Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Paul Catholic High School

Private | 9-12 | 375 students

 

Living in Bristol

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $162,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 1, 2012

Things have drastically changed at St. Paul since the new principal, Cary Dupont took over in 2009. The school has improved in every area. Students are respectful and ready for college. My son arrived there the year before Mr. Dupont took over, so we saw the changes first hand. The drama program has exploded and continues to win award after award. All of the sports teams are competitive in the NVL division. My experience is that the kids really have a chance to grow and reach their potential. Teachers are very caring and dedicated. Don't overlook this gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2009

I currently attend school at St. Paul. I personally recommend the school to anyone
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2009

I currently attend St. Paul and it is great. since they hired Mr.Dupont as the new president he has changed the school wholly. . My sophomore year was a complete change. the school felt cleaner, the non-disciplinary attitude was completely changed. enrollment went up and the sports fields changed dramatically. New dugouts on the softball and baseball fields, new football goalposts, the gym was updated.New scoreboards were installed.The dirt on the fields changed green grass. a new school spirit attitude went through then school. and it continues to get better. a press box is now being installed for the baseball and football fields, many rooms are being updated in the school(such as computer labs) and the parents are now getting very involved.Mr.Dupont has inspired parents and alumni to get involved in helping him reach his goal. make st. paul the best high school in the state.in my opinion it already is!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2009

I am a graduate, my dghtr is a graduate, and my younger dgthr will be graduating next year. My son is looking forward to attending this school. The administration has changed and has even made it better. The school does an excellent job at handling disciplinary actions. The school is safe!. The drama program is second to none now that Mr. Mazzerella has taken over this program. The spring show as nominated for 7 High School awards and won 2 of them. They competed against high schools all over CT. Have recommended this school numerous times over the years and will continue to do so.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

St. Paul is a very good school. My child attends the 8th grade there - this is the last year of their eigth grade program. But I have found the teachers there to really care about the students. Those students that have issues with a subject get special attention. The very small class sizes give much more personalized attention to the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 24, 2006

This is probably the worst high school I'd ever taught in in my life. Students were disrespectful and parents were enabling and dismissive of even the most constructive criticisms of their children's academic skills. I was terminated for evaluating students' performances honestly and accurately. However, this did not affect my teaching career and I've gone on to work in much better schools. Don't put your children in this school unless things have changed wholly for the better since 2001.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 30, 2005

My student is currently attending St. Paul and she loves it. It is true what the school says, St Paul Catholic High School truly is not just a school, but a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2005

I was shocked to read the first review of St. Paul on this site be so negative. I was a student at St. Paul for four years, and graduated not only with honors, but having a terrifically well-rounded high school experience. The principal at the time was fabulous, most of the teachers were great, and the parent involvement (while it was usually all the same parents) was refreshing. I came to St. Paul without any religious background growing up and learned so much about religious tolerance. I still don't know which is right, but because of St. Paul I know that I'll find it some day. Trust me...this high school is definitely the way to go!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 6, 2005

My past experience being a former student at the school was completely negative. Like all Catholic institutions, the faculty/staff would proclaim to be all accepting, however, the school shunned so many, and the administration was lackluster in its ability to discipline problem students.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 61%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 4%
Hispanic 6% 20%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Black 3% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school local parochial
local public
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 20% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 75% (2012)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 2% (2012)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 3% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Private
State colleges
Community colleges
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Bristol Youth Commission (2009)
  • American Red Cross (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: French, Latin, Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
Clubs
  • Cooking club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:15 pm
School Leader's name
  • Cary M. Dupont
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (860) 583-4965

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • University of Hartford
  • St. Joseph's College
  • Tunxis Community College
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: French, Latin, Spanish
  • Math club
  • National Honor Society
  • Prayer Group
  • Student Ambassadors
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • TAFA
  • Technology club
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
150
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
175
Students typically come from these schools
local parochial
local public

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$9000 - $10000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Private
State colleges
Community colleges
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 20%
4 year college - 75%
Vocational - 2%
Workforce - 3%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1001 Stafford Ave
Bristol, CT 06010
Website: Click here
Phone: (860) 584-0911

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Plainville High School
Plainville, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT