Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK, 7-8
Public district
Ansonia, CT
Students enrolled: 472
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ansonia Middle School 1

Posted April 29, 2015
- a parent
This school is terrible! These teachers cannot control their classroom at all. They constantly hand out detentions to my son who has A.D.D. for inability to focus, inattentiveness and disruptive behavior. All the issues that are listed on his 504 plan that were supposed to be taken into consideration when dealing with my son. I have asked for their cooperation several times with helping my son remember to write down his homework and other important info but to no avail. He is forgetful and that is also in his 504 and he still gets penalized!!! Im ready to rip my hair out! I cant stand this school. I would rather homeschool my son thn go through another year of this. It has been a nightmare! These teachers do not have it together!

Ansonia Middle School 3

Posted March 22, 2015
- a community member
Hope something is being done to motivate borderline students more. Discouraging scores. Often it takes just one intuitive and caring teacher to get a child back on track. This can make a tremendous difference in a students attitude and academic performance.
1 person found this helpful


Ansonia Middle School 5

Posted March 08, 2015
- a community member
Ansonia Middle School is making big improvements! The new administration along with enthusiastic parents has dynamic ideas to help improve instruction, increase parent engagement and improve student success. They had a great rally at the begining of the school year, dance, holliday program, and teachers invited parents, community and students in to different programs. They also have a fantastic play every year.
2 people found this helpful

Ansonia Middle School 5

Posted January 31, 2015
- a teacher
We are implementing new academic courses, working to improve instruction, preparing students to be college ready and exposing them to the college experience, we are developing more activities for parent, student and community engagement, ensuring that all students valued and achieve to their highest ability.
1 person found this helpful

Ansonia Middle School
no rating

Posted June 22, 2009
- a parent
I feel this school needs a lot of improvement. The teachers do not communicate with the parents from my experience.
1 person found this helpful


Ansonia Middle School 1

Posted May 20, 2009
- a parent
Entire Middle School should be re-evaluated. High turnover in teachers. Education is not on the cutting edge, very 'old school' way of thinking. Students are not motivated to excel. Very poor.

Ansonia Middle School 4

Posted March 03, 2009
- a parent
Ansonia Middle School is great, my son just start this year. The teacher are very polite. The School is very organize and clean. The principal is wonderful person. Those kids are very nice also. I just like that I move to Ansonia.

Ansonia Middle School 1

Posted February 04, 2008
- a community member
There is no music program. Children are unruly. When the bell rings for class to start, children are out in the hallways for 5-10 minutes afterwards. I'm an alumni and when I went back there I was very dissapointed because it has changed much since I've been there.
1 person found this helpful


Ansonia Middle School
no rating

Posted December 03, 2007
- a student
this school is great it just we need more dressdown days
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ansonia Middle School
115 Howard Ave, Ansonia, CT  06401
(203) 736-5070
Last modified Ansonia Middle School is a Public school that serves grades PK, 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ansonia Middle School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top