Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Woodhall School

Private | 9-12

 
 

Living in Bethlehem

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $219,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,063.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2013

As a student i can say truly that any student would regret going to this school. The system of accountability is a joke and the faculty and administration do not complete of fulfill their responsibilities and then attempt to blame the students and duck responsibility.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2013

Our son attended Woodhall for 3 years, beginning with repeating 10th grade. He had just been diagnosed with Asperger's. The first year, he was angry and withdrawn. Then he chose to return because he realized that the teachers were truly positive, proactive, and caring -- Just like Mr. Woodhall, EVERYONE cares about the young gentlemen of Woodhall. Our son ended up excelling, taking all 3 AP courses that were offered and getting a score of 5 on all 3 exams. The teaching is outstanding (equivalent to top prep schools, but much more personal). Our son just finished his freshman year at a top university, earning a GPA of 4.0. He will be applying to graduate school or medical school. Most importantly, he now likes himself! That is the greatest gift of all. Woodhall is not for everyone, but Mr. Woodhall will talk with prospective students and their parents to help determine whether this is right for you. They teach the core values of Communication and Accountability. It prepares both the students and their parents for the future with a sense of direction and confidence. We are deeply indebted to Woodhall for helping our son find himself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

If you are looking for a boarding school for your son, Woodhall is the place! We help turn teens who are struggling into successful gentlemen. We are a supportive, helpful, inspiring community who truly care about the students. We strive every day to give personal attention to all 42 of our students. We know each one by name, tailor their course selections to their needs, monitor their success daily and report weekly on their grades. But the best part about The Woodhall School is that our alums write to us and tell us of the huge difference the school has made in their lives. Many of today's successful men in the military and other highly skilled professions have graduated from Woodhall. Discover for yourself what the individualized approach that teaches compassion, integrity, and respect can do for your son and for your family.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 11, 2011

As a graduate of the Woodhall School, I can say that this school changed my life. I was afforded the opportunity to work at my own pace under close supervision which enabled me to graduate early! I have had a long and successful career and make it a point to keep in touch with the school. The structure and individualized approach to education is unmatched and the results speak for themselves. 100% of Woodhall's graduates are accepted to college at the time of graduation. Many students resist structure that requires you to be accountable for your actions (I was one of them) however, having spoken to dozens of former students I can assure you that the common theme is one of appreciation for what Woodhall has done for them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2010

My son is thriving at the school. It is structured, offers advanced classes, and promotes values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

Excellent school. Terrific faculty that really connect with the boys.


Posted July 10, 2008

As a grudging 'alum' from Woodhall I would not submit your child to this institution. The concept of the school is solid, however the actual follow through is cold, controlling, and undermining. The communication group, again a good concept, is administered by teachers and faculty that have NO therapeutic training, how ever treat it like they are counselors or psychiatrists. This can create a power struggle between the students and faculty, as teachers egos can flare up when children get put into tough spots.


Posted February 3, 2007

With a terrific faculty, most of whom live on the school campus, and with a clear mission to educate the whole boy-- academically, physically, emotionally-- and instilling the critical element of self-confidence, The Woodhall School takes boys and turns out fine, well-rounded, gentlemen. To a large degree, the growth in the boys is nurtured through unique, confidential, communications groups. Responsibility and good choices are encouraged by the school as a whole acting through its policy of treating all with respect and its committee on accountability. Class sizes of three and four are the norm. The boys are supportive of each other, and with the assistance of the committed faculty and staff, 40 or so boys from all over the USA and few other countries leave the school with a high degree of self-esteem and ready to meet life's challenges and to succeed as good citizens.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 61%
Hispanic 5% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Black 0% 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
  • TABS
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 550
Bethlehem, CT 06751
Phone: (203) 266-7788

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Taft School
Watertown, CT


The Gunnery
Washington, CT




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT