Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cheshire High School 3

Posted February 01, 2013
- a parent
Great Guidance Department, cares about students, even the average student. My son was not a great student, but they helped us find a decent college for him where he is now doing well, studying something he really loves. Did not like the old principal at all, glad he is gone. Hopefully new one can change math department, which doesn't really teach. My son says he finally gets math, now that it is being explained to him in college by teachers who "really teach."

Cheshire High School 5

Posted January 31, 2013
- a community member
I think my child has a thoughtful curriculum and there are a number of non-athletic interests supported.


Cheshire High School 3

Posted August 16, 2011
- a parent
I also agree that the math department at this school is sadly lacking. They actually behave as if they are a big joke. One math teacher my child had made discouraging remarks to his students on a regular basis. This was by way of testing their sense of humor. Math SAT scores show the details, however most people in town can afford a tutor so that becomes the alternative of choice, no one puts pressure on the system itself.

Cheshire High School 1

Posted April 12, 2011
- a parent
School Sucks! If you dont have money forget about having many friends most students look down on the ones that arent rich. Teachers really dont care. All in all no ta great school

Cheshire High School 1

Posted March 16, 2011
- a student
This school is a total joke. The administration fails to recognize the schools widespread drug and alcohol problem. It's block scheduling is so backwards beyond belief, its a wonder more kids don't leave. The AP courses offered are child's play compared to other states. The school has failed to take care of its mold and asbestos problem, which often made me so sick I couldn't attend classes. The School's "Yellow House" program is just a social club for druggies and skaters alike. I know their are a few great kids, and even fewer fantastic teachers, but this backwards school has a defected Administration that turns its head to new students from out of state, and fails to maintain the school building itself. The students barely have respect for themselves, or the teachers around them. Its library is plagued with archaic microfilm readers, of which no one is allowed to use. The only "challenges" that anyone would have would be keeping up with how disorganized the school itself is. The few Gems of teachers are unable to really help stand out against the grayness of the rest of the teaching staff. Sad excuse for a school.


Cheshire High School 5

Posted February 26, 2011
- a parent
Our experience with Cheshire HS has been wonderful. All three of my children have been challenged academically in Cheshire, and have benefitted from the wide variety of courses offered. They have enjoyed their extra curricular involvement, especially the championship level marching band. My oldest child was in special ed, and the care and services that CHS provided was exceptional. The kids in Cheshire are a friendly and generally happy bunch, and the schools are safe.

Cheshire High School 5

Posted September 13, 2009
- a parent
Our daughters attended CHS and went on to terrific colleges where they did very well due to the preparation received at CHS. I must agree that the math department could use help--our older daughter had to have pier tutoring to get through Algebra 2 (which raised her grade from a D to an A because the teacher was not able to explain the subject). The English Department is fabulous!

Cheshire High School 1

Posted August 12, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Cheshire High School 4

Posted May 31, 2009
- a student
Overall, good school. AP program is great for kids who want to excel, but the math department is awful. It is a running joke at CHS that there are very few good math teachers here. The marching band is still one of the best and athletics are strong. I've been a student here for three years, and I don't have very many complaints overall.

Cheshire High School 5

Posted October 18, 2008
- a parent
This is the best school it provides and excells in education not to mention the extreme sports program. Definitly a 5 star school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cheshire High School
525 South Main St, Cheshire, CT  06410
(203) 250-2511
Last modified Cheshire High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cheshire High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top