Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Capt. Nathan Hale School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 23, 2014

School is unavailable to help struggling students, instead labels them as trouble students. My child struggled in Language Arts, teacher refuses to help, has ripped up his papers in front of the class, sent him out into the hallways to cry by himself. I had to get pupil services involve. Teacher still works there and refuses to answer phone calls or emails, yet still grades him even though I requested my son be removed from her class. No accountability for teachers is spot on as I read in a previous post
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

Mediocre, the bar set pretty low, no accountability for teachers that I can see. Admin "yes-es a parent to death" when room for improvement is agreed upon, then nothing changes. Intra-school communication almost nonexistent. Hopefully new admin and guidance will change things. Not impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

Coventry schools are wonderful. It's the reason we moved to this town in the first place. My daughter has been in the system since first grade and is now in 6th grade. Every teacher she has had is a true professional. The principles have all been hands on. We feel she is getting a great education and mixing with a healthy group of kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2013

My daughter has loved Coventry Public Schls since 1st Grade. She works hard & has many interesting projects. Plenty of after school activities are available too. I haven't heard of any drug use in the middle school whatsoever, or bullying either for that matter. If a student has good structure & values taught at home, then this carries over to the school environment. Many families have 2 working parents so balancing proper nutrition, sleep, discipline & appreciation for achievements is tough. I do wish there was more parental involvement but understand why this is so difficult. Employers are expecting more than ever from their employees. This being said, teachers at all 3 schools she has attended thus far have bn outstanding. If one is unhappy with the education his/her child is receiving, then rather than blame the faculty or school, it might be more productive to voice your opinion to the school board or principal & become more involved with the school itself. I find it amazing how much is accomplished by the teachers with limited funding. While there are school districts with much more money, Coventry's is rich in spirit, just as our namesake Capt. Nathan Hale was.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2011

My child has had a smooth transition from 5th grade at G.H. Robertson to 6th grade at the middle school. I have been happy with the teachers and the leadership here. When we attended conferences, I felt like the teachers really knew my child (the good and the bad!) :) I have been surprised that there isn't more homework, but I'm not upset about that. He likes school and that is what matters most to me. I have not heard much about drug use there, but would recommend that anyone with concerns talk with the principal, who is very responsive! As a teacher myself, I believe that every school in CT is having to teach to the CMT's rather than teach what is important. That is frustrating! Greta job, Middle School staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2011

This is a terriable school. Lots of bullying and drug use among students, yes, 6th 7th and 8th graders. There is too much time spent on memorizing standardized test concepts and the children are not properly being taught how to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

It has some really great teachers.


Posted September 16, 2009

they do a great job of teaching our young people


Posted October 15, 2008

I have been very pleased with Captain Nathan Hale Middle School. After attending the open house in September, I thought the staff was very thorough with their explainations of the curriculum. The teachers have been very open and easy to communicate with through emails. At first, I was unsure about the program at the middle school due to previous comments, however, there is much to offer at the middle school. It depends upon the child and whether he/she takes the role to become an involved individual within the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2004

Academic standards for most teachers are too LOW. Students are not adequately prepared for high school (not that one needs much prep. to succeed in Coventry H.S.). The administration is unapproachable, and would rather stand by certain irresponsible, bullying teachers than address the problems. What this school, and all Coventry schools have going for them is an active and concerned group of parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2004

The middle school is under funded and offers little to challenge students to do more than the minimum necessary to go on to the next grade. Big focus on taking mastery tests, discipline, and social/emotion development of preteens. Not enough focus on challenging students academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2003

I think this school district is wonderful for students that have no issues with school. I have three children in this school district all at different academic skills. What I have noticed is my children that struggle and have difficulty in some area's seem to get left behind. No one really pays much attention to them as long as they are not disruptive which they are not. The children that have no problems with school whatsoever that excel in everything that they do seem to get all the attention. Which is wonderful that they are recognized for their abilities. But, what about the kids that need that little something extra in some areas. Seems to me there is not much offered to them. Personal experience is that not only do these children fail academically but they are passed to the next grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 86% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female92%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%

Reading

All Students96%
Female95%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%

Writing

All Students93%
Female97%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female100%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%

Reading

All Students91%
Female98%
Male86%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%

Writing

All Students86%
Female96%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%

Reading

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%

Science

All Students91%
Female88%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%

Writing

All Students98%
Female98%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 61%
Hispanic 5% 20%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 4%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1776 Main St
Coventry, CT 06238
Phone: (860) 742-7334

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hall Memorial School
West Willington, CT



Windham Middle School
Willimantic, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT