Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Academy Of The Holy Family

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Baltic

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $168,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2012

AHF provides solid, college preparatory academics, within a nurturing environment. The sports and community service projects are wonderful! The kind, friendly warm spirit which IS the Academy resonates from AHF from the moment you enter its doors. Your daughter's spiritual life and academic life will be well-nourished. The Sisters, staff and teachers are kind,caring and intelligent . The Academy educates the "whole" person! Ronnie O, 2012
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2012

I highly recommend this school. Our daughter entered AHF after briefly attending public high school. Her nerves were quickly soothed, as were mine, we she was welcomed with open arms by the staff and students. She quickly became involved in clubs and sports. The school holds high standards for all students, placing academics at the forefront. The class sizes are small, ensuring individualized attention. Teachers were more than willingly to stay after school on their own time to help my daughter. The administration was fair and involved me in all decision making processes. My daughter developed strong friendships with the girls in all classes. She was exposed to diverse populations, which only improved my child's character. I cannot say enough good things about this school. It is without reservation that I endorse this school for high academic standards, fair practices, and diverse populations. ~Cynthia H., parent of 2011 graduate
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

We heartily recommend AHF. At the public school, our daughter became friends with girls who had a lot of problems, and these girls were a bad influence on her. We moved her to a co-ed Catholic high school which was better, but we felt she was still too distracted by dramas and wasn t working up to what we thought was her potential. We would not let her participate in extra-curriculars until her grades improved. We sent her to AHF which she didn't like at first, but slowly her grades did improve and she began to like it. She participated in sports and excelled, increasing her self-confidence. She made dear friends, and these friends were a good influence on her. She also received a fine religious education, which helped with her character development. Just graduated, she's showing greater maturity and becoming a fine young lady. We have the highest regard for the sisters at AHF who have dedicated their entire lives to the academic and spiritual development of these girls. Their efforts help the girls make the most of their God-given talents so that they can make both sound life choices and moral decisions, enabling them to bring Christ to others. Michael B., parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2010

I attend this school and it is the most amazing school. The nuns are so funny and sweet. Send your girl here/
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2009

This is an exceptional all-girl's catholic high school which taught me incredible lessons; not only lessons relating to academics, but also lessons on life. I'm so grateful to have become an alumni of such an outstanding catholic institution. Along with my parents' upbringing, the academy of the holy family is the reason I believed that providing a catholic education for my children from early on, would be the only resolve in helping them become the individuals god requires of them. Thank you for everything!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Academy of the Holy Family is in our district. They help young women develop into exceptional citizens of the world, with good values and commitment to Catholic ideals. They operate on limited budgets and could use all the help they can get. This school is worthy of any help they can get. Thank you.


Posted September 22, 2009

The Academy has an excellent and unique learning environment. It's student body bonds as a family in the wonderful small school environment provided. The administration and staff go out of their way to help the students be prepared for life after high school. It's a wonderful school to attend, coming from a graduate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

The Academy is a light on a Connecticut hilltop providing a wonderful solid international academic experience for young women of all backgrounds and cultures who live and study in a rare and rarified environment. Check it out!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 21, 2009

The girls are soooo nice and kind to each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

my daughter was a 'D' average student at her other school, now she is a 'B' average student and says she is gonna be in the national honor society!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

Was a great atmosphere that did not have the typical 'high school' bullying and stresses. Teachers were great, still use my business class knowledge, in my job today!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

AHF is a small school where each girl receives individualized attention. Nobody 'falls through the cracks'. One teacher in particular went out of her way to help my daughter pass one of her final exams last year and it was greatly appreciated. This would have never happened in another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

This small Catholic all girl school allows girls to spread their wings and fosters their entire being - body, mind & soul, so they can learn to be themselves... proudly.


Posted September 20, 2009

We were family - each class grew with one another- in friendship in caring for one another, but also, in education and in our faith.


Posted September 20, 2009

Excellent teachers, Achievement is high, we accept all Religions we become a family away from home, etc..


Posted September 19, 2009

I love the how the young girls come in as freshmen and leave four years later as young women.


Posted September 19, 2009

It's a cool school with great people. It is a very special place.


Posted September 19, 2009

Great friendship, support and growth opportunities!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Best all girls school. They take the time to know the girls
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Academy of the holy family gives our girls cares and warmth like a really home
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 61%
Hispanic 18% 20%
Black 15% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Norwich
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

54 W Main St Box 691
Baltic, CT 06330
Phone: (860) 822-9272

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT