCA is a better fit for my children. This is not a condemnation of other schools, they are simply different. We are fortunate to have the ability to make that choice. For us that choice is WCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2011

Windsor residents are fortunate to have many excellent schools to choose from. In my opinion, WCA is among the best. Our 2nd-grader is excelling academically, she is engaged and enthused about her education, she has made close friends, and her teachers have been absolutely stellar. I can't imagine our family having a better experience. WCA's leadership (Principal, Administrators & Board) is world-class. The leaders foster a safe, secure, and respectful culture. As a direct result, WCA students learn to excel academically while also building essential character values (i.e. "respect for self, others, property, and learning"). We chose WCA because of the dedicated, intelligent, and caring people we met there. Each teacher and administrator we spoke with, starting with the Principal, was able to articulate a clear, consistent vision: provide students with the skills, support, & resources they need to realize a superior academic and character education. The Core Knowledge curriculum (and yes, Singapore Math too!) fully supports that vision and is extremely effective. The school truly lives up to its vision. We couldn't be happier with WCA and we would highly recommend it to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2011

WCA used to be a great school. Few years ago the original Principal went to WY to open a new Charter school. The new Principal who took her place together with the Board are trying to "reinvent the wheel".The quality of the teaching went down, they brought in the Singapore math, method which is suitable for Singapore where people speak so many languages.One thing that is always associated with Charter schools is that parents work a lot with their children, thus high scores.In any case Singapore math is a huge drawback, reason why we took our children to a Public school. Now we are very happy with the whole school situation. We also found that Public schools unlike Charter schools hire only Certified teachers. Do not get sucked into the Lottery thing. By the time the kids reach 5th-6th grade they do not want to stay there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2011

WCA has been a great school for our daughter who just started 2nd grade. Besides our own personal experience, I have two nephews and a niece who all attended WCA and they had very positive experiences as well. I have been fortunate to be able to help as a volunteer in many ways at the school, getting to see first-hand the teachers in action as well as the school board, the principals, other parents, etc. My daughter's teachers have been excellent in terms of creativity, classroom management, and I think a real love of teaching. I have also been pleased with the breadth of "specials" offered including Technology, Spanish, Library, Music, Art & PE. My 2nd grader loves WCA and told me the other day that she wishes the school went through 12th grade so that she wouldn't have to go to another school someday. I'm sure her feelings will change over time, but I think that speaks well for her current experience. We also enjoy the Science Matters program offered after school hours throughout the school year. Uniforms - LOVE them! If you are school shopping in the Windsor area, be sure to check out WCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2011

I am starting my fourth year at WCA. All around we are happy to be here. It has the high standards of a private school but in a public school. The leadership is outstanding and very open to any concerns or suggestions we have had. We love the volunteering opportunities as it keeps us as parents involved in our childrens education. A school cam only be great if the parents reinforce the teachings at home. So if you are not willing to be involved with your children's education then go somewhere else. If you are involved then this is the school for you. The best thng you can do is tour the school and see if it fits your family. It is fabulous for us as we are very involved and feel strongly with uniforms. The school is secure and locked and only those that have filled out a background check form can come in. All the teachers are open to help from parents and love teaching.One bad thing we are lower in funding than the rest of the district so little things like maintaining up to date technology and maintaining electronics is harder. Most kids here are a year ahead of their peers that are in "regular" public school. Check and see if it fits your family. We wouldn't be anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2011

Windsor Charter Academy is the best choice we could have made for our child. The staff is dedicated and competent and very open to parent involvement. If you want to be an active participant in your child's education, this is the school for you. The core knowledge curriculm and new adoption of a Singapore math program and after school science camps are all examples of the school's effort to adopt a challenging curriculum that will serve our students well and make them more than highschool ready by the time they finish the 8th grade. Uniforms and an excellent character education program round the school out to show kids how to be good citizens and help them learn skills they will need their entire life and keep them focused on what is important, their education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2011

Jeez, I guess if you don't cater to all the gifted children or maybe I should put that correctly, the parents of gifted children then you aren't a good school. And imagine that, people in our society with tattoos, what will these children ever do when they are out from under the shelter of their parent and they see somebody on the street with a tattoo. All I can say is WCA is an awesome school with the best and most involved teachers and staff I have ever seen at a school and I am proud to have my child going there. I also enjoy volunteering at the school and going on field trips with my child. There is only so much you can do with limited resources and if as a parent you don't like it then there are plenty of private schools and mega-churches you can take your gifted child to so they can get "special attention". And for the record I have three tattoos, so look out !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

Once they got a new principal, the school really went downhill. Teachers are still great, overall. Principal is inexperienced and does not lead well. Very poor choice considering the many experienced applicants they had for this position when it opened three years ago. Plusses: Great curriculum, teachers who care, uniforms, structured, fun activities that go along with the curriculum, after school programs are good considering how small a school it is. Minuses: Too much focus on CSAP, not enough "hands on" time and too much focus on homework for most teachers (though some balance this well) Unprofessional leadership is the biggest downfall of the school and unfortunately, this affects almost everything. I would highly recommend this school under the previous leadership, but I cannot in good conscience do so now. I truely hope this does not last and things start looking up for WCA. One last note: my kids really liked it until the last year they were there and a very minor incident turned into a huge fiasco. This incident lost all my trust for the principal in seeing the principal was looking out for the teachers and not the kids. Very sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2011

Sadness for a school that families were once loyal to and excited about. We have been at WCA for two years and are questioning whether or not to return. Leadership the last two years was severely lacking and I am afraid that next year will be worse. The idea that a charter school flourishes due, in part, to the participation of the parents has been seriously brought into questions. Personal agendas and weak leadership have lead to bitterness, gossip, and derision. The music program is practically non- existent at the elementary level. If music is important to you- this school will not provide an opportunity for your child. A great disappointment to us. I have liked most of our teachers and I feel that the teacher makes all the difference. We like the Core Knowledge curriculum- it has proven to be a far better fit for our kids. As a parent, I love the dress code- saves a lot of headaches in the mornings!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2011

Good teachers in general. Bad board and principal. They do not listen to the parent membership. Lots of talk about sex education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

This is our second year at Windsor Charter Academy (our daughter is in first grade) and, thus far, we have been extremely impressed. The teachers have been excellent, and she has learned quite a bit. Before we selected WCA, we did look at other schools in Windsor, as well as TR Paul in Fort Collins, and we were most impressed in WCA. We are confident that we made the right decision for our daughter. I appreciate that what parents feel is important in a school can vary greatly, but if you are looking for a good academic school with a great staff, check out WCA. If your child is a prodigy (apparently that is pretty common), you may be better off looking into Harvard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

WCA is incredible; from staff to parents to students, this truly is a beacon for what charter schools in Colorado can be! The teachers are top-caliber and represent diverse styles and backgrounds. The Core Knowledge curriculum is outstanding at helping students progressively build their knowledge and critical thinking skills. Most importantly, there is a really sense of energy and enthusiasm at this school... people want to be here and want to be involved. WCA is a gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

If your kid needs extra anything pick a larger school that offers more with open door policies and less parents in control. After 2 years, this is our last, our kids still feel like they re on the outside looking in. No amount of good behavior, effort, solid A, occasional B, grades open doors. The same kids from the same families get picked for the lead rolls in the school plays, the sports with tryouts, the accelerated gifted classes, honor society, student counsel... With limited funding/space what parent in the teacher/board member position would deny their kids or friends kids when picking for those prime extra curricular positions? Nepotism Cronyism Favoritism = deserving kids without a shoe in are left out of the few extras the school offers. Furthermore, this inequality from adults exacerbates the common stigmas/clicks among kids. Very sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

If you want your child to attend WCA, get them on the waiting list. You'll have an excellent chance of getting in, as large numbers of families are fleeing this once-superior school. The current board has turned it into a core-knowledge school in name only. In 2008 they hired a first-time principal with no experience in core-knowledge, nor in charter schools. Since then, the academic standards have plummeted. The CSAP scores remain high because for 3 months leading up to the testing, children bring home assignments labled "CSAP Prep" and "CSAP review" and spend countless hours in class practicing CSAP test taking. Our child had 31 parties and field trips that wasted unbelievable hours of class time. Others can scoff at the completely unprofessional appearance of many of the teachers, but, with the kids expected to meet the dress code, it displays shocking hypocrisy. Please, visit a class before enrolling here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

We were really excited about beginning this school. However, our excitement has declined. The teachers are teaching to the CSAP's. There is no excitement for learning or encouragement to advance. My children are bored and there is no gifted and talented programs. Teachers with tattoos, body piercings and a dirty appearance is unexceptable. My children have been bullied with no real solutions being brought to the table. This school has been knocked off course. It could come back but, will take a great deal of leadership and work.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students90%
Female89%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%

Reading

All Students94%
Female95%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch98%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%

Writing

All Students77%
Female78%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female81%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Reading

All Students78%
Female81%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English78%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%

Writing

All Students74%
Female78%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female70%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Reading

All Students88%
Female91%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Science

All Students64%
Female64%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%

Writing

All Students74%
Female79%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female68%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Reading

All Students81%
Female89%
Male75%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%

Writing

All Students70%
Female84%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female92%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities87%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Reading

All Students88%
Female100%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students88%
Female96%
Male80%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female69%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities76%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant76%

Reading

All Students97%
Female97%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant97%

Science

All Students82%
Female79%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Writing

All Students90%
Female90%
Malen/a
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 56%
Hispanic 10% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A41%
Male 41%N/A51%
Female 59%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • John Irwin Schools of Excellence (2010)
  • John Irwin Schools of Excellence (2009)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Tracy Stanford/Julie Claeys
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Garden
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Windsor Charter Academy is a K-8 Tuition Free Public School. As of the 2011/12 school year, WCA has moved to a new organizational structure where we now have a K-8 Principal, Mrs. Tracy Stanford and a 6-8 Principal, Mrs. Julie Claeys. With a growing student body, the board felt the importance of differentiating the two schools. The dual principalships are giving our administration more time in the classrooms, more time with their teachers and more dedicated time in addressing individual educaitonal needs of all students.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Windsor High School
Mountain View High School
Fossil Ridge High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

680 Academy Court
Windsor, CO 80550
Website: Click here
Phone: (970) 674-5020

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT