Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
211 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Mary Elementary School 5

Posted January 27, 2015
- a parent
My child is in preschool and SMS and to say i am thrilled with the school is an understatement! She is learning so much, way more than my friends children in other preschools, but is also having fun! The older children in the 7th and 8th grades are so kind to the little ones, that my child proudly points out her "friends" in the upper grades grade whenever i am at the school. This school is truly a big and supportive family. My husband and i were intailly unsure where we would sent our child to pre-school, and i can say, with 100% certainty, that St Mary was the best possible choice. GO SAINTS!!!!

St. Mary Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2014
- a parent
SMS is a WONDERFUL school! From pre K to eighth grade, the teachers are magnificent, Sr. Anne is an incredible principal who knows each and every student by name, and test scores way above average. We originally only intended to keep our children at SMS for the younger grades, but now would not dream of taking them out! No school in the area compares to St. Mary's. It is everything a great school should be and not only lays a solid foundation for their future education, but also is a powerful way to reinforce what we teach our children at home-how to be respectful, kind, and hard working children while still having fun and making great friends! While the tuition at SMS is reasonable, the benefits are priceless! Hands down, the best investment that can be made for your child!


St. Mary Elementary School 5

Posted December 28, 2013
- a community member
I love Saint Mary School so much. It is my first year and it already feels like home. My classmates are amazing, my teachers, Sister Anne. I do not have one complaint about this school, it is life changing!

St. Mary Elementary School 5

Posted September 02, 2013
- a parent
I truly believe this is the BEST investment a parent can make for their children. My children are safe, receiving an excellent education, making wonderful friends and having fun! This is more than a school-it is family. My oldest child is excelling in high school (starting their soph. year), and my youngest was so excited to start school up again at SMS last week. Besides a top-notch education, the extra activities the school offers are wonderful. Would not trade the SMS experience for ANYTHING and I know, without a doubt, their time at SMS will benefit them throughout their lives. THANK YOU SMS form the bottom of my heart!

St. Mary Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2012
- a parent
A truly amazing school. We moved our children here last year from another local Catholic school which was not providing the education we had hoped for. Whilst a difficult decision at the time, we now see just how wise our move was. St Mary's has provided absolutely TOP NOTCH academics in a fun and nurturing and caring environment. Sr Anne is a superb Principal - she runs a very tight ship with a sense of humor and compassion. Her teaching faculty is experienced, involved and provides numerous in-class and extra-curricular enhancement. Our interaction with the administration and faculty has been absolutely faultless. Our children also have FUN! From weekly popcorn sales to the monthly bake sales, the pig races, Penny Wars, the class fun never ends! Add to that the basketball, dance team, cheerleading, track, robotics, math club, school musical, special projects, the school provides everything we need. The Catholic education is also top notch and the St Mary parish and community are a real family. There is a high level of family volunteering at the school and a distinct lack of politics (with which the previous school was plagued). Five Stars all round to St Marys.


St. Mary Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
I am the parent of three St. Mary School graduates and I can attest to the fact that they have all received a top notch education not only in academics, but in morals, ethics and religion. This school with Sister Anne McCarthy at the helm was awarded the US National Blue Ribbon School award and will serve the Bethel community well into the future. The school faculty and staff provide a wonderful learning environment and become an extended family. If you are looking for an alternative to public education, St. Mary School is an excellent choice.

St. Mary Elementary School 4

Posted October 20, 2009
- a parent
St. Mary is a wonderful school; I love the fact that my two boys are getting their religious education as well as their core education at he same time. St. Mary is also a BLUE RIBBON school - achieving that is a feat in itself. My boys are getting a good, solid education, building friendships and learning values that aren't taught in large, public facilities.

St. Mary Elementary School 5

Posted January 26, 2009
- a parent
St Mary's Bethel is truly wonderful. I have 3 children enrolled and all of them are incredibly happy there. The Academics are amazing and the school was awarded the National Blue Ribbon Honor because our students are top 10% in the country on standardized tests. The community of parents, teachers and students are really very special. I can't imagine not being a part of this wonderful school. It is worth every penny!


St. Mary Elementary School 5

Posted March 05, 2008
- a parent
There is truly nothing that I do not love about St. Mary School in Bethel. The academics are top notch (students consistently achieve in the top tier of Iowa Test Scores). St. Mary School is up for becoming a 'Blue Ribbon School' - this is a very competitive process and we are the only school left in the Diocese to possibly receive this honor. The principal is SUPERB, as are the teacher! My children have fun at school and are learning a great deal. The technology, arts (first ever full stage production took place last month with over 50 students participating) and athletics (i.e.; our JV Girls had an undefeated season and we are beginning a first-ever track and field team this spring). Parent involement is second to none - we enjoy and are committed to helping continue the excellence that is St. Mary School!

Nearby schools

St. Mary Elementary School
24 Dodgingtown Road, Bethel, CT  06801
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (203) 744-2922
Last modified St. Mary Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top