Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Black Rock School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
Black Rock School, while being one of the highest performing schools in Bridgeport, is still a failing school. The reason the school outperforms the other schools in our troubled district is due to the exceptional leadership of our principal, Karen Helyer, and the extremely dedicated staff of teachers. My youngest son is entering 8th grade this year, and while the improvements made in the district over the past 18 months have been encouraging, we still need tons of help just to get the students there to read at grade level. Many of our students come from households where parents and/or caregivers don't speak English, so it is challenging to engage them to participate in their children's learning process. A combination of all of these factors is the only reason why I give the school less than 5 stars,

Black Rock School 4

Posted May 31, 2011
- a parent
Black Rock School is a wonderful, true neighborhood school. It is a close knit community with a diverse population. There is a resurgence of excitement and commitment for the school. The teachers are caring and rigorous and our son is getting a wonderful education - both acedemically and socially.


Black Rock School 5

Posted May 30, 2011
- a parent
Black Rock School is an excellent school. Its a school that prides itself on positive reinforcement. All children are recognized for their good behavior. Its a neighborhood school. Everyone knows everyone and everyone feels welcome. Parents are involved, teachers care and its just a well rounded place to be!

Black Rock School 5

Posted May 30, 2011
- a parent
Black Rock School not only is in a wonderful neighborhood but is supported by a wonderful neighborhood. If our child had not been assigned to a magnet school, we would have been more than happy to have her attend this amazing neighborhood school. We have had many interactions with parents, teachers and administrators who truly care about the quality of education/achievement this school is can to offer.

Black Rock School 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Caring neighborhood, good teachers. Close knit community


Black Rock School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a community member
With over 20 countries of origin represented, our school is a diverse group of students and teachers, dedicated to tolerance, peace, and academic excellence. We are a top performing school in the city and have parent and volunteer involvement in all grades. We also boast a Peace Pals program: 6 of our Peace Pal students won prizes for their peace poems last year in Fairfield University's 1st Annual Peace Poetry contest. Nature walks, tending the peace garden, field trips to nearby historical attractions, knitting afghans for the local shelter, helping students in other classes, Black Rock Elementary School is an anchor, refuge, and model for tolerance and academic achievement.

Black Rock School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
Black Rock School is one of the best performing community schools in CT with a diverse population, enthusiastic dedicated teachers, and actively involved parents. It provides a dynamic community hub that helps to 'stitch our community together by providing a place where many different cultures can interact in a safe, nurturing environment dedicated to educational excellence, tolerance, and promoting peace among all people.

Black Rock School 5

Posted September 02, 2008
- a parent
Black Rock Elementary is an excellent school. The teachers strive to give the students quality education. It has good environment with small classes.


Black Rock School 5

Posted August 26, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Black Rock School 4

Posted August 21, 2008
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. Test scores do not reflect the quality of education provided. Score reflects a high quantity new non-English speaking immigrants, expected to take these tests in English. It also reflects a high special education population who are expected to take these tests, despite limitations. This school strives to teach all students of all needs. Atmosphere is one of mutual respect, high expectations, and creativity. Students at Black Rock School thrive and strive to excel to the best of their abilities, and to reach beyond.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Black Rock School
545 Brewster St, Bridgeport, CT  06605
(203) 576-7500
Last modified Black Rock School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Black Rock School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top