Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Wooster School

Private | PK-12 | 371 students

Wooster School is best know for it's value-based education.
 
 

 
 

Living in Danbury

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $225,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,410.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 29, 2013

Wooster's an awesome place. I graduated in 2011, but my younger siblings still go there. The social environment is very relaxed and judgment-free (people at Wooster love weird people). Academically, students are able to pursue whatever their primary interest may be or take a range of varied, interesting classes. The teachers are warm, friendly people who deeply care about the students on a personal level as well as on an academic level. In my experience, the teacher's don't LET you have a hard time. They make sure that you get all of the individual attention you need to grasp the sometimes-quite-advanced material. I went into college VERY prepared academically and socially. Overall, Wooster's a very caring, warm community with great teachers and a lot of individual attention. I'd recommend it to anyone. One last thing: The comments below about the increasing presence of Christianity on campus is the opposite of the truth, although they were posted in 2006. The campus is filled with people with very liberal tendencies and most students DO NOT participate in any sort of religious activity. The on-campus Reverend is VERY progressive and accepting in his views. No indoctrination.


Posted November 5, 2013

We moved our kids here from one of the supposedly 'excellent' public schools near by three years ago and couldn't be happier. Their development, both academically and emotionally, has been wonderful to watch. We didn't originally think of sending our children to a private school, but the results in them have made the sacrifices worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

Perfect selection for our two children, we wanted a school with good values and a nice group of kids, this was the perfect choice for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

Wooster has been everything we hoped and expected it to be. Small class sizes, wonderful student teacher relationships and no place to hide. Our child join the school mid year in 8th grade and has gone from strength to strength. She loves the school and has transformed from an average to outstanding student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Wooster truly promotes 'community' at their school. They instill a love for learning and teach the kids to care for each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

Our child has been a student here for 3 years. Although our town is noted for its excellent public schools, our child did not receive much attention there - she is neither a super gifted student or athlete or a child in need of help. She has blossomed at Wooster - academically and has been encouraged to particpate in musical and athletic endeavors. She has gained so much confidence. A wonderful nurturing school with great academics and other offerings. To be sure, it is a financial sacrifice but - we feel - well worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

Before you accept all that is said about this school dig a little deeper. We were not happy with our experience at Wooster.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2007

My son is in his third year at Wooster School. The teachers' enthusiasm and excellence is unmatched in the public schools. New administration -- division heads this year and headmaster next year will only help this school. This is a school for the 'good kid' and the curious kid -- small, intimate, and intense. Check out the year abroad program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2007

Having tried the Danbury public school system and moving my daugther to Wooster I have seen her grow, blossom, learn and love school. I can't say enough great things about this school and wish all kids in America could have this educational opportunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2006

I agree with all the positive comments posted here. We hail from a highly touted Westchester suburban public school district, where we pay exorbitant taxes, but found that the curriculum at our local public school was somnolent, lacked creativity and academic challenges for students on the upper end of the academic bell curve. After spending 4 years at our local public school, we transferred to Wooster and have witnessed remarkable changes in our children. The curriculum at every level is cutting edge, creative, challenging. The student body is diverse. Though it took us a while to get around the idea of paying so much for private school tuition, we feel every penny is well spent, and now forgo vacations and such. Wooster does have an Episcopalean background, but it is very respectful of non-Christian religions. If you are looking for excellence in education and not a test mill, come to Wooster.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

On the plus side, there is lots of individual attention, a fairly personalized curriculum and good control of the social ennvironment. On the minus, there is a significant gender imbalance (far more girls than boys) and an increasingly Christian orientation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2005

Wooster School is remarkable for its sense of community. Here the students are held accountable for their citizenship, and in addition to the Self-Help jobs program (which is student led and run) they are taught consideration and respect of others. The academic program is challenging, and the faculty are truly committed to helping the students achieve their goals. The art program is strong, and the athletic teams are competitive in their league. Wooster teams have earned many sportsmanship awards over the years. We feel that our daughter is being prepared for life, not just college, at Wooster and highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2005

This is a wonderful school that really offers a strong sense of community. Students learn to trust adults because of caring teachers. The language program is very rich, offering foreign language from K - 12 and an optional year abroad. Small class size allows for discussion. For parents who want to get involved, there are many opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2005

We sent our children here to foster their curiousity and because, as quiet children, they would have been lost in our public school - this despite the financial sacrifice we have ti make. Our eldest has become a terrific college student and the younger has wonderful study skills. There is more diversity here than at our public school too. Everyone must participate - be it in athletics, cleaning the campus after school, the arts... I would like to see AP offered to anyone who wants to challenge himself. I highly recommend this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 61%
Hispanic 8% 20%
Black 5% 13%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 99% (2012)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:45 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAEYC
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (203) 790-7147

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Foreign languages
  • Global
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Special education
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Students at Wooster School are taught in a liberal arts tradition with the goal for students to acquire knowledge and understanding in both science and the arts. Wooster's mission is "to educate the minds of its students, to cultivate their ethical understanding, to develop their artistic appreciation and expression, to promote their physical well-being thus to prepare each individual for college and for a useful life". Self-help is a valued tradition in which students care for the campus.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 99%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

91 Miry Brook Rd
Danbury, CT 06810
Website: Click here
Phone: (203) 830-3900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Maimonides Academy
Danbury, CT





Park Avenue School
Danbury, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT