Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Greene-Hills School

Public | PK-5 | 354 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2013

Greene Hills is a great school, I went there, my kids go there, and I have always been happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

i love greene hills school my kids do too. I love PTA comitte
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

My son attends this school and has been K-2. He will be going into 2nd grade this year. I am so happy with this school; the teachers, principal are parents are all wonderful. I am so sad to see Mrs. Jehnings go. She was a wonderful teacher and my son loved her very much! However, every teacher in this school are wonderful as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Greene Hills is a great school. The teacher are excellent and the principal is doing a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2006

I have 2 children currently attending Green-Hills School. I could go on and on about how wonderful I think the school is. My daughters are in third and fifth grade and this the 4th year they are there ,not only an=m I pleased by the education but all the extras to. The principal as well as the entire staff are very helpful, it doen't matter who your child's teacher is any teacher will help you,it is like one big family, all the teachers , adminatrative staff, nurse,ect. seem to know all the children and their families, another great thing about Green-Hills is the family involvment , I can't believe how many family members attend funtions as well as all the teachers, The amount of fathers amazes me .I have never had a feeling that my children are not important and not getting the education they deserve. I love Greene-Hills School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2005

I have two children courently enrolled at this school one with special needs. I feel I could not ask for a better place they learn alot. The staff from teachers to staff and my sons 'friend' as he calls Mr. Gaudet are caring and real saportive. Parent envolvement is first priority besides education and we have an awesume PTA with alot of activities and alot envolvement in the class even if it is reading a boom or a mentor. Keep up the good work and look forward to many years here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2005

I was a student at greene-hills. I had many problems, and ended up in the hall alot, but in 5th grade, my teacher impacted my life so much, positively, Miss Griffin. I only wonder if shes still there. She infact was amazing, and taught me, that learning can be fun. I can't, unfourtinatly, say that for anyone else really.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 15, 2004

I currently have a 2nd grade child at Greene-Hills and I am extremely pleased with the staff at this school. I am very comfortable approaching any staff member and always feel welcome. The PTA provides many programs for the students and is open to new people becoming involved. I do not find it to be 'clicky' and enjoy volunteering to help out whenever needed. Greene-Hills also has an enrichment program after school in the fall and winter that my child enjoys. Attendance is free and the children enjoy the classes offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2003

I have generally been happy with the quality of care my son had recieved at the schools he has been to. I am not at all impressed with the way the teachers treat the children in this school. Some of the teachers hand out detentions to my 1st grader like they are going out of style. He is not a bad kid. Just needs a bit of extra attention and unfortunately I do not believe this is a school that helps children as far as teachers go. The principal and a few other staff members seem caring but it is a far cry from what I would call a good school.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2012.

50 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
53%

2009

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2012.

49 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
45%

2009

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 63% in 2012.

50 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
59%

2009

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2012.

43 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

43 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2012.

43 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
81%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
53%

2009

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 68% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female75%
Male46%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%

Reading

All Students51%
Female71%
Male32%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White57%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities61%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English53%

Writing

All Students46%
Female71%
Male23%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities54%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English48%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Femalen/a
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English61%

Reading

All Students56%
Femalen/a
Male55%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English56%

Writing

All Students70%
Femalen/a
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female75%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%

Reading

All Students63%
Female59%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English64%

Science

All Students62%
Female59%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%

Writing

All Students65%
Female63%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 62%
Hispanic 25% 19%
Two or more races 6% 1%
Asian 5% 4%
Black 3% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

718 Pine St
Bristol, CT 06010
Phone: (860) 584-7822

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Matthew School
Bristol, CT



Louis Toffolon School
Plainville, CT




Stafford School
Bristol, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT