Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Anna H. Rockwell School

Public | K-3

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 24, 2014

what a disappointing year last year was. I am amazed at how horrendous this school is an have to wonder what is up with the parents who give it positive reviews. there is ZERO discipline and the school more resembles a zoo full of wild animals than a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2014

I am very disappointed with the education my children are receiving at Rockwell. In all honesty, there is not one thing I can say positive about this school. The teachers seem bored and uninterested, discipline is close to zero, and what my children tells me what goes on in the classroom is unreal. I do not recommend this school if you care at all about your child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2014

My experience this year at Rockwell has exceeded my expectations. My daughter is an "average" learner but the staff at Rockwell do not treat any child as "average". They work with them to discover their interests and use that to motivate the children. They truly care about the process of learning and they all care about all the student. I was able to speak with the new principal, Ms. Soucy and was immediately struck by her genuine love of learning, and her excitement to be a part of Rockwell. Knowing she is in charge adds to my love for Rockwell School! Thank you Rockwell staff...you all ROCK!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2014

My daughter goes to Rockwell school Kindergarten class and i am very happy and pleased with the teachers,principal and school staff.My daughter always talks about what they are learning from school and her teacher also gave me first grade sight word for extra sight word practice.ROCKWELL ROCK ON!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2014

This school has been nothing but a disappointment since my child started kindergarten. I researched school districts in the area and chose Bethel based on performance/word of mouth recommendations and was very excited for my child to begin his school career there. The entire experience has been not only a huge let down but very stressful for my family. I was pressured to medicate my 5 y/o after being in public school for less than 6 mos. They are unable/unwilling to accept an active child and demanded over the top interventions and even threatened to not allow him to attend. My 5 y/o would come home every day and talk about how his teacher hated him and thought he was bad/stupid. He was ostracized from his peers from the get go. I insisted he be moved into a different teacher's classroom, which the school was very refractory to but eventually agreed to after several months. Things improved afterwards, but the school takes no responsibility for the problem with the original teacher. The staff is very snotty and condescending and I have been blown away with the way they approach parents regarding just about anything. Avoid this school if at all possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2014

I NEVER "review" but troubled by recent postings, I felt compelled.We loved Mr. Kirmil and were apprehensive to the changing of the guard. But that's life. Ms.Soucy is new and I've no personal complaints of yet. A recent convo w/parents did note her "presence" being slow to evolve. And I agree we don't "feel" like we see her much. But hey, she's still settling in. I suspect that confidence will come and she'll grow beautifully into this position. The worksheets post is interesting, something I hadn't considered b4 but now has my attention. Curriculum change&transition? hmmm. we need to be vigilant that these tools not morph into time wasters. So far, OUR experience has been positive. My son has some emerging special needs and tho not always i2i, we've felt nothing but respect in our mutual goals for his overall education and well being. We did Circle for preK and at the time preferred to stay at Berry. But,now,I'm happy the luck of the draw brought us to Rockwell's doors. The negative posts may or may not have merit. I do hope they're read by staff and faculty with humble ears. It can only be constructive to keeping our dialogue open and our growth on track. Rock Well! Rock On!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2014

my child is struggling at Rockwell. she is a slightly above average student, but gets zero attention in class. I used to think Rockwell was an above average school, but it is going downhill fast. the academics are way behind public school in neighboring towns, even the Danbury public school are ahead of Rockwell in terms of the quality of education. the majority of my child's day is spent doing worksheets with very little active learning. I would suggest looking for an alternative if you are thinking about sending your child to Rockwell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

My son has flourished at Rockwell. He has had an amazing elementary school experience so far. I cannot believe the progress that he has made in the last 2 years. He also is really interested in the work and a great deal of that motivation can be directly attributed to the teachers. He always talks about what they are learning at school and holds his teachers in the highest regard. I agree with all of the other reviews that Mr. Kirmil is an amazing principal. My son really enjoys all of the after school events that they offer and Mr. Kirmil is always there. It is quite obvious how much he cares. I am excited for my younger 2 boys to go to Rockwell in the coming years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2012

Mr. Kirmil is a great Principal. Faculty and Staff are so friendly, helpful and nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2011

I have been a teacher for 18 years(not in Bethel), and I have never been so impressed by a school as I am by Rockwell. Mr. Kirmil is an amazing leader, and the faculty and staff are fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

Great school!....My 3rd grader will definitely miss Rockwell school next year...Great teachers and amazing principle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2010

We had a great 4 years at Rockwell. Brian Kirmil is a wonderful principal and his leadership echoes down through the ranks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2010

We have only been at this school for one year but I have been extremely happy with the teachers and principle. The curriculum seems very demanding based on other regions of the country we've lived, yet appropriate. I am happy to be sending another child to this school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

That staff at Rockwell School is fantastic!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

To my surprise when moving to Bethel, how great is the school system. Better than any place we have ever lived.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2006

I have to agree with the postings regarding the School and Mr Kirmil. We moved from the UK in May of 2005 and my children started at Rockwell in August of that year. I was concerned with how they would cope. They were in a village school with only 100 pupils total in England. I need not have worried, Rockwell School is a family. My kids have had wonderful teaching, nuturing and encouragement at this school. Mr Kirmil is always in the hallways, shaking students hands and always stops to say hello to any parents he may come across. In a word Rockwell school rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2006

I have to agree with the other reviews here. My daughter goes to Rockwell and I am completely impressed by how involved Brian Kirmil is with his faculty, the students and parents as well. He actually called me one day to tell me that my daughter had an exceptionally good day! I saw graffiti on the playground at the end of last year that said 'Mr. Kirmil is the Best Principal!' That in itself, is amazing. The set up of all the schools in one place is important. The older kids come down to help the younger kids when they get out for the day. Even within the structure of the same walls, the kids in the older grades help the younger grades. I've never seen such a great setup.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

I have a strict parochial school background. This school is as close as I could come to offering the same for my child! I don't know how Brian Kirmil, principal, does it! He is aware, informed, approachable, available, very involved with students and teachers alike. He is at every school function!! 'Should wear sneakers to school, he is always in the hall, in and out of every classroom, in the face of each and every student and teacher several times a day. The discipline holds this school in a special place since consistency and expectations are so important for children of all ages, but particularly of importance for children who are first developing their ideas of education and the world. Each classroom is like a family- the teachers all of the highest caliber and ability. This would be the perfect marriage between concerned, involved parents and passionate teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2004

To quote part of the school song, 'What do we think of Rockwell School? We think this place is really cool!' From Principal Brian Kirmil on down, the staff (teachers, nurse, etc.) is wonderful. Mr. Kirmil visits each classroom every week, talks and sings over the intercom every Friday. He also writes a little column in the school's weekly newsletter addressing pertinent topics such as how to read to kids, creating a good learning environment and concert-going etiquette. 'Rockwell School is #1 'cause learning is so much fun!'
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female95%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%

Reading

All Students95%
Female97%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%

Writing

All Students96%
Female97%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 61%
Hispanic 16% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Black 1% 13%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

400 Whittlesey Dr
Bethel, CT 06801
Phone: (203) 794-8688

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT