Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dr. Helen Baldwin Middle School

Public | 5-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2010

This school treated me very rudely ,i tried many times to ask for extra help and they would not help ...after tring out for the talent show my teacher came up to me and said that i would not make it in because i 'stink' at singing ...mind you i was in 6th grade
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

Excellent teachers and support for the students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2009

I really like this school. The staff there is excellent. The year goes by quick when you go there. Gym is a little hard... but is still good. They treat us students strictly but that is how we should learn. In a lot of the subjects and main subjects, we get to play fun learning games. Mr. Simkowski in the fifth grade made two games, war, and the hackysack game. Both use a hackysack and you have to answer science based questions. Overall, I think this is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 10, 2009

My son is in the sixth grade and has always been an overachiever in academics before we moved here last year. The staff is very stuck up especially in the office. I have gone to every parent teacher conference they held and it never changed. The first one I thoought they were on top of things they mentioned every negative aspect of my child from not bringing gym clothes to missing science projects. As any parent I asked to be kept aware of any missing assignments ,clothes, or simple lack of participation and they seemed more than happy to cooperate. IAbout a week later communication stopped completely and we thoughrt our son was just having adjustment issues the first quarter and that he was good.grades were still low same comments listed but when asked they were to busy to call everytime .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

I frankly am a little surprised with the reviews I ve read on Dr. Helen Baldwin Middle School. I noticed only 4 from parents. Judging from the content and presentation of the rest I believe these are probably from current students. I have had a very good experience with this school. My daughter transferred to DHBMS at the beginning of her 5th grade year. She had come from another school system in Connecticut that was on the verge of sending her on the path to failure and subsequently hating school. She struggled with her academics and the social issues that were allowed to go unsupervised. When she entered 5th grade at DHBMS she began to bloom. Children and staff were friendly, helpful and fully accepting of the new kid . Her grades improved and after the first parent - teacher conference and a discussion about her past academic struggles and a medical condition, the principal and the educational team began the ball rolling. Within a few months she had had all the testing and tools put into place that she needed to help her become successful. To make this short she made honors by the end of that school year. She is no longer stressed and anxious about school, has a ton of friends and has set goals for herself that I know she will obtain without the struggle that was almost destined to happen. She almost doubled her prior year s CMT scores! I have noticed that a lot of residents of Canterbury have long family history in the town. They are not able to compare what they have here to other schools. It may be worth it to speak with people in other districts and make some comparisons. I also have observed during the budget process that people find raising the budget and thus taxes , too much of a strain on their finances. While I don t disagree, unfortunately good education isn t cheap. You do the best you can with the money you have. In sum I have found the children at DHBMS cheerful, friendly and intelligent. I am proud that my child is now part of that community. This is a reflection, at least in part, of what the staff at DHBMS has accomplished. So CUDOS to all! Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2008

My child attended middle school here and had an absolutely horrible experience. He's now at Woodstock Academy, doing well and having no issues whatsoever with the administration. I cannot agree more emphatically with the negative comments other parents have left regarding the school principal. I was so sorry to see the superintendant leave because she was the administrator who clearly cared about the kids. I'm not convinced anyone else at this school really does. Like the parent who reports considering private schooling in order to remove her student from DHBMS, I entertained the same thoughts when my son attended there. I regret not having followed my instincts. It would have saved him numerous unpleasant experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2007

My child is doing well in this school. She likes her teachers. She is involved with arts. The teachers are helpful and appear to care about how she is doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2007

Baldwin is a mess. The administration is a joke and the teachers are just condecending to parents. I can not believe that some of them are still working with the kids. Information on your child is never forthcoming you have to find out by accident most of the time. The town issues flow over to the school and vital programs such as forreign language are cut while others like Home Ec stay. Is my child going to be ready for High School in 2 years with this kind of system?? I think not. Catholic school is looking better and better by the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Dr. Helen Baldwin MS could be better. The teaching is good; leadership ok. It could be better though with a supportive town and selectmen. The teachers/principal are not very parent friendly. This would be very helpful if they would encourage parent participation. I have tried to help, even subbed for the school. Teachers are very cliquey and the principal, who is well intentioned, is a little too possessive. It's OUR school not hers. This town is going thru much turmoil which will hopefully change but it will take a long time for that to happen due to the animosity and adversarial conditions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2005

I used to go to baldwin. I thought it was very fun even though I almost failed most of the time. I do recommend the school though. the sports were great when I was there I don't know how they are now. we won baseball and basketball championships my eigth grade year. The teachers aren't as good as they could be and I suspect that some of them are not qualified to teach the subjects they are teaching. the middle school is better than the elementary school though. if you're a parent reading this, don't let the guidence department touch your child. they put my little brother in the spec. ed. department for no reasons. I was class of '03 by the way. I gotta holla out to kyle, costa, taylor, charlie, ben, corie, brian, brent, brendan, justin, reed, and anyone else I missed.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 30, 2005

The building itself is dilapidated and almost hazardous. The teachers, strapped to CMT curriculums and woefully underfunded budgets, try their best but do not have the resources to do their best. The electives offered are few and inept, the music department a mere skeleton of what it once was and the computer labs, last I knew, equipped with late 90's IMacs. The PE Department struggles to keep a weight training program. The school also has very limited curbside appeal, and the septic tank is being replace over and over during classes.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 26, 2005

I'd rather spend the hole day in the music room. or the art room. Mr pires is the best teacher (not specils teacher) i've had. but Miss Santos ROCKS! shes the best music teacher in the world! I think this schools is ok,but the fact Miss Santos is there it Rocks.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 15, 2004

the teachers dont no how to teach, and are completly dumbfounded. The school is also falling apart and no one really seems to care. Anyone who attends this school will have no fucture whatsoever.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 12, 2004

The school is very dirty and nasty and the teachers are inconsiderate and think they control everything.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 26, 2004

Baldwin middle school is very unclean and the teachers are direspectful to the children.The only fun and respectful teacher is Mr.Ron Pires
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 86% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female97%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%

Reading

All Students88%
Female87%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%

Science

All Students90%
Female87%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%

Writing

All Students97%
Female100%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female85%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%

Reading

All Students90%
Female88%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%

Writing

All Students87%
Female92%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students100%
Femalen/a
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%

Reading

All Students94%
Femalen/a
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%

Writing

All Students98%
Femalen/a
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female100%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%

Reading

All Students95%
Female97%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%

Science

All Students94%
Female94%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%

Writing

All Students98%
Female100%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 61%
Hispanic 6% 20%
Black 1% 13%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

45 Westminster Rd
Canterbury, CT 06331
Phone: (860) 546-9421

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT