Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Joseph Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 195 students

Technology, Reading and Writing Workshop, Gospel Values, and Basketball Teams

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Brookfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $322,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,470.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2012

St. J has succeeded over the decades because of dedicated teachers and parents in providing an education based on academics and faith. This was my families draw to the school, but once in the school many red flags popped up. Never have our children been allowed to borrow movies from the library instead of a book! This was standard procedure from this school, a major disappointment. Another is the lack of leadership . After Christmas break parents driving their children to school were notified of a new drop off system by way of a sign and lots of confusion! The lack of communication and organization is hurting this school. Decisions that need to be made prior to first day are still being worked out late in the second half of the year. My child was placed in an excellerated math group but I was never notified by the teacher? This would never happen in a well organized school. Furthermore,the lack of basic fundamental management skills are not here- someone to answer the phone regularly? No. Weekly updates from the principal are irregular. My biggest issue is the lack of discipline with the children- our public school had better rules and implemented them. What rules of conduct?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2012

We are new to the school this year with one child in the PreK and one in 1st grade. My children previously attended a reputable private school with a "strong" PreK program. I can honestly say that St. Joseph's academic programs are much stronger than that of the expensive private school. I am amazed at the academic foundations in basic language and math skills starting in preK. I am astounded by the level of reading progress my first grader has made in just a few months. I was disappointed that he did not leave the kindergarten program at his old school with more reading skills. However, since the start of school until mid-year, he has risen to the level of his classmates and has begun reading chapter books! St. Joseph emphasizes the basics and foundations that students need to excel in their later years. And the faculty and staff are warm, approachable and flexible. I feel so fortunate that my children are receiving such a quality education at the same time they are learning to be caring and considerate of others. Compared to other non-public schools in the area, the tuition is extremely competitive, and when you consider the tremendous attributes of the school, a bargain!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2012

I find it sad to read some of the reviews. It seems in most of them it talks about the great teachers, the friendly family enviroment, the outstanding faith based education, the fun sports and after school activities. They ALL seem like such great qualities. And I am very proud to send my children there. However bashing parent involvement and the office staff seems quite un-necessary when talking about our childrens education and faith. Are we loosing sight of the fact that it's the children and the outstanding faith based education that matter?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2012

If I had to choose between St. Joe's and public school, I would choose St. Joe's because socially and academically it expects more of the children and families. That being said, it seems as though the school is struggling and I do worry that it might not be the best Catholic school in the area. Our facilities are in disrepair and many of our programs, beyond the classroom, do not seem to be as developed as in other schools. Additionally, parents do seem to be talking about preferential treatment and attitude issues in regard to particular parents who are taking away from the family atmosphere of the school. I guess we are going to have to give all of this some thought when it comes to next year's registration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I asked my child to give me just 1 word to describe St. Joe's, and it was 'Friendly'. I agree. The teachers are caring, dedicated and challenging, the parents are there for each other to pull it all together, not to mention the superior education they get through 8th grade. The students are completely prepared for any high school they go to with the great study habits that are formed here. The faith-based education builds inner strength and respect for themselves as well as others. The great basketball, track, and after-school programs build strong friendships too. We are proud to be part of this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

SJS takes putting Faith into our children to a whole new level- The family environment, the excelling academics, and the dedicated staff make it the best school for us!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

Grand kids love it and look forward to going every day


Posted April 29, 2010

St Joseph School has a friendly and caring atmosphere. Students and parents are well acquainted with each other. Students and thier respective families are not just people, they have become a part of my family. I am greatful to have St Joseph School as a part of our life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

What we love about St. Joseph's is that is teaches kids about respect and other Christian values but without the rigid environment many people associate with Catholic schools. Almost all teachers are lay people who have their own kids in the school so the atmosphere is relaxed but respectful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

The staff, the parents and the great feeling of pride!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

As a parent of 3 children, two of which have gone through the school system, I have nothing but good things to say about St.Joe's. My children have learned to become better people through our faith, and have been well prepared academically, for their high school years. The teachers there are dedicated, and they truly care about each and every child. I believe they want to see them all succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Because of the caring, respectful school environment, the great caring teachers and the after school programs available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

This is a wonderful school and has a very warm, and friendly environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

This school has truly awesome teachers and programs. My child loves it and honestly looks forward to skipping out the door every school morning. That it is a Christ based education is important as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Because of the First friday mass and the caltholic teachings to all the grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

The school provides a perfect blend of excellent acedemics and faith formation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

It is a great academic and loving school. All the kids get a great education, with caring and loving support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

St Joseph's principal Mrs. Forte makes new families feel welcomed. The faculty is friendly and encourage the students to do their best. Jesus is the Foundation , Prayer and Academic excellence is the highest priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

It says alot for a school when your kids love going! We've been with St. Joes now for 5 yrs and each year gets better. Very nurturing teachers, respectful, caring children and parents that are hands on to encourage the schools growth. And don't let me forget those JV Girls Basketball Champs of 2009/10!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

extracurricular are outstanding! I am so happy . I wold recommend Saint Joseph for anyone who is looking for a school that is strong in Faith, Love and academics!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 61%
Two or more races 10% 2%
Hispanic 5% 20%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 13%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Dance club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:25 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 8:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Scott Bannon
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • No
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Hybrid
  • Multi-aged
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Engineering
  • Global
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Bridgeport
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Dance club
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • HSA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.
 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Immaculate High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5 Obtuse Hill Rd
Brookfield, CT 06804
Website: Click here
Phone: (203) 775-2774

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Christian Life Academy
Brookfield, CT




Faith Prep School
New Milford, CT


Faith Academy
New Milford, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT