Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cheshire High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 1, 2013

Great Guidance Department, cares about students, even the average student. My son was not a great student, but they helped us find a decent college for him where he is now doing well, studying something he really loves. Did not like the old principal at all, glad he is gone. Hopefully new one can change math department, which doesn't really teach. My son says he finally gets math, now that it is being explained to him in college by teachers who "really teach."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

I think my child has a thoughtful curriculum and there are a number of non-athletic interests supported.


Posted August 16, 2011

I also agree that the math department at this school is sadly lacking. They actually behave as if they are a big joke. One math teacher my child had made discouraging remarks to his students on a regular basis. This was by way of testing their sense of humor. Math SAT scores show the details, however most people in town can afford a tutor so that becomes the alternative of choice, no one puts pressure on the system itself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2011

School Sucks! If you dont have money forget about having many friends most students look down on the ones that arent rich. Teachers really dont care. All in all no ta great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

This school is a total joke. The administration fails to recognize the schools widespread drug and alcohol problem. It's block scheduling is so backwards beyond belief, its a wonder more kids don't leave. The AP courses offered are child's play compared to other states. The school has failed to take care of its mold and asbestos problem, which often made me so sick I couldn't attend classes. The School's "Yellow House" program is just a social club for druggies and skaters alike. I know their are a few great kids, and even fewer fantastic teachers, but this backwards school has a defected Administration that turns its head to new students from out of state, and fails to maintain the school building itself. The students barely have respect for themselves, or the teachers around them. Its library is plagued with archaic microfilm readers, of which no one is allowed to use. The only "challenges" that anyone would have would be keeping up with how disorganized the school itself is. The few Gems of teachers are unable to really help stand out against the grayness of the rest of the teaching staff. Sad excuse for a school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 26, 2011

Our experience with Cheshire HS has been wonderful. All three of my children have been challenged academically in Cheshire, and have benefitted from the wide variety of courses offered. They have enjoyed their extra curricular involvement, especially the championship level marching band. My oldest child was in special ed, and the care and services that CHS provided was exceptional. The kids in Cheshire are a friendly and generally happy bunch, and the schools are safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2009

Our daughters attended CHS and went on to terrific colleges where they did very well due to the preparation received at CHS. I must agree that the math department could use help--our older daughter had to have pier tutoring to get through Algebra 2 (which raised her grade from a D to an A because the teacher was not able to explain the subject). The English Department is fabulous!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2009

Overall, good school. AP program is great for kids who want to excel, but the math department is awful. It is a running joke at CHS that there are very few good math teachers here. The marching band is still one of the best and athletics are strong. I've been a student here for three years, and I don't have very many complaints overall.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2008

This is the best school it provides and excells in education not to mention the extreme sports program. Definitly a 5 star school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2007

I am currently a student at CHS. The school is great. It's well funded, has friendly teachers that have a passion for what they do, and the vast majority of students care about how well they succeed. The rules, I have to say, are very strict and the punishments are harsh. The school may be too competitive because an B+ honor roll student has a disappointing class rank. There are plenty of extracurricular activities and sports. Plus the Marching Band is nationally recognized. All and all, CHS is a good school and I would highly recommend it. GO RAMS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 8, 2004

My son is graduating from Cheshire High this year. He had a wonderful experience. Sports programs have been excellent. Classes offered and the caliber of these classes beyond reproach.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

380 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 89% in 2013.

381 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female97%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian American100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%

Reading

All Students94%
Female98%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian American94%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities65%
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%

Science

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian American100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities72%
Students without disabilities99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%

Writing

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian American97%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities76%
Students without disabilities99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 61%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 4%
Hispanic 3% 20%
Black 2% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 7%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

525 South Main St
Cheshire, CT 06410
Phone: (203) 250-2511

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Humiston School
Cheshire, CT






A.R.T.S. Academy
Wallingford, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT