Advertisement
Advertisement

Kolbe Cathedral High School

Private | 9-12 | 308 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bridgeport

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $99,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,320.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

This school angers me to no end sometimes. A teacher has called his whole class pathetic for not getting answers right, while another teacher has used foul language towards a student and has not been punished to my knowledge. A student can earn a detention by not wearing a belt too. Also, this school 's summer reading tests are horribly made. The exam expects you to remember the smallest detail, and if you fail you will have to pay an astonishing amount of money to retake it in the summer. And if you fail, you will be held back for something so unimportant. Lastly, the school can get radical at times. One teacher has wasted entire class periods debating on how homosexual people are wrong and the school itself has encouraged students to travel to another state to protest something that does not effect them just for the sake of religion. One teacher has even insulted other religions and atheists. The only positive things I can comment about are the principal and vice principal, a majority of the staff some of the subjects. You can also retake CERTAIN tests too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 23, 2013

This school gives special treatment to certain students. This school is a joke would not advise anybody to send their child here
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2010

I graduated from Kolbe in 1988. Since then I have completed a Bachelors, Masters and am currently working on an advanced degree. In addition I have one daughter who graduated from Kolbe in 2009 who is pursuing higher education. I have another daughter going into Kolbe beginning fall 2010. Kolbe has provided the tools needed to succeed for generations. 'Work Hard and Be Nice!'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2008

I just transferred from another catholic high school that is supposed to be so high and mighty and it was not that school was out of control and lacks self discipline and control....Kolbe Cathedral is the school to go to it is strict and it is true what they say it is the place you can go and learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2007

I'm a graduate of KCHS, and since my graduation in 2001, I have obtained a BA in mathematics from Emmanuel College in Boston, MA and currently work in the field of finance in downtown Boston. While attending Kolbe, I played varsity basketball for four years; was a team captain; won a state championship; was named team MVP in 2001; and was voted one of the top 15 players in the SWC. Kolbe is a great school for a student to become disciplined, gain a greater understanding of the Catholic religion, and build substantial relationships with teachers.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 1, 2005

I went to this school for about a quarter. It wasn't that impressive. It doesn't have alot of after school programs, nor does it offer exciting courses. Its just the same old stuff all the time. It was a good school if you look at the test scores and such but it was quite boring. The uniforms were cute, though. I now go to a public school in a different state and i am much more happier here than at that school. The lockers were very cramped and teachers called your house for every little thing that you did. It was annoying.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 2, 2004

My daughter is curretnly a freshman at Kolbe. I must admit I was somewhat skeptical at first because we are not Catholic. I soon discovered that their goal is for the students to have a love and appreciation for God, not to force a certain demonination. I love the academinc structure of 4 classes, this allows the students to focus and retain more of the material. The staff is always professional and the teachers are exceptional! I am proud that my daughter is a student at Kolbe Cathedral HIgh School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Kolbe Cathedral is a wonderful school. It enriches kids both educationally and spiritually. The teachers are great and the disciplinary actions taken are the right ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 50% 15%
Hispanic 32% 18%
White 9% 62%
Two or more races 7% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Bridgeport
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

33 Calhoun Pl
Bridgeport, CT 06604
Phone: (203) 335-2554

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Bassick High School
Bridgeport, CT


Park City Academy
Bridgeport, CT


The Bridge Academy
Bridgeport, CT


Central High School
Bridgeport, CT



New Start Program
Bridgeport, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT