Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Talcott Mountain Academy Of Science Mathematics

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Avon

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $340,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,240.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2014

The Talcott Mountain Academy is unique in that it teaches to a students' ability, not grade or curriculum. The curriculum is challenging, however, so no one is bored. What I love most is also the extracurricular activities that are STEM-based: Math Olympiad, MathCounts, Science Fair, Invention Convention, and LEGO Robotics. This school was so STEM before it was a buzzword. The teachers are so dedicated, and the students feel welcomed. A real gem of a school, truly.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 12, 2013

Talcott Mtn Academy is an amazing school for children who think out of the box and want to explore education in a hands on atmosphere that pushes the limits of curious minds. Night and day from public school. My children love school here and have been exposed to amazing things. Couldn't be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2013

We are from Glastonbury and our son started attending the Academy last year. The difference in him is night and day. He now loves to learn again. The classes are small enough that everyone gets personal attention and the teachers are outstanding. I can't say enough wonderful things about the staff or the Academy. I thoroughly recommend it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2013

my son took a primetime class at the TMA for the first time and it was quite a disappointing experience, it seemed like the faculty members were not even interested in being there, on the second meeting there was a substitute who had no previous experience with young kids, the description of the course on the website promised things that were not actually in the class, (which left my son very disappointed) when I asked the teacher about, he looked at me with a puzzled look like he has no idea what Im talking about (and frankly didn't even give a hoot) truly a rip off, if you don't want to teach these classes then don't, maybe all the energy goes to the academy, but this was not professional at all, the teachers were quite rude and unfriendly s
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2012

Talcott Mountain Academy is a one of a kind learning experience for bright and gifted children K-8. the faculty are creative, motivated, and strive each and every day to bring out the very best in each student. I could not imagine a more positive learning environment for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2012

CT's premier independent school for gifted & talented students K-8, uniquely integrating liberal & fine arts into an unparalleled STEM based curriculum
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2012

Talcott Mountain Science Center and Academy s mission is to foster higher order learning and thinking by utilizing latest technologies, relevant curricula and advanced teaching practices that will best equip students for our rapidly changing world while cultivating responsible global citizens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2012

"We relocated from the UK to the US, placing our boys in a highly recommended independent school. They quickly found the US curriculum not challenging whatsoever: they had previously studied the maths, and science was nothing but busy work. The boys were completely bored.TMA was our answer. The founder is an absolute educational visionary. TMA teaches to a child's capability, not an outdated curriculum. Children are not only being challenged, but they are being taught RELEVANT material, current, alive, participative, inspirational. Additionally, the TMSC Saturday programs allow our sons to tinker even more as TMSC Robotics team members in both the First Lego League and the Trinity College Firefighter/Robo-waiter competitions. Our boys are thrilled. As a Mom, I m over the moon."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

Talcott Mountain Academy, located in Avon, CT mixes hands-on learning, new technologies, and unique student personalities into one breath-taking location. The classes are challenging, the students are welcoming, and the staff is dedicated. My child attended Talcott for two years, and in that short time, he made great friends, and felt accepted for being himself. It is a great feeling for a parent to have when he comes home smiling and talking non-stop about new ideas he learned. Many thanks for giving my child new confidence!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 61%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 4%
Black 6% 13%
Hispanic 4% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

324 Montevideo Road
Avon, CT 06001
Phone: (860) 677-0035

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Renbrook School
West Hartford, CT




Norfeldt School
West Hartford, CT


Latimer Lane School
Weatogue, CT


Aiken School
West Hartford, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT