Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Colchester, CT

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bacon Academy 5

Posted June 30, 2010
- a parent
the quality of the teachers and staff at bacon academy is evident in the quality of the graduates they produce. students are cared for, challenged and motivated. i wish i could have gone to school there.

Bacon Academy 1

Posted April 20, 2010
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.


Bacon Academy 5

Posted May 05, 2009
- a student
When I saw a GS rating of 6 for Bacon, I was shocked! As an alumni, I cherished Bacon while I attended and thought there was no better group of faculty at any other school. Activities and sports were plentiful, enthusiasm and encouragement were pinnacle, and everyone was treated fairly. The friendly atmosphere and caring teachers made Bacon a place you wanted to return to for years after graduation. In college, I was unable to find many other students who felt so passionate about their high schools. Based on test scores, it may deserve a 6 out of 10, but this school offers an environment and a learning experience that is not translated into their standardized test scores. Had I not gone to Bacon, I would not have been influenced, encouraged and shaped in any way close to resembling how I turned out. 10 out of 10.

Bacon Academy 5

Posted September 30, 2008
- a student
I am Bacon Academy alumni and thought it was a great school. I am currently an architect living in Boston, and it really all started because of drafting class at Bacon Academy with Mr. Petersen.

Bacon Academy 4

Posted September 22, 2008
- a parent
Absolutely committed, talented teachers. Caring, hands-on, realistic, decisive school administrators. We have found excellent responsiveness from teachers and administrators to our concerns and/or desire for one-to-one communications. Only weak point is that the few times I've left messages for the guidance department, I've had to chase them down, as the counselors don't return calls (or the guidance secretaries don't leave messages)...not sure where the weak point is there.


Bacon Academy 0
no rating

Posted August 28, 2008
- a community member
The faculty is great - The principal and vice principal are a remarkable team - this school really cares about each of the students attending.

Bacon Academy 5

Posted October 22, 2007
- a parent
this school brings back so many wonderful storys when my kids get home. they have lots of activitys for the kids throughtout the year.

Bacon Academy 5

Posted October 11, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Bacon Academy 4

Posted October 10, 2007
- a parent
Bacon was an amazing school for my child and all of her friends. The staff was in touch with the children as individuals. The academics were rigorous and relevant. I feel that if a parent has an issue with this school it is most likely misplaced. Those people would be better served looking first at the quality of there children as academics and second at themselves for being the kind of individual who blames an institution for their childs failing performance. Bacon offer a wealth of enrichment opportunities. Unfortunately it is as it is with adults, some take advantage of opporunities other lament their passing and look to blame others. Don't mistake me for a BA groupie, the school is not perfect. However, it is at least much better than average and always trying to improve.

Bacon Academy 1

Posted August 08, 2007
- a parent
This school terribly failed my child. We ended up finding an alternative school. Computer classes were a joke. Teachers were non-caring.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bacon Academy
611 Norwich Ave, Colchester, CT  06415
(860) 537-2378
Last modified Bacon Academy is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bacon Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top