Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Broadview Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 6, 2013

Im a student here and I LOVE THIS SCHOOL. The teachers are so fun and good spirited! This school also has such a variety of different people too, as in different races of people. The mixture of people introduced me to different foods and different traditions in other families.


Posted May 22, 2012

My son is finishing up his sixth grade year and I am extremely pleased with his progress. His teachers stayed on top of his academics and made me feel confident in their abilities as educators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

Excellent school, my child is second year honor student. As the Great Schools slogan states Involved Parents = Successful Kids Very pleased with leadership, teachers and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Broadview has a range of programs that benefit the children, and teachers and administrators who are open-minded and flexible to my childrens' needs. These programs (G&T, Tech Ed, Consumer Ed) are in danger of being eliminated due to budget cuts and I am hoping we can help by attending budget meetings and speaking up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

i loved broadview. I moved in the middle of 7th grade 4 years ago to Danbury. This school was the best middle school i've ever attended. The High school is awesome, and i love the Danbury staff and students. It was very easy to make alot of friends. In other rich schools it was hard to find frineds, through rich snobby kids.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2009

I have been attending Broadview Middle School for about a week now. Even though it has only been a week I think that it is a great school and has very nice teachers. I love everything in the school and I am very happy with all of the academics and activities. I would recommend this school! GO BROADVIEW BEARS!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2008

Woah broadview is the best school in connecticut (: the teachers are amazing;the principal is hilarious;and the kids rock ! im currently in 7th grade there and today was the first day of school xd it was amazing!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2007

I have a child who is asperger so far I am very pleased with the way the teachers in the 6-3 cluster are so supportive they truly understand how to deal with any type of situation that may arise. I believe with the support that I am given by these wonderful teachers thaat my son will have a very successful year. Thanks again to all of you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

I've been a long time resident of Danbury and attended Broadview myself. My child will be finishing up 8th grade and overall the experience was not too good. I've chaperone a few dances and the kids are just wild. The staff seem to be there, just to be there. They are not responsive, don't return calls, don't follow up,and sadly many of the newer teachers don't seem to know how to handle the disruptive kids. The principal is nice, but completely not in touch with what's going on in his school. Luckily my child did not have any major 'incidents' in the 3 years there and because I was persistent (a pain in their butt). I am glad my child is moving on out of the school. Hopefully Danbury High will be a better experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2006

My daughter just completed 6th grade in this school. I thought the teachers were excellent. All stayed on top of my daughter's homework, and I was immediately notified of any concerns which may have arisen during the year. I am happy with this school so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2006

I used to go to this school two years ago when i moved to the school from England. It was only ever going to be for a year but it was time to go i was upset to leave a great school. The best i have ever attended.The art program is brilliant and the teachers are very caring and helpful towards the students. The discipline is strict but casual, the kids understand they have to stay under control and they do so. The head teacher is a wonderful character with an obvious love of the students, helping them in any way possible. The best teachers are Ms Prybylski, Mr Mcollough, Mr Yantorno and ms kelsey! Broadview is the school to choose, the best in the area!Thankyou to everyone there! Alex Long
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 18, 2005

I attended this school I and I think it is wonderful. If you don't think so you need to wake up. People act as if there aren't any good kids at this school. They have a dance squad and an excelent concert choir.We also have a group of kids going to Florida without there parents to learn about animals and technology.This is the best school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2004

I think it is a good school, with good teachers that really care about the kids! I think the teachers like to keep up with the parents to let them know whats going on, and they have really good after school programs!I think it is a great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2004

Attending this school prompted our move out of the area. The principal is a nice man but is not on top of the problems in the school. The students are disrespectful and rules are not obeyed. The students have to sit in assigned seating at lunch because the teachers have trouble keeping them under control and there were numerous fights and incidents of acting out. The dances are out of control with dirty dancing being allowed. Many kids act out in class and make it hard for the others to learn. Phone calls to teachers and administration are not returned. I feel the teachers are in denial and all walk around saying what a great school it is. Saying it doesn't make it so though. The parents need to wake up. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

311 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

366 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

329 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

353 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 86% in 2013.

354 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female88%
Male78%
Black83%
Asian American91%
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities56%
Students without disabilities86%
English language learners48%
Proficient in English89%

Reading

All Students77%
Female79%
Male75%
Black85%
Asian American80%
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
English language learners16%
Proficient in English86%

Writing

All Students73%
Female81%
Male66%
Black70%
Asian American82%
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learners24%
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female82%
Male85%
Black62%
Asian American89%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities78%
Students without disabilities84%
English language learners43%
Proficient in English86%

Reading

All Students92%
Female93%
Male92%
Black88%
Asian American100%
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
English language learners75%
Proficient in English93%

Writing

All Students83%
Female93%
Male75%
Black82%
Asian American86%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities89%
English language learners56%
Proficient in English85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female80%
Male85%
Black79%
Asian American96%
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities68%
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%

Reading

All Students86%
Female86%
Male86%
Black79%
Asian American83%
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%

Science

All Students70%
Female70%
Male69%
Black58%
Asian American78%
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities75%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English74%

Writing

All Students88%
Female92%
Male86%
Black84%
Asian American100%
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities47%
Students without disabilities95%
English language learners55%
Proficient in English91%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 49% 61%
Hispanic 32% 20%
Black 11% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

72 Hospital Ave
Danbury, CT 06810
Phone: (203) 797-4861

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Peter School
Danbury, CT






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT