Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Darien, CT
Students enrolled: 419

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Holmes Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
Holmes School is an all around great school community, students and families, teachers and administrators; everyone works together for the common good.

Holmes Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2014
- a parent
My two daughters have attended Holmes. My wife and I are products of NYC schools - Browning and Performing Arts - and have educators on both sides of the family. While we have had some beefs with individual teachers and/or administrative decisions, we were ultimately able to work things out. Every few years we 'check' on other area schools to make sure we made the right decisions. We still think Holmes beats Fairfield County public AND private school options hands down. New Cannan is probably on par. Despite scores, we think Darien is superior to Wilton, Westport, Ridgefield and Weston. A truly exceptional school system and value for the property-tax mil rate.


Holmes Elementary School 4

Posted August 12, 2013
- a community member
I just finished up here and I liked it. I thought that the new principal was ok, I think she was different and that I would have needed some getting used to because they were very different. I like the connections between the kids and the teachers. I felt there were no "bad" teachers, some were stricter then others but they were all very nice. I thought that all the kids were nice and we all knew each other. I would recommend this school to others!

Holmes Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2013
- a parent
I have one child in third grade and have been thrilled with the quality of teachers and the level of commitment to the students by both the instructors as well as the administrators. Every phone call, email or other inquiry I have made is promptly responded to. The new principal has brought a fresh perspective and approach and she is well regarded by both the students and the parents.

Holmes Elementary School 2

Posted May 03, 2012
- a parent
the kids are nice but the teachers seem bullied by parents who want timmy to go to harvard and demand homework in kindergarten. moved my kid out of this school after 3 years. community is more interested in low taxes than great education. private donations fund school technology and playgrounds. they teach to the top 10% and if your kid "doesn't get it" then too bad. no before or after school activities and no extra help for kids who need it. and yes - we actually moved here for the schools - go figure. wealthy and white do not equal great education.


Holmes Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Holmes Elementary School 2

Posted March 30, 2010
- a parent
I've been sadly disappointed at Holmes. I have a 2nd grader here. The principal is uninterested in education & improvements. The status quo suits her fine. Don't ask for anything - no is her favorite word. Some teachers are good, but if you are unlucky - well, you'll know.... And forget about services for your child if they're LD. Those are for 'emergency' cases only (down syndrome, autism, etc). If your child has dyslexia, you are out of luck. They told me my older child was low IQ & not terribly bright, etc, when in fact he has language based learning disabilities. We are self paying for an out of district private school. Uggghhh...... You would expect better in town like Darien.

Holmes Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2009
- a parent
All my children have attended Holmes School and one of them is in special needs. The special education teachers and programs are terrific. The teachers listen to your concerns provide great suggestions to aid your child at home. The parent involvement is huge and the funding raising is unbelievable. The principal has been nothing short of terrific. The community comes together whenever their is a child or family in need.


Holmes Elementary School 1

Posted September 26, 2008
- a parent
over size class rooms and bad testing

Holmes Elementary School 5

Posted December 15, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holmes Elementary School
18 Hoyt St, Darien, CT  06820
(203) 353-4371
Last modified Holmes Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Holmes Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top