Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Metropolitan Learning Center

Public | 6-12 | 675 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 1, 2012

Fantastic place to send your kids to broaden their world view. We really like the style of learning, how classes are more like college classes, how kids know what is expected, the IB program, the teachers have a great commitment to the designing learning plans of the individual students. As my daughter is now looking to choosing which college to attend, I am seeing more attention in this school to those needs also. I wish more kids had access to attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2012

I think the teachers should be mandated to wear a uniform similar to what the students have to wear.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2010

Because it keeps children in line and teaches them good behaivor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

MLC has so many wonderful opportunities that meet every child's needs. It's an amazing place to work and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

MLC challenges students to discover the world and build relationships with students close and far.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 4, 2009

Anything is possible for everyone at the Metropolitan Learning Center!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

I've worked there for 5 years now and the entire school is my second family. MLC gives so many opportunites to those who would never have been able to get them on their own.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 3, 2009

It is a public school with private school rigor, opportunities and a top notch faculty.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 3, 2009

My students inspire me every day.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 3, 2009

Our school gives many students the opportunity to engage in an international and global education!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 11, 2009

There is a reason why this magnet school continues to receive top awards each year. The graduation rate and college acceptance rate speaks for itself. The rigorous schedule is what the top notch colleges are looking for. Going above and beyond the 'standards', you need 28 credits to graduate, not 22 like most high schools. Opportunity to travel, study abroad through grants & scholarships is unmatched by all other schools. Diversity is the future. Welcome to the real world kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

As a recent graduate of MLC, I am proud to say that I am glad I attended this school. There were many opportunities such as studying abroad, learning different languages, as well as meeting different people from around the world. Yes the dress code does upset a lot of students but when you think of how much less time you could spend in the morning getting ready then its good. Overall, when you tell other students from around the US about MLC, they all gasp because they weren't provided the same amenities as us. Students should appreciate what we have.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2008

My son was an A student in our public school and has continued to excel in MLC. He has broadened his horizons and has been exposed to 'the real world'. MLC is giving him the opportunity to experience the true social skills and work ethic that he will need to function in today's world
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2008

the academic statistics of mlc are very high we have won school of the year 4 times our test scores are the highest in the country we do have a great art class with an artist from france our gym teacher is a nutritionist and a professional weight trainer our gym is top noch we have a rock climbing wall and an stae of they art weight room , extracurricular activities include activities like, model un, outdoors club,cookin, basketball,languages taught durng school french ,chinese,spanish,italian, and state tests we take the more advanced test so we can be challenged, we also travel the world so far weve been to more than 20 countries right now i am in the seventh grade i would deffenetly reccomend this school if you know about the disney teachers award 2 teachers have won it at our school this is the highest teacher achievment possible she has won it with ron clark, before we come to school we have to read a book and write about. the science classes we have are great we have a lab with everything you can imagine and what makes science better is that we have a forest behind our school so we can do expirements we even have csi classes (crime scene investigator) you dont even have to live in bloomfeild to go to mlc bus transportation. mlc is also very diverse this is our school breakdown % Asian 19 % % Hispanic 13% % Black 40% % White 25% % Unknown 5 % newest to date as of 2008 we also get laptops to do research and projects at home that i am using right now
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2007

MLC is what your child chooses to make of it. I had two children go through MLC. One from the first graduating class and delt with all it's growing pains. My children are well prepared for college and the world in general. MLC offers a rigorous curriculum focusing on Global Studies and a strict dress code, which may turn off some students. It also offers a high tech learning environment. Students also have the opportunities to travel to such exotic places as China, Japan, Indonesia, Ecuador, and Egypt. There are several AP classes offered and online virtual high school. MLC students can also take free classes at a local college in the 11th and 12th grades. MlC does not offer sports, but allows High school student to play for their sending district. It does offer a number of extra curricular activities. I work at the school and have an inside veiw.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2006

I am a former student. The quality of the academic programs from an outsiders point of veiw look great but when you go there and you get the education you learn the same things you would learn in a normal highschool. Sports werent even there until my last year when you could go to your homeschool for it but even that was difficult cus you needed your own rides you would miss school time or practices.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 11, 2006

I am currently a freshman student at MLC and it is not a very great school. The environnment here is focused too much unneeded activities. My advice is not to let your child attend this school because of its lack of disabilities. Students get tired of seeing the same students every year and feel like they are in a jail. The school also asks for too much money and many highschool students get in trouble for small things. The dress code is really bad and the students are not allowed to wear clothing such as stripes. The environment is poor and the students are always unhappy. ~unknown student~
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2006

I go to this school and it has great academic programs butt there is a major lack of art, sports and extracurricular activities. Also parents can be just as involved as they want there choice a lot or a little which makes teens much happier. Over all I dislike the school for the lack of activities and the fact we must were uniforms but i learn a lot so i continue to go.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2006

This is a unique and special program. The school is only a few years old, but many opportunities for my child to travel, meet people from around the world, and learn not only the basic skills, but skills they will need in the future. The students learn to respect cultural diversity and appreciate differences. Guidance staff is extremely helpful and almost every teacher gets back to me when there is a issue with my child. College is stressed heavily, last year 98% of students were accepted in two or four year colleges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

Our children are students at MLC and the school does have some opportunities but it also lacks the ability successfully reach all the students. There is no additional help available to students or enough communication from the teachers with the parents. We have decided that our children will not be attending next year because I do not see that they are getting the education that they will need to be prepared for college. I also notified that the CMT test scores for the school has dropped in almost every subject.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 86% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female90%
Male78%
Black74%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%

Reading

All Students89%
Female90%
Male87%
Black81%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%

Writing

All Students90%
Female98%
Male82%
Black88%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female88%
Male84%
Black80%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%

Reading

All Students92%
Female95%
Male88%
Black88%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%

Writing

All Students91%
Female100%
Male81%
Black84%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female80%
Male92%
Black80%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%

Reading

All Students91%
Female89%
Male92%
Black87%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%

Science

All Students81%
Female79%
Male83%
Black69%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%

Writing

All Students96%
Female96%
Male95%
Black97%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 89% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female73%
Male80%
Black61%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%

Reading

All Students90%
Female89%
Male90%
Black83%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%

Science

All Students83%
Female82%
Male85%
Black76%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%

Writing

All Students97%
Female96%
Male97%
Black94%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 54% 13%
White 25% 61%
Hispanic 15% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1551 Blue Hills Ave
Bloomfield, CT 06002
Website: Click here
Phone: (860) 242-7834

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Oakbridge School
Bloomfield, CT






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT