Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cos Cob School

Public | PK-5 | 418 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 12, 2013

Love Cos Cob Elemntary. I have had 3 children go through Cos Cob (one still there in 4th grade). All 3 went through the gifted ALP program, one had a 504 plan. Overall, it's an impressive school with a wonderful hometown community feeling - something from a bygone era. I loved raising my kids in this i environment. The teachers are warm and caring and enthusiastic about their jobs and the kids. Over the years we did run into a teacher or two that was not a great fit with one of our kids, but I honestly cannot say any teacher was bad. I did have some concerns with the ALP program - overall it's great and I awas thrilled that it offered a very challenging course for my kids. I would, however, have liked to see more organization in its administration. Often assignments were very confusing and expectations were for the kids to figure things out, as if they were far older and more mature than they really were. Still, I thought they got so much out of the program I would still do it again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2013

This school was terrible for both my children. The children that did the best were the one's who's mothers were constantly at the school. Unfortunately, not all moms can make that happen. There were two teachers that really were the exception, but the rest seemed to be killing time 'til their pension (unless a parent was there to supervise their own child's interests). For the grades that take the CMT's (Connecticut Mastery Tests) the students spent the ENTIRE month beforehand studying only for these tests and not being taught anything new. It's not surprising that the scores are high here given that so many school hours are devoted to only prepping for these exams. These exams test for certain markers and are not, in my opinion, indicative of a well rounded education. Both my children left this school not being able to identify a noun or verb and being unable to read or write in script. My older child finished 5th grade here, but I pulled my younger child out after 4th grade. After my youngest left the school, I had three parents approach me about how badly they felt he was treated by multiple teachers. I was shocked and wish one of them had said something earlier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

We moved here from Old Greenwich and were shocked how much more academic and intellectually stimulating this school was! Especially in the arts and music. My only compalint would be that they wait till 2nd grade to start spanish, but that's all of Greenwich.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 20, 2012

In my opinion this is the best school in Greenwich. Teachers and Administrators are compassionate and up to date in style. Chidren are encouraged to 'care for self and others', there are multiple Advanced 'TAG' student opportunities and there seems a greater sense of community than in it's neighbor schools. I was just at a symposium at Harvard and wound up meeting three different colleagues, who'd attended Cos Cob School! (that was when we decided to avoid private and enroll with CCS).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2010

Our child just completed kindergarten here and we were thrilled with the school. We found it a nurturing, challenging environment both in the classroom and the larger school community. We saw considerable development in our child on multiple levels, particularly writing and reading. Character development at this school is also exceptional, down to the mantra they all say each morning (it ends with "Together we fly.") We feel we are fairly discriminating when it comes to education (and my job takes me into schools across the country) and we feel this school exceeds our vigorous standards. Send your child here with confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

I totally disagree with this parent. There is a gifted program in every elementary school in the district. Plus at Cos Cob they group reading and math into levels. At the lower grades its done with the class and at the upper grades they group by having the kids go to the teacher teaching at their level. Its very well organized. In addition, they spend time on a computer program in math and reading and can go ahead at their own pace. This helps teachers identify children who are excelling. This was the case with my children. They are both quiet and could possibly have gotten overlooked, but their performance on the computer programs which are fabulous boosted them ahead to advanced groups.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2009

An o-k school only, the only choice in Cos Cob so if you live there and can't afford private you have to send your kids to this school. I don't think it's a great place for kids who are academically ahead, they have a slow pace of learning and clever kids are not always indetified by the teachers becasue of the large class sizes. Slower children do better here, they seem to have the whole class on a slow leaning curve to make sure everyone gets it which I don't agree with. Overall I aren't really that impressed with it and think that there are much better schools within the area than this one. Look further afield.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2007

Programs are good. There should be enough time between classes for the little kids to drink water, to go to the bathroom or simply to wash hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2006

Very fun teachers and great atmosphere. Great enviorment for kids to grow up in and recently added new playground for the 2005-2006 school year.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
66%

2009

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 63% in 2012.

73 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2012.

62 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

62 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2012.

62 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 68% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
82%

2009

 
 
95%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female74%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%

Reading

All Students69%
Female69%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White66%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English68%

Writing

All Students71%
Female82%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female85%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%

Reading

All Students74%
Female89%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%

Writing

All Students73%
Female85%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female74%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%

Reading

All Students79%
Female79%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%

Science

All Students86%
Female82%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%

Writing

All Students79%
Female85%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 62%
Asian 13% 4%
Hispanic 13% 19%
Black 3% 13%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 9%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 East Putnam Ave
Cos Cob, CT 06807
Phone: (203) 869-4670

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Riverside School
Riverside, CT



Julian Curtiss School
Greenwich, CT



North Mianus School
Riverside, CT


Brunswick School
Greenwich, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT