Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Talcott Mountain Academy Of Science Mathematics 5

Posted June 11, 2014
- a teacher
The Talcott Mountain Academy is unique in that it teaches to a students' ability, not grade or curriculum. The curriculum is challenging, however, so no one is bored. What I love most is also the extracurricular activities that are STEM-based: Math Olympiad, MathCounts, Science Fair, Invention Convention, and LEGO Robotics. This school was so STEM before it was a buzzword. The teachers are so dedicated, and the students feel welcomed. A real gem of a school, truly.

Talcott Mountain Academy Of Science Mathematics 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
Talcott Mtn Academy is an amazing school for children who think out of the box and want to explore education in a hands on atmosphere that pushes the limits of curious minds. Night and day from public school. My children love school here and have been exposed to amazing things. Couldn't be happier.


Talcott Mountain Academy Of Science Mathematics 5

Posted June 12, 2013
- a parent
We are from Glastonbury and our son started attending the Academy last year. The difference in him is night and day. He now loves to learn again. The classes are small enough that everyone gets personal attention and the teachers are outstanding. I can't say enough wonderful things about the staff or the Academy. I thoroughly recommend it!

Talcott Mountain Academy Of Science Mathematics 1

Posted April 28, 2013
- a parent
my son took a primetime class at the TMA for the first time and it was quite a disappointing experience, it seemed like the faculty members were not even interested in being there, on the second meeting there was a substitute who had no previous experience with young kids, the description of the course on the website promised things that were not actually in the class, (which left my son very disappointed) when I asked the teacher about, he looked at me with a puzzled look like he has no idea what Im talking about (and frankly didn't even give a hoot) truly a rip off, if you don't want to teach these classes then don't, maybe all the energy goes to the academy, but this was not professional at all, the teachers were quite rude and unfriendly s

Talcott Mountain Academy Of Science Mathematics 5

Posted December 11, 2012
- a parent
Talcott Mountain Academy is a one of a kind learning experience for bright and gifted children K-8. the faculty are creative, motivated, and strive each and every day to bring out the very best in each student. I could not imagine a more positive learning environment for my daughter.


Talcott Mountain Academy Of Science Mathematics 5

Posted December 10, 2012
- a parent
CT's premier independent school for gifted & talented students K-8, uniquely integrating liberal & fine arts into an unparalleled STEM based curriculum

Talcott Mountain Academy Of Science Mathematics 5

Posted December 10, 2012
- a parent
Talcott Mountain Science Center and Academy s mission is to foster higher order learning and thinking by utilizing latest technologies, relevant curricula and advanced teaching practices that will best equip students for our rapidly changing world while cultivating responsible global citizens.

Talcott Mountain Academy Of Science Mathematics 5

Posted December 10, 2012
- a parent
"We relocated from the UK to the US, placing our boys in a highly recommended independent school. They quickly found the US curriculum not challenging whatsoever: they had previously studied the maths, and science was nothing but busy work. The boys were completely bored.TMA was our answer. The founder is an absolute educational visionary. TMA teaches to a child's capability, not an outdated curriculum. Children are not only being challenged, but they are being taught RELEVANT material, current, alive, participative, inspirational. Additionally, the TMSC Saturday programs allow our sons to tinker even more as TMSC Robotics team members in both the First Lego League and the Trinity College Firefighter/Robo-waiter competitions. Our boys are thrilled. As a Mom, I m over the moon."


Talcott Mountain Academy Of Science Mathematics 4

Posted September 09, 2008
- a parent
Talcott Mountain Academy, located in Avon, CT mixes hands-on learning, new technologies, and unique student personalities into one breath-taking location. The classes are challenging, the students are welcoming, and the staff is dedicated. My child attended Talcott for two years, and in that short time, he made great friends, and felt accepted for being himself. It is a great feeling for a parent to have when he comes home smiling and talking non-stop about new ideas he learned. Many thanks for giving my child new confidence!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Talcott Mountain Academy Of Science Mathematics
324 Montevideo Road, Avon, CT  06001
(860) 677-0035
Last modified Talcott Mountain Academy Of Science Mathematics is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Talcott Mountain Academy Of Science Mathematics Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top