Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Achievement First Bridgeport Academy 5

Posted July 22, 2013
- a parent
AFBA is an excellent school. The staff and teachers wants your child to succeed, in order for this to work the scholars and parents really have to cooperated or the system will fail on them. If a child is having problems with a subject there is Saturday academy to tutor the scholar. AFBA teach at high school and community college level, so this school might not be for every parent and child, but if you are committed to their program it can be rewarding. They have tutoring to prep the top scholars to get in to CTY which is a search for talented youth. Once your child is in 8th grade, they help the scholars to get in to some of the top high schools, the top ranking students get prep to take the SSAT so they can get into a private high school.

Achievement First Bridgeport Academy 1

Posted January 21, 2013
- a parent
is this school a good school?... i mean is this school like always having fights in there and bullies and the students are just horrible?.. or is it the opposite?


Achievement First Bridgeport Academy 5

Posted August 31, 2012
- a parent
AFBA middle and elementary schools are great. My middle school child has been here for the past 3 years and love it at first she had to adjust but, now she's doing very well here reading level is awesome. My youngest scholar just started kindergarten and is learning so much she reading well and it's only been 3 weeks. I love this school the principals and teachers show they really care .Thank You

Achievement First Bridgeport Academy 5

Posted June 05, 2012
- a parent
I can't say enough about this school, and the quality of education my son is recieving. The principal and teachers are amazing. It is a callenge for the parents too because they do expect a lot from the kids, but once they fall into line, they get it and enjoy the rewards! It is a wonderful school. I see my nieces who are in the same grade in Fairfield schools, and I think my child is learning more and is in a better enviroment then they are. When you walk into the school you feel that the teachers really want to be there. It is an amazing enviroment. My son is doing great and his reading level is up. I love this school!

Achievement First Bridgeport Academy 3

Posted January 27, 2011
- a student
Achievement First Bridgeport Academy is a type of school that can teach you alot but once your child reaches the 6th grade in that school they start to not care much about their rades they have a lot of bad influences in that school....


Achievement First Bridgeport Academy 5

Posted April 14, 2010
- a student
At Achievement First Bridgeport Academy, scholars, such as I, are prepared to climb the mountain to college. Starting with the 2010 - 2011 school year, AFBA will be educating students grades 5-8. Bridgeport Academy is an excellent school. The teachers and staff are energetic, encouraging, and eager to teach. They all sincerely care about the scholars, and want them to learn. Being a 7th grade 'junior,' I am able to truly say that the scholars at our school are very close. Yes, there are a few arguments every once in while, but that can be expected from any team and family, which is what we, everyone at AFBA, consider ourselves to be. If your child has the honorable opportunity to be enrolled into this school, you should absolutely accept without a single hesitation, for I guarantee that Achievement First Bridgeport Academy will work wonders with your child.

Achievement First Bridgeport Academy
no rating

Posted February 11, 2010
- a parent
This school is the best. My son was having a lot of problems in the last three years. Since he started Achievement First my son is no longer have behavioral or academic problems. The faculty is the best, my son is now an all Star student.

Achievement First Bridgeport Academy 5

Posted January 27, 2010
- a parent
my son is a fifth grader,i have to say the teachers and all other staff are doing a great job, they show they care about the students. teachers teaches and make sure the kids understand.my son said the teachers are always there for them.thank you achievement first---bridgeport

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Achievement First Bridgeport Academy
365 East Washington Ave, Bridgeport, CT  06608
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (203) 338-0593
Last modified Achievement First Bridgeport Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-1, 5-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top