Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Wooster School 5

Posted November 29, 2013
- a community member
Wooster's an awesome place. I graduated in 2011, but my younger siblings still go there. The social environment is very relaxed and judgment-free (people at Wooster love weird people). Academically, students are able to pursue whatever their primary interest may be or take a range of varied, interesting classes. The teachers are warm, friendly people who deeply care about the students on a personal level as well as on an academic level. In my experience, the teacher's don't LET you have a hard time. They make sure that you get all of the individual attention you need to grasp the sometimes-quite-advanced material. I went into college VERY prepared academically and socially. Overall, Wooster's a very caring, warm community with great teachers and a lot of individual attention. I'd recommend it to anyone. One last thing: The comments below about the increasing presence of Christianity on campus is the opposite of the truth, although they were posted in 2006. The campus is filled with people with very liberal tendencies and most students DO NOT participate in any sort of religious activity. The on-campus Reverend is VERY progressive and accepting in his views. No indoctrination.

Wooster School 5

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
We moved our kids here from one of the supposedly 'excellent' public schools near by three years ago and couldn't be happier. Their development, both academically and emotionally, has been wonderful to watch. We didn't originally think of sending our children to a private school, but the results in them have made the sacrifices worth it.


Wooster School 5

Posted June 27, 2013
- a parent
Perfect selection for our two children, we wanted a school with good values and a nice group of kids, this was the perfect choice for us.

Wooster School 5

Posted November 15, 2011
- a parent
Wooster has been everything we hoped and expected it to be. Small class sizes, wonderful student teacher relationships and no place to hide. Our child join the school mid year in 8th grade and has gone from strength to strength. She loves the school and has transformed from an average to outstanding student.

Wooster School 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Wooster truly promotes 'community' at their school. They instill a love for learning and teach the kids to care for each other.


Wooster School 5

Posted January 27, 2010
- a parent
Our child has been a student here for 3 years. Although our town is noted for its excellent public schools, our child did not receive much attention there - she is neither a super gifted student or athlete or a child in need of help. She has blossomed at Wooster - academically and has been encouraged to particpate in musical and athletic endeavors. She has gained so much confidence. A wonderful nurturing school with great academics and other offerings. To be sure, it is a financial sacrifice but - we feel - well worth it.

Wooster School 0
no rating

Posted August 19, 2008
- a parent
Before you accept all that is said about this school dig a little deeper. We were not happy with our experience at Wooster.

Wooster School 5

Posted August 11, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Wooster School 4

Posted August 13, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Wooster School 4

Posted February 11, 2007
- a parent
My son is in his third year at Wooster School. The teachers' enthusiasm and excellence is unmatched in the public schools. New administration -- division heads this year and headmaster next year will only help this school. This is a school for the 'good kid' and the curious kid -- small, intimate, and intense. Check out the year abroad program!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wooster School
91 Miry Brook Rd, Danbury, CT  06810
(203) 830-3900
Last modified Wooster School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Wooster School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews.