Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bacon Academy

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 30, 2010

the quality of the teachers and staff at bacon academy is evident in the quality of the graduates they produce. students are cared for, challenged and motivated. i wish i could have gone to school there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

When I saw a GS rating of 6 for Bacon, I was shocked! As an alumni, I cherished Bacon while I attended and thought there was no better group of faculty at any other school. Activities and sports were plentiful, enthusiasm and encouragement were pinnacle, and everyone was treated fairly. The friendly atmosphere and caring teachers made Bacon a place you wanted to return to for years after graduation. In college, I was unable to find many other students who felt so passionate about their high schools. Based on test scores, it may deserve a 6 out of 10, but this school offers an environment and a learning experience that is not translated into their standardized test scores. Had I not gone to Bacon, I would not have been influenced, encouraged and shaped in any way close to resembling how I turned out. 10 out of 10.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2008

I am Bacon Academy alumni and thought it was a great school. I am currently an architect living in Boston, and it really all started because of drafting class at Bacon Academy with Mr. Petersen.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 22, 2008

Absolutely committed, talented teachers. Caring, hands-on, realistic, decisive school administrators. We have found excellent responsiveness from teachers and administrators to our concerns and/or desire for one-to-one communications. Only weak point is that the few times I've left messages for the guidance department, I've had to chase them down, as the counselors don't return calls (or the guidance secretaries don't leave messages)...not sure where the weak point is there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

The faculty is great - The principal and vice principal are a remarkable team - this school really cares about each of the students attending.


Posted October 22, 2007

this school brings back so many wonderful storys when my kids get home. they have lots of activitys for the kids throughtout the year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

Bacon was an amazing school for my child and all of her friends. The staff was in touch with the children as individuals. The academics were rigorous and relevant. I feel that if a parent has an issue with this school it is most likely misplaced. Those people would be better served looking first at the quality of there children as academics and second at themselves for being the kind of individual who blames an institution for their childs failing performance. Bacon offer a wealth of enrichment opportunities. Unfortunately it is as it is with adults, some take advantage of opporunities other lament their passing and look to blame others. Don't mistake me for a BA groupie, the school is not perfect. However, it is at least much better than average and always trying to improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2007

This school terribly failed my child. We ended up finding an alternative school. Computer classes were a joke. Teachers were non-caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 89% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female91%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%

Reading

All Students90%
Female94%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities48%
Students without disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%

Science

All Students89%
Female93%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities64%
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%

Writing

All Students90%
Female97%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities44%
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 61%
Hispanic 5% 20%
Black 4% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

611 Norwich Ave
Colchester, CT 06415
Phone: (860) 537-2378

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Rham High School
Hebron, CT



Partial Day Program
Columbia, CT




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT