Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-2
Public
Bloomfield, CT

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Laurel School 5

Posted January 20, 2014
- a parent
Bloomfield has gone through some major restructuring recently, and Laurel School has been completely re-done. I had my reservations about starting my son in Kindergarten, and about the Bloomfield school system in general. I am not overly concerned about test scores, because I don't think they are a true reflection of the school district. My son did not transition into pre-K well at all, and I was nervous about Kindergarten. But since he's been in Laurel he has blossomed. He loves his teacher, he loves his class, he loves to learn. His teacher is very responsive to emails and notes. The principal called me personally regarding an issue my son was having on the bus. I have no complaints, and I was definitely apprehensive about sending my son to school. I'm so happy that my fears have been put to rest.

Laurel School 1

Posted August 20, 2010
- a parent
My son went to Laurel School in First grade. It is a terrible school. There was poor leadership from the principal. The work was not challenging enough for my son. When I complained to the teacher, she had an atitude. All my complaints went on deaf ears. I pulled my son out when I had an apportunity and sent him the J P Vincent. At that school the teacher would not return home work. The entire Bloomfield School System is a problem. The CMT reflects that. Ican,t afford private school and I can,t get my son into a magnet schhool so he will have to go back to the terrilbe Bloomfied Schol System.


Laurel School 5

Posted January 21, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Laurel School 4

Posted August 14, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Laurel School 5

Posted April 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Laurel School 0
no rating

Posted November 25, 2008
- a parent
Thankfully, I pulled my child out of The Laurel School. The lack of supervision allowed him to be bullied on a weekly basis by other students. My complaints went unheard. To top it off, his national test scores were 15% overall, meaning that 85% of the students nationwide scored better than him. All this from a class size of only 7 students. You decide if it s worth the $20,000 a year tuition.

Laurel School 4

Posted March 16, 2006
- a parent
My daughter went to laurel for five years and my son is currently in first grade. I have also lived in Bloomfield for 40 years and have seen a lot of changes. I believe Laurel is a good school overall and is willing to give extra attention to kids on both ends of the spectrum. Although I think the curriculum could be a little more challenging for the students as a whole. My son is an exceptional learner and they do separate him along with some of the other kids for more in depth teaching.

Laurel School 5

Posted February 15, 2006
- a parent
This may not relate to the questions posed above as it may result to one imparticular person. It has been 3+ years since my son attended Laurel School. First impressions usually leave a lasting impression on parents and I am proud to say I was quite satisfied with Laurel. Imparticular Mrs. Richardson my son's 4th grade teacher. If ever I was involved in his education it began at that time. She called the night before with a reminder. Offered rides to children/parents who were limited with travel arrangements, and was just genuine. For her efforts I saw that all of the above criteria's were met. Ryan Patterson, who thinks that was the best teacher her ever had, and myself would like to thank her personally. That year was the best year ever for both him and myself. We appreciated you Mrs. Richardson.


Laurel School 5

Posted May 13, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Laurel School
One Filley St, Bloomfield, CT  06002
(860) 286-2675
Last modified Laurel School is a Public school that serves grades K-2
Laurel School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top