Advertisement
Advertisement

Colonial Hills Christian Academy

Private | PK-11 | 70 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Danbury

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $263,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 27, 2012

I can't say enough good things about the education my children have received here. CHCA's focus is to train students in academics as well as spiritual disciplines. The children develop a Biblical worldview. CHCA has been blessing and an extension of my home and the training I have sought for my children. Thanks CHCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2011

I LOVE THIS SCHOOLL...IS THE BEST AS CAN BE..LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT TEACHERS ARE THE BEST , PASTOR WONDERFUL MAN..THEY REALLY LOVE GOD..VERY SAFE ENVIROMENT. GREAT EDUCATION. THEY TREAT YOUR KID WITH RESPECT, DEDICATION, LIKE UNIQUE..THANK YOU CHCA GOD BLESS YOU ALL!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2011

I don't find this school to be very effective in it's education. It is not as good as the staff says it is.


Posted March 21, 2011

After homeschooling for many years, we decided that it was time to enroll our 3 children in a traditional, Christian School . The transition was virtually seamless. The classes are challenging yet, because of the teachers taking a real interest in every student, children get up to speed quickly. Those children that are advanced get additional material to keep them challenged as well. This school was truly an answer to prayer. Most impressive is the Godly focus of the school. God comes first and then academics. Additionally, the Principal/Pastor is very approachable. I had a couple of concerns come up early in the year and he was very receptive and thankful for the feedback without displaying any defensiveness. My wife and I could not be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

It is an immense priviledge to attend CHCA.Students have a morning Bible class every day, learn every subject from a Biblical point of view, and listen to Godly teachers...what more could any true Christian ask for?


Posted May 24, 2010

I'm so grateful for this wonderful school, with dedicated teachers, who teach based on Bible truth. The principal and staff set high expectations and challenge the kids to achieve. Small classes mean very individualized attention for each child, and it shows in scholarship and citizenship.


Posted May 7, 2010

i can not say enough good things about this school.my children are thriving there and the teachers are great...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

Favoritism is extremely noticable....the 'good Christians' are treated far better, and are excused from punishment much more than the 'bad Christians'....they brag about their advanced education, but the majority of the students struggle with the difficult work meant for students a few years older. I would not reccomend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2010

Terrible school. Very small. Poor reacher and leadership quality


Posted April 20, 2008

I am an ex- student of this school, but i wish i wasn't. I went there for about 4 years and loved every minute of it. I made so many friends that i know i will have for the rest of my life. And the teachers there are amazing. You can tell that they realy care for you and realy get involved in the students education. The best part of this school is the Bibical teaching that they give there. Definately a Christ-centered school.


Posted March 15, 2007

Undoubtly the finest private school in New Fairfield. Every child recieves the finest of education, delivered by the finest Christians, supported by the best parents in town! Amazing results produced in the lives of our precious children. We are all on the same page and we all unite to educate! We love our school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2006

The school has changed and grown quickly over the last two years. The school was once great. However, many of us are leaving after we finish the 2005-2006 year. If you are not a part of the right clique, then your child means nothing to them. Proceed with extreme caution & note the huge drop in re-enrollment. They must draw new students to survive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2004

This school is the absolute best choice for my children for several reasons. The education quality is excellent, students are challenged to the extent of their abilities. The teachers model a life of love for Jesus Christ. The teachers love the children and use discipline and affirmation in order to help the children grow in character. I know that my children are 100% safe from the evil teachings that are often heard in public schools and are also safe from physical harm.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 62%
Hispanic 10% 18%
Black 3% 15%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

40 Stadley Rough Rd
Danbury, CT 06811
Phone: (203) 794-9399

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Great Plain School
Danbury, CT



Pembroke School
Danbury, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT